We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally impressed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laru Beya Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Laru Beya Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Placencia Road, Placencia 00501, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$50 off room rate
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alta Loma, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Totally impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

1st time to Belize and not sure where to stay? Us too. Found this gem on booking.com and looked at so many websites not excited until I looked at Laru Beya. The pictures don't do it justice. It is super clean, comfortable and perfect. The staff is wonderful, warm and friendly. Such a great value for the price. Comfy beds, clean linens and spacious. Food is excellent at the Quarterdeck the restaurant on property. Will be back for sure. PARADISE!

Room Tip: Ocean front is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    71
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
90
221
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Laru Beya is a decent hotel, and compared to what you would fine in the US, it is similar to a Red Roof Inn. Run down rooms and furniture without any modern amenities. Yes, it did have Air Conditioning, which was a plus, however the mattress must have been 50 years old, and the rest of the furniture (and TV) were not too much younger. Of course, the location is great and the restaurant is very good. The whole place has a run down feeling - for the price you could do much better in Placencia. It was an OK property - average in almost every way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The quality of the service at this hotel is superb. A South African gentleman and a belizean man went out of their ways to make sure we were happy and well taken care of. We were chartering a boat at sunsail/moorings (which is right across the street). The hotel bent over backwards to be accommodating. When we rented golf carts to provision the boat, the hotel gave us a cooler filled with ice to take shopping (without us asking).

The hotel itself is an unbelievable value. The view is terrific. The pool is very nice. Next door is Roberts grove, which is also beautiful-- but almost 3times the cost for the same view.

The rooms are nice- not spectacular- but very nice. And they were doing work on them while we were there in oct 2013.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view suite and I'd definitely recommend this accomodation type. Our room was right in front of the ocean. We had a huge tiled covered balcony with 2 lounge chairs, 2 wooden chairs, & a hammock. This was one of the nicest suites I have ever stayed in. Everyone at the hotel from the staff at the front desk, to the manager, to the maintenanace staff were terrific. The down side to this hotel is a taxi into town costs $10 US each way. There's not much in walking distance of the hotel. You have to go into town to get some groceries and drinks for your room. The other possible downside to the hotel is the only tours that are available to you are the tours that the hotel is sponsoring. Your room does not have a phone so there's not a way to talk to other tour companies to see what they have available. We did take one of the hotel's tours and the tour operator was located across the street from the hotel so the location was good. Also the tour was very good. While we were there the hotel was remodeling the restaurant and bar and both were closed. The hotel suggested that we could go next door to the Robert's Grove resort and eat at their restaurant. That actually worked quite well. The Robert's Grove restaurant was very good.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money to get an oceanview room and a suite. They are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

August 13-23rd 2013

My husband and I spent our Honeymoon at Laru Beya Resort. We had a phenomenal time and felt very much like family. The staff was exceptional and always met our needs -- they did a fantastic job setting up all our tours (full day snorkeling to Silk Cayes, Xuantinach ruin, private massage on our balcony, and the infamous ATM cave tour) The onsite manager Rene checked up on us (& other guests) regularly and made sure that we all had everything we needed. The restaurant "The Quarterdeck" whips up some great Belizean dishes and we ate there many times, breakfast, lunch, and/or dinner and always enjoyed our meals (and the staff -- Trenelle (cook), Luigi & Pablo (bartenders), and Alicia (waitress). The front desk staff (Tim & Wynand) are also more than happy to make reservations for you at other local restaurants...they also have bikes you can rent for free, along with either single or double kayaks....also free of charge is the miniature golf course (putt-putt golf). The resort has golf carts that you can rent for either 12 or 24 hours (for a fee of $36 US) -- but it will get you to and from Placencia easy -- sometimes its nice to take a golf cart rather than figuring out how to get a taxi. Plus a lot of hotel guests nearby use them. Laru Beya offers rooms that are fully equipped with a a kitchen -- and although some may not like that, I enjoyed cooking breakfast and dinners from time to time....it was a great because we could buy all our food locally in Placencia! Fresh fish, meat, eggs, fruits & vegetables. Sometimes its nice to dine on your deck early in the morning without ever seeing the hotel staff...but hey, that might just be us! Laru Beya has a great pool and deck surrounding it for tanning/drinking -- and just a few steps away is the beach and Caribbean sea! The water is always warm and pretty clear (most of the time)...there is seaweed and sometimes bits of trash floating around, but that all depends on the wind/storms, and it is not the result of the resort. All in all, we would highly recommend our family and friends to stay at Laru Beya, especially if you are looking for a place that is quiet, off the beaten path, and romantic -- however, it too can be kid friendly! Nevertheless, we are very happy with our stay at Laru Beya and in the beautiful country of Belize!

Remember to drink Rum.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms facing East (beautiful sunrises and great lightening storms at night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed a week at the Laru Beya, very low key, private place just outside of the town. You can swim in the ocean right outside your room or the pool. Staff was great, booked tours for us and helped us with their suggestions. Our daughter was stung by a sting ray, Tim at the front desk was fantastic, gave first aid, told us what to do and checked back with us throughout the day to see how she was doing.

Restaurant has good food at reasonable prices, rooms were clean and very current.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The biggest problem with Laru Beya is deciding which is better. The place itself or the people! We were just blown away by the staff and the location/facilities. A private roof-top jacuzzi, for $150 US? Are you kidding me?! The beauty of the condos and the personal attentive staff culminated one incredible experience. VERY hard to leave. There may be one or two SLIGHTLY nicer properties (for at minimum twice the price), but I'm sure you cannot beat the value/beauty and most importantly the staff. Thanks again to Tim and your team...your the best!
Aron & Patty, Maui HI.

Room Tip: Why not the roof-top jacuzzi rooms for 30/US more a night?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Laru Beya Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laru Beya Resort & Villas

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia 00501, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#3 Family Hotel in Placencia
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laru Beya Resort & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laru Beya is an exclusive, midsize resort located on seven acres of lush gardens and beachfront property in southern Belize. We have the amenities of a large resort with the service and attention to detail of an exclusive villa. We offer a wide variety of rooms including ocean and garden view, and two and three bedroom villas that include living and dining rