We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chabil Mar

Save Saved
You added Chabil Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chabil Mar
Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE NIGHT - CLICK HERE
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Placencia
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I did a lot of research and decided on Chabil Mar instead of Turtle Inn for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed. We stayed from January 15-22nd. The reservation process was excellent. I probably had 10-15 emails with Althea while she worked to answer all my questions and get our honeymoon package perfectly customized to what we wanted. The resort, which comprises villas that are privately owned, is absolutely gorgeous. The grounds are maintained to perfection and there are beautiful flowers, palms and topiaries everywhere. The pictures just don't do it justice! My wife was giddy with excitement as we arrived and walked the grounds and she is not easily impressed! Our villa, #11, was upstairs on an end next to the bar. It was beautifully decorated and had vaulted ceilings with granite countertops everywhere, hardwood floors and all the amenities you could want. It had a full size stacking washer and dryer, dish washer, stove and fridge so you could easily cook all your meals should you like. It also had an amazing wrap around deck with table and chairs where we ate most our meals and chez lounges outside the bedroom. It also had A/C which we needed the first couple days it was so hot. It was all very high end and oozed luxury.

The staff are really what makes this resort. From the moment you arrive you feel like they are catering to your every need. Shane brings you on a tour of the grounds and explains all of the amenities of the resort while you sip a freshly made limeade and you wrap up at your villa where your bags are waiting. Merli and Shane are the concierges and they make sure everything for your tours and excursions are handled to perfection. Deshaun and Jose are fantastic bartenders and you are never without a drink! They run a happy hour everyday from 4-6 as well where they have a daily signature drink that never disappoints! The rest of the staff make sure your meals are where you want them whenever you want them and will literally cater to whatever your need is.

I was a bit nervous with there dining situation (there isn't a restaurant - they cook everything in a restaurants kitchen and you can eat your meals anywhere on the grounds). This turned out to be spectacular! The food was really good and they had a good selection of american and belizean food. We really enjoyed breakfast on our balcony every morning and loved our dinner on the pier our last night. But if you don't want to stay on the resort for meals you can find amazing restaurants in the village. We wished we hadn't gotten as many of our meals in the package only because we wanted to try so many different restaurants.

The restaurants we ate at were Secret Garden, Pickled Parrot, Rumfish, Wendy's, Purple Space Monkey and Omar's. We heard from others that Cozy Corner, De-tach, J-Dees and Dolce Vita were really good as well. I'll be writing separate reviews for each restaurant so look for them if you want to know more.

The tours we took were the southern ruins, monkey river and snorkeling. The southern ruins were great and very informative. If you are looking for a lot of history this tour is great. If you are looking for massively impressive ruins, the tour that goes near Guatemala is probably better suited to you. The southern ruins you drive about 1.5 hours to the first and you have to walk up a fairly steep hill to the site entrance and then you hike around the various ruins while your guide gives you very detailed historical facts. Then you grab lunch at Colemans (a really cool local spot in the middle of no where) and then you drive 10 minutes up the road to the next site and get more historical facts while walking the site and then you drive back 1.5 hours. We were back by 3pm where as the other tour was 3.5 each way in the car!

The monkey river tour with Alex was great! You see awesome wildlife - every bird imaginable, crocs, iguanas, turtles and howler monkeys. Just make sure you have bug spray and wear long sleeves/pants if you can tolerate the heat. The mosquitos will be on you by the hundreds as soon as the boat stops on the edge of the jungle. But man are the howler monkeys awesome. You stop for lunch on the way back and then go look for manatees and dolphins. Again, we were back by 3pm.

Snorkeling on laughing bird caye was awesome. We saw so much I can't even begin to describe. We went on a cloudy day be cause we didn't have the greatest weather but there was no problem seeing everything. I highly recommend this tour!

We also rented golf carts. This was a really great way to see the village. We went down a road by the soccer fields that took us out past Yolie's and Paradise Resort out to Sunset Point. We also took them north to the other really cool village Seine Bight and drove around. Also, it is really easy to walk. There is a sidewalk a few hundred yards down the beach that is in the guinness book of world records as the smallest main street. You can also walk down the road about a mile and it is really easy.

I don't know how else to convey how beautiful and amazing this place is. They will take complete care of you and having looked at other resorts while we were in Belize I can tell you this is the place to stay. The staff is the best in the village and the grounds are like no other. There was a wedding while we were there as well and it was beautiful.

Room Tip: I honestly don't think there is a bad villa in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    39
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
104
227
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
359 helpful votes 359 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. Reservation process with Althea was excellent and she worked with me to find space after the holiday season and her recommendation was perfect. We stayed in unit 11 which was not oceanfront and right next to the bar. It was basically the only unit left. This is a very popular place so book early. Things were quiet at the bar so it was fine. I would, however recommend an oceanfront to get the maximum breeze and tropical feel right on the water. Grounds etc. are beautiful and well maintained and the pools very nice. This is a very family friendly place and books many weddings. You can ask what is planned during your stay. Condo was very comfortable and even thought this was not the hottest time of year a/c is nice at night. Town is close and they will give you a ride on a schedule or if you are lucky Althea will be leaving and she will give you a lift. She is such a nice lady and can answer any questions you have in advance or once you are there. This is a very well run place and my impression is they want your stay to be the best possible. You can trust them to arrange any excursions. We only had one lunch there but heard many comment that the food was good and as mentioned so often you can have it anywhere. The beach is okay but lots of seaweed which they clean daily. At least when we were there did not look very swimable. Just being curious we visited Turtle Inn one evening and while it is so exotic and beautiful many of the units have no views and no air except ceiling fans. That could be rough for many people. We were happy we chose Chabil Mar and thank previous reviewers for all the good information.

