We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chabil Mar to your Saves list
Chabil Mar
Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
CONTACT US 4 BEST OFFER
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Chabil Mar for four nights and it was a wonderful experience. We had a one bedroom ocean front where we enjoyed sitting on the front porch with views of the ocean. We particularly enjoyed the intimate nature of the resort. It has a very quiet feel, which is what we were looking for. Our snorkeling tours were organized by the resort and were conveniently located across the road with Splash Tours. We dined in nearby Placencia twice, at Rumfish and The Secret Garden, both of which we would highly recommend.

The overall best aspect of our stay were the resort employees. I can't say enough about how they went out of their way to accommodate our wishes. Nothing was ever a problem. From Natalie at the front desk to the bartender to the shuttle driver, they were all fabulous. In our view, you can not go wrong with a trip to Chabil Mar.

There were only two negatives, one which could be fixed and one which cannot, but should be noted. The bedroom A/C rattled extremely loudly, which needs to be looked into (unit 7). The other to note is the beach. I had read that all beaches in Belize have natural seaweed, but I did not realize how much of it there would be. You really cannot swim from the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    42
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
118
247
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are seeking a luxury resort in Belize, Chabil Mar should be your first choice. The resort and grounds are breathtaking, the staff are all friendly and willing to assist in making your stay as pleasant as possible, and the services offered are amazing. From their personal concierge service, booking our excursions to Belize's beautiful Mayan ruins, caving and snorkeling to serving gourmet meals from the resort kitchen right in our villa, Chabil Mar's staff aimed to satisfy our every desire.
The resort's two pools and private pier make for an exclusive, peaceful surrounding to relax with a book on the beach or go for a morning stroll along the calm water. And the villa's are spectacular as well. With a full gourmet kitchen with all of the appliances, washer / dryer, and large screen TV with cable, we were able to feel right at home. Placencia Village with its markets is just minutes away on foot or by bicycle (which the resort offers for it's guests at no charge), we were able to purchase all of the ingredients and cooked some amazing meals! The resort also offers hourly shuttle service to 3 locations within the village for your convenience.
Our stay at Chabil Mar was amazing. We are definitely looking forward to visiting again and highly recommend Chabil Mar to anyone looking for an exclusive resort experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I have a firm rule to never repeat a vacation but we have broken that twice and have visited Chabil Mar three times and plan to go again. It is truly that good. We like unit 10 which is conveniently facing the water and has everything we need and more. We love to walk to town along the beach for shopping or dinner and a leisurely walk back or we take a golf cart and explore further. The people are friendly, the local restaurants are varied and very good and the catered meals on property are the best. We feel so spoiled to take catered meals in the cabana and watch the sun go down or come up. What bliss! Grab your Kindle and sun glasses and head to paradise!

Room Tip: We chose unit 10 because it was ground level directly on the beach in front of the water. Views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The service was great, very pretty resort, rooms wonderful, quiet and peaceful with a great view.
It was a great week. However, be aware of a few things: the surrounding area is a bit scruffy, so you will stay more within the hotel area. All the staff was wonderful and very accommodating. The pools are perfect. The food is reasonably priced and served nicely. The one downside is that the bugs bite here-- I am still scratching and I got home 3 days ago. The whole week in Belize, even in the hotel or out, I never had a cocktail that was exceptional. I just stopped ordering them, and drank juice instead. The beach is ok, but the weeds in the water are not ideal. The beach on either side of the hotel was not the cleanest, but here in Belize they do not seem to keep the beaches very neat. I recommend the snorkeling at Laughing Bird..it was very nice. Monkey River --- boat ride was enjoyable but there was nothing much to see that was amazing. The lunch was so-so there.

I don't believe I will return to Belize. It was lengthy to fly there from Chicago and quite expensive. British Virgin Islands is still my # 1 for Caribbean escapes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The entire resort ... the gardens, the 2 pools, the private beach, the delicious and beautifully prepared food, the spacious unit with full kitchen and large outdoor patio, meals delivered to where-ever you want(in room, patio, poolside tables, outdoor dining areas,on the covered wharf), and the ambience, and especially the friendly and accomodating staff that will help arrange anything you want/need promptly and without hesitation...made this the most relaxing vacation we've had in many years. If we venture back to Belize , this is the only place we'll consider.

Room Tip: The upstairs units have better views if you like to just veg on your covered patio/porches overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from split week package combining this hotel with Chaa Creek. First let me say that Althea was a delight to work with. All the staff could not be more helpful. We came home in the blizzard and they helped us with the airlines. Room are large beautiful and spotless with great A/C. The kitchen makes this place unique. While there is no restaurant they dish up great meals any where you want to eat on the property. The beach and 2 pools are stunning. The only negative to this property is that you cannot walk into the tourquoise sea beachside of extensive sea grass.Access is through a ladder from a pier. There are manny jelly fish and both my son and I were bit. We loved Belize and its friendly people. 2 tips take the massages she was a great masseuse. Monkey River trip is over rated and boring

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stilwell, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Too notch. All service personal bend over backwards for the guest. If you want an unforgettable pampered experience, then this is your only choice. Not cheap but so much value.Bikes are free to use, golf carts are for the owners, but rentals are offered.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chabil Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.