We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible 1st night , good next 6 nights but first day ruined most of are honeymoon due to horribly mean reservations manager la” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chabil Mar to your Saves list
Chabil Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE NIGHTS - CLICK HERE
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Qc iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horrible 1st night , good next 6 nights but first day ruined most of are honeymoon due to horribly mean reservations manager la”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The problem started before we ever arrived , the reservations manager messed up our flights then tried to double charge us a wk before we left for belize and we booked are trip and paid for everything 6/8 months ahead but the issue was eventually fixed . Then our first day there are excursions were messed up also by the same lady and she tried to double charge us once again luckily we brought all of the paperwork and emails printed out with us which proved her mistake once again and she got so angry and upset she started yelling at us saying she doesn't make mistakes no matter what the paperwork says in the front lobby in front of other visitors and I stayed calm the whole time and it seem to get her more more upset that I was being calm killing her with kindness And proving her wrong . She was yelling at my newlywed wife of three days so bad that she made her so upset that she started to cry and I had to walk her out cause she wanted to hit her . What a great first exsperance and first day to a honeymoon !! Man I hate that lady !!! Ok so if your still reading this besides that horrible horrible lady every 1 there was pretty amazing especially Jason that guy fixed everything the second he got involved and as far as I'm concerned he should be running that place what a great guy !! For costing us around 7,000 US it was way overpriced and would have rather stayed at thatch caye for longer and it was 1/3 the price . Beautifull place but first day ruined everything !!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    49
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
137
293
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The resort was beautiful and the staff only added to the experience. The front desk was friendly on check in and was available for any questions or concerns. The food was delicious and each meal we had was perfect. The banana pancakes available for breakfast were amazing and we ordered them every morning. The concierge was helpful and made excellent recommendations for the daily tours. Nothing negative to say!

Room Tip: Choose the sea front view and the second floor..perfect ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Extremely helpful and good service. Wonderful location and very relaxing and the staff couldn't have been more helpful at every turn. They were great about suggesting plenty of things to do and everything was well organized and confirmed the night before. There were a couple of times that our diving had to be changed due to weather and the staff at Chabil Mar would call us that morning and let us know and reschedule for us. The villa was very clean and nicely decorated and comfortable. I would happily go again!

Room Tip: Our villa was on the first floor facing the ocean and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This place is like paradise on earth! Really!! private surroundings due to separate villa's en balconies. beautifull beach with deck for private dinner of all Kind of celebrations. Two nice refreshing pools and a lot of chairs to chill and relax! Your breakfast as wel as dinner will be served on your own terras; the Moment you want it. Great! But dont Forget the nice outdoor bar with all Kind of Drinks you might like. Diving Center 3 min. away with pick up AND the second largest barrier reef in the world.Placentia is just 5 min. away. You can walk over the narrowest main street in the world, go by golfcar, by taxi and even with the regular shuttle from the Hotel.
You have to expirience this to belive it can be true!

Room Tip: Private, lovely People, perfect diving en lobster dinner in Placentia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were scheduled to stay at CM in March for our honeymoon, but my husband was injured and we had to postpone to May. CM was very accommodating to us and let us reschedule the trip (though I HIGHLY recommend one purchased travel insurance as they will not refund the full payment should you cancel).

When we finally arrived in May, we had been looking forward to our stay for so long, I was afraid my expectations would be too high. Luckily, they were met!

The resort is very close to the Tropic Air airport and we had a driver take us to check in and get our welcome drinks. The room was decked out in flowers and a honeymoon welcome. Everyone was incredibly nice!

Now, I am a design snob and work in high-end design, so I'll say that the room decor was not my style (a little tacky and cluttered, with oversized furniture) but the bed was incredibly comfortable and everything was clean and new looking.

The best thing about this place is there is no formal dining room. You can eat anywhere you want at the resort - the pool, the beach, the lovely pier on the shore, your room or the bar. No extra charges. And everything we ate was quite good. The kitchen accommodated my husband's vegetarianism with enthusiasm and creativity.

The continental breakfast was delicious (ask for fry-jacks instead of toast!), coffee was solidly good, and everyone on staff was incredibly nice but not overbearing.

Free bikes make a short ride to the village quite easy and the resort is across the street from Splash Dive Center so it's easy to arrange a snorkeling or scuba adventure.

The concierge will offer trips though CM, but you may be better off booking on your own. I suspect there's a not-insignificant surcharge on their sponsored trips.

Finally, ask for a room with a hammock. And, some of the rooms - like ours - have the bathroom separated from the bedroom with a tall partition wall. In other words, the top 2' of ceiling space is open between the bathroom and bedroom. So if you use the bathroom in the middle of the night, the bedroom is bathed in ambient light. Lucky for us, no one got food poisoning and had an urgent need for utter bathroom privacy! We understand only some of the rooms have this arrangement.

Highly highly recommend.

While in Placencia, check out Rum Fish and Turtle Inn for dining and take advantage of CM's kitchenette - we bought chips, salsa and cheap beer from the grocery store down the street. Saved us some cash.

Another note about Placencia - anything that is imported is pricey. So wine is particularly expensive. If you're a wine drinker, prepare to forgo that in exchange for beer and cocktails if you're on a budget!

Room Tip: Had a great pressure massage while there. Can't remember her name but it was a petite Thai lady...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at the Chabil Mar for 5 nights and would happily recommend it to anyone. The staff are super friendly and helpful and the accommodation terrific. We has a second floor villa which I would recommend as you can then enjoy the views and the lovely breezes. There is everything you could need in the villa although all food etc can be delivered anywhere in the resort so you can take meals on the beach or wherever you wish. You are also within walking distance to the village or a short drive, where you can find a couple of nice restaurants if you wish to eat out for dinner. We tried both the Rumfish and the Secret Garden and enjoyed both.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

It was our second trip to Placencia in two years, and we chose Chabil Mar first from recalling very good comments from people who stayed there during our first trip, and discovering since that CM had moved to pole position on TA!

We had villa #12, on the top floor, which had a perfect location centrally in the resort, with great sea (dual aspect), garden and lagoon views. Whilst the villa backed onto the road, noise was never an issue.

We found the standards of accommodation well in keeping with the price, with high quality furnishings on the whole, although the lounge sofa and chair were somewhat letting the average down , being very uncomfortable. (Other villas seemed to have somewhat plusher furniture, we guessed as the villas are privately owned, it was a feature of the owner's spend on our particular unit). The bed was ultra comfortable, as a back sufferer, it was as good as mine back home.

The trip to Placencia village takes 10 minutes along the beach to the boardwalk, then another 15 minutes will take you all the way down to the docks, with all shops, bars and restaurants easily accessible on either side. We tripped into town every day, it was so easy. The shuttle from the hotel is brilliant, every hour on the hour from 4 to 10 pm, great for a night out, or a shopping trip at a cooler hour of the day.

We ate most of our evening meals at the resort. The breakfast and lunch menus were extensive, and good value on the whole, as well as very tasty. The evening menu was in comparison much more restricted, and as we stayed 10 days, we started running out of options. It would be good to be able to order from the lunch menu or dinner menu for both lunch and dinner.

We liked going to the Barefoot bar for lunch, great burritos by the way, and Belikin premium, as well as lovely cool breezes from the sea, great service and very good value. At the docks, check out the Shak for amazing smoothies.

The wine at the resort is very pricy and nothing special, we stocked from the shops in town.

What however makes me give CM a five star in spite of some minor negative comments is that the service was outstanding. Attentive and non intrusive, always with a smile and an engaging manner.

We booked a trip to the southern ruins, which was of high quality and organised by the very well organised concierge desk, where we commend the kindness and professionalism of Faura.

Our regular servers, Florencio and Shio, always wore a great smile and were engaging and fun to talk with, whilst Deshaun at the bar kept us highly entertained, whist mixing the best Mojitos I ever had!

The weather was half and half due to the incoming wet season, but rain was no show stopper for most things, however the wind did cancel snorkelling and dive trips for 4 days in a row, something to reckon with at this time of year.

We are delighted to have made the right choice for a great location in Placencia where customer service and attention to details is second nature. We can't wait to be able to be back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
2.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
#13 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#6 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#4 of 12 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#2 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club
Belize Ocean Club
#5 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chabil Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.