Room Tip: go for the oceanfront if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

WONDERFUL, relaxing, fantastic food, beautiful views, beautiful beaches, great pools, everything you need for a worry free vacation. Very clean and well kept. Beautiful landscaped grounds. Perfect location for quiet, private vacation, but just close enough for easy access to stores in town and airport for transfers. Staff is so friendly and helpful, ALWAYS smiling :) and always ready to help you plan an excursion, or just explore the tiny village of Placencia or Seine Bight. Since this was our first time bringing our daughter out of the US, there was some apprehension about safety. Felt very safe here. This was the third trip to Belize made by my husband and I, (Ambergris Caye, San Ignacio regions before) but the first time to Placencia....We WILL be back! :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor (#8) Great views, quiet, clean, washer/dryer, micro, etc. Side faces th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

As a family of 13 from ages 7 to 75, we were looking for a place to satisfy all of us. Chabil Mar and Placencia did just that and more. In the words of one 9 year grandchild, "I think I now know what paradise is." The entire staff was outstanding, helpful, kind and well informed, from Althea, Tiffany and Natalie in the front to DeShaun and Antonio and others in the bar and restaurant. Of particular note is Shane who put up with the multiple changes in our tours! We stayed in 4 beautiful villas so that everyone felt that they had space. The children could move freely through the resort and they even made some new friends. The family took advantage of many different excursions, all of which were great fun, from snorkeling, scuba diving (for 3 of us), fishing, the monkey river tour, zip-lining, caving, tubing and just hanging out. We biked into town and were able to fill our refrigerators with snacks, breakfast foods, etc., but you can also just order up at any time and have it delivered to your villa or anywhere on the property. We had wonderful meals on the property and at the variety of restaurants in Placencia. Our family does travel a great deal, and we can honestly say that this was one of the most special trips we have taken.I would highly recommend Chabil Mar and thank them for a memorable family vacation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Knowing nothing about Belize, our family was not sure about many things, what area, what resort, what to do, etc. Well, all of that was taken care of at Chabil Mar. Looking at reviews on tripadvisor, we made our decision and booked at Chabil Mar. Wow, from the minute we landed in Placencia, everything was taken care of. Picked up at the airport, driving into the property we were greated by two staff members holding drinks. Walked to our villa, touring the property and told about all that was available to us. Our luggage was already in our room and Tiffany explained everything about our package, many meals included, excursions of our choice, golf cart for going into town, etc. Everything was perfect, from the villa itself, beautifully decorated, full kitchen, laundry, everything, to the property, bikes, kayaks, the best bar in town, with DeShaun, who makes amazing cocktails, oh and the food was all delicious.
Our only complaint was the weather, unfortunately we had quite a bit of rain, but I guess we can't blame anyone for that!! We have never had service like this anywhere, from the servers, who will bring you anything at just about anytime, anywhere you like on the property, even the grounds people would say hello and have a little chat. The front desk people, the driver, the tour guides were wonderful too! We really cannot say enough about everyone at the Chabil Mar, very very highly recommended!

Room Tip: With two grown children (one boy and one girl), we were wondering how fit into a two bedroom, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Chabil Mar for 5 nights in January. The hotel is lovely and we likes almost everything about it. The grounds are very lush and filled with beautiful tropical plants. The rooms are nice (equipped with American style kitchens) and very comfortable, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the beach is very clean and has lots of comfortable seating, the bar has an amazing cocktail menu, and although the hotel was totally booked during our stay - we frequently felt like we were at our own private retreat. The only thing that is keeping me from giving this property a 5, is the food. With the exception of breakfast, every meal we had was overcooked. This is not that big of a deal as there are many good restaurant options in downtown area of Placencia which is a short trip down the road.

I would highly recommend this property to anyone planning a visit to Placencia, Belize.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are more expensive but you literally step off of your porch on to the beach. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Belize is a wonderful choice for a vacation, Chabil Mar in Placencia an excellent destination. Placencia is a laid back village, safe and hospitable. Chabil Mar Resort staff will make every effort to accommodate whatever you request, from meals and drinks served wherever you wish on the property, retrieving kayaks for an afternoon of ocean fun, or golf carts to explore with. The staff never failed to be professional and friendly. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the condos themselves are clean, spacious, and private. The condo we were in had an album in which prior visitors could share their experiences, which proved to be invaluable. There were recommendations for different restaurants, tours, and overall opinions for each. While these represent differing tastes and expectations, they were certainly valuable to newcomers such as ourselves.

My husband and I had visited Belize several years ago, traveling out to Ambergris Caye. The island was a beautiful place, however given the opportunity to go back, I would choose Placenia, specifically Chabil Mar, hands down!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jetsetter and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chabil Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.