We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cozy Corner

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cozy Corner
Save
You added Cozy Corner to your Saves list
Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

The Cozy Corner is a great budget hotel located right on the beach. They have cabanas and lounge chairs right on the beach as well as a beach bar/restaurant. The rooms were clean and simple: full size bed, fridge, a/c, chair and desk, private bath, and a small tv with cable. The location is great and the price is right. Don't expect any fancy concierge service, however the staff is very friendly and helpful.

My room was close to the washer and dryer that the housekeeping staff uses on the 2nd floor, so it was a bit noisy in the morning, but nothing too serious.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    6
    8
    3
See reviews for
6
23
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

The Cozy Corner was clean and simple. We had a room on the third floor with AC and two double beds. The room had cable TV, a refrigerator, a microwave, a coffeemaker, and a sink outside the bathroom, which was nice. The AC didn't work as well as we would have liked, although the overhead fan helped. The shower was large, but the bathroom had no towel racks, which would have been nice to dry towels or bathing suits. Overall, our room was quiet and good for the price. Another person wrote about the noise from the restaurant. We could hear the music when it was playing, but it didn't go late, and you can request a room away from the restaurant. The restaurant is convenient--some places don't have one, and the Cozy has pretty good food and you don't have to go too far to get it. If you don't want to pay to stay at a resort and want to be in the village, the Cozy was pretty good. We could walk to the dive shops or to other restaurants or to the amazing gelato place nearby, the Tutti Fruiti. Bring your own beach towel if you stay at Cozy--they don't provide them (you can rent them from the front desk, however). The Cozy has its own beach, but when we were there, the water in front of the beach was very rough and not necessarily water you would want to swim in.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

Everyone should first remember that this is Belize and if you want to stay somewhere fancy, then pay the money and stay somewhere fancy like the Turtle Inn by Francis Ford Coppola. For the price the Cozy Corner is stellar. The rooms are very simple and basic, but they were clean. And anyway, who is really spending time in their room while on vacay in Belize? You should be out on the beach and exploring. If you are sitting in your room the whole time, best to just rent yourself a room a the Marriott in your home town. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had to move from deluxe room to regular room for our last night (I booked late and had to take what they had - which was just fine) and they moved everything for us. The restaurant bar is great. Location is great. I can't imagine why anyone would complain. In fact, we were with a larg party of about 13 people spread out at 3 different hotels and by far the Cozy Corner was the best as far as room size and service went. I will stay there again and again. Enjoy!

  • Liked — Right on the beach! Easy
  • Disliked — No complaints - happy camper!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa ON
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

Stumbled across the Cozy Corner when my first choice hotel wasn't available. The room was large and airconditioned. The shower had hot water and the room was very clean. We thought the price was great as it cost the same as a room at West Wind but seemed to be quite a bit nicer. The hotel bar and restaurant was also very good. The beach was well cared for and we appreciated the beach chairs which were always available. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and cost
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

Rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff had no regard for our comfort in that they held a very loud party on a Sunday night that kept us awake until 2 AM. Huge speakers for a DJ were located 100 feet from our room, making enough noise to vibrate the whole hotel. If you book a room here, call them directly and ensure that they will not be having a loud party during your stay.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2007

After arriving in Placencia we found the Cozy Corner hotel. We were greeted by wonderful staff. The hotel is very comfortable, clean and has a lovely restaurant & bar on the beach with what we found to be the best Seafood Platter dinner on the peninsula!

Throughout our visit the hotel employees were so kind, helpful and genuinely friendly-I would definately say that it's a wonderful place to stay.

For a lovely relaxing stay with wonderful views this is the place to stay.

  • Liked — Clean, fresh accomodations. Right on the beach, walking distance to other restuarants
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about, this hotel is top notch !!!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego california
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2007

Cozy Corner sits on the best beach in Belize, Placentia. We chose cozy because it is centrally located and rates are fair. Rooms are clean and comfortable and with the exception of a few noisy a/c units we enjoyed the hotel. However the restaurant and bar service was not enjoyable at all. Keep in mind my fiance and I appreciate a cold beer and good music just as much as any other traveller so the bar hours were not an issue. The morning workers were not friendly but they were not rude. A rasta gentleman took our orders and tried his best to make sure we were comfortable he also played some lovely music. The night staff however seemed to think they were doing us a favor serving us a glass of water. The bartender cussed and argued with the waiter more than mixing drinks. My fiance and I did not see the night bar manager smile the entire length of our stay. We felt intimidated to even eat at the bar for dinner as we felt we were a bother. Sadly we would reccommend the hotel but not the bar/restaurant. Oh but we must give credit for the cozy food, top notch!

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — a/c noise
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cozy Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Corner

Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Also Known As:
Cozy Corner Placencia
Cozy Corner Hotel Placencia
Cozy Corner Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cozy Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.