We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort and so relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chabil Mar to your Saves list
Chabil Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE NIGHTS - CLICK HERE
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
SALISBURY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely resort and so relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Everything about Chabil Mar was wonderful. I stayed in unit 17 (second floor with a view of the ocean) and the unit was beautiful. The staff are so friendly and sitting out on the dock was a treat! Wi-fi worked really well and breakfast each morning was delicious! I will return back to Chabil Mar and spend more time as this trip was very short. I enjoyed the half day trip on Monkey River and lunch.....saw some interesting critters along the way.

Room Tip: Second floor corner room - stayed in unit 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    49
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
136
293
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I thought this place was great. Placencia for us was a bit boring but the hotel was quite nice. We originally were booked at Turtle Inn but arrived and departed within 30 minutes. Chablis Mar had excellent bang for the buck. We stayed 5 nights in April.

Pros:
- kitchen space
- laundry!
- great a/c
- comfy bed
- sufficient bathroom space
- living room area
- waterfront
- balcony with hammock
- decent food
- room service
- friendly helpful people
- you can rent gold carts on site
- you can book tours on site
- driver to town- he picked us up when we called- amazing

Cons
- more apt feeling vs beachy vacation-y type
- the ocean in belizze is sea grass filled so the ocean is just not as nice

We didnt try the bar and didnt really do much- just relaxed. Eat at Rumfish and Vino. SUper excellent drinks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed for about 7 days in Placencia at ChabilMar with our two teen boys. It was a wonderful holiday with topnotch service. The condo was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The dinner service (to the room) and the one at the pier was elegant. Food at ChabilMar is probably the best in the city. Although, there are some great restaurants in the town. All in all, a great holiday and we will do it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were in Belize for 2 weeks and spend the last half of our vacation at Chabil Mar. I wish we had spent all of our time in Chabil Mar!!!

Excellent and personal service.. You can beat the view, dive shop right opposite, so very very conveniently located. Whenever we needed to get to town, Laacho (van driver) was always there with a smile..

The gelato place in town is a must try!! We enjoyed the lobster fest too when we were there!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport nc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband, myself and our adult daughter spent five days at Chabil Mar in December. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The food and accommodations were excellent. The Monkey River Tour was great fun. On the negative side: the beach is not user friendly; the resort does not have an on-site restaurant. We asked the staff to arrange for an all day (deep sea) fishing trip. The boat was very small and not at all what we expected. We did not catch any fish. The staff also arranged a horseback riding trip for us. We drove for over an hour and then rode around in an orchard - would certainly not recommend (not very scenic and quite boring)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize, Belize
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Full disclosure: We are Americans living part-time on Ambergris Caye, Belize and greatly enjoy staying at 4-5 star resorts and hotels throughout the US, Mexico and Belize. Therefore, we know Belize and know what to expect at a 4-5 star resort. We also work in the hospitality industry - owning a luxury vacation rental on Ambergris Caye.

The resort was pretty and well kept. The staff was sweet and accommodating. The food was okay. I did love the Chocolate soufflé and fresh fruit in the morning was great. The rooms were clean and perfectly appointed - a safe, iron, extra blankets, a dresser for clothes. Décor was very typical of Belize. A bit dated but clean and straight. The AC was strong and the kitchen was fully equipped (and updated).The bed linens were GREAT and so were the pillows but the mattress was springy. There were special touches that we appreciated - a note upon arrival, flowers, and chocolate.

If you are used to a 4-5 star resort in the US - this resort is more like a 3-star. Unfortunately it is priced as a 4-5 star! For 100-150USD it would have been AWESOME but for 300+ nightly it was a bit pricey.

Placencia village was teeny and not much going on. We were happy with the resort however we expected the water to be blue like Ambergris and the village to be a bit more happening. A lot of restaurants were closed (late August). At the very least we were looking to relax and stare at the sea. The BEACH is really nice - sandy. However, the water isn't crystal blue ;(

We did the Monkey River tour and it was, if anything, a nice boatride and interesting. Its through a pretty murky river and the jungle 'hike,' is short and we got to see howler monkeys. Make sure you wear old sneakers they might get dirty.

I DID get a manicure and pedicure by Bernadette and it was GREAT!!

If you are thinking of visiting Placencia - I would go with a group for 1-2 nights MAX and stay at this hotel with another couple or 2 therefore you share the cost. We paid 300+ for a unit that had 2bedrooms and 2baths and could sleep more in a loft! Like anything, you make the most of it, hang out with friends, peruse the village, get your drink on.

Hit Cayo (Western Belize) for a few days trip but Ambergris is a week or more. Water is amazing and a bit more to do and more of a town to explore.

We do thank the staff for their courtesy and kindness. A little weekend getaway and relaxation was what we were looking for and it was satisfactory.

Room Tip: I don't know about the other rooms but ours had an additional bedroom and bath and a loft so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nothing bad to say, sand on beach was not the best but they don't control that. Would come back twice a year if I could afford it. Best choice for a honeymoon, glad we did it rather than the typical destinations.

Staff are wonderful, even arranged flight from airport to hotel for us. Rooms were cleaned daily, always kept grounds clean and bug free for the most part and did it naturally.

Room Tip: They are all great and cleaned perfectly daily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
2.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
#13 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#6 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#4 of 12 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#2 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club
Belize Ocean Club
#5 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chabil Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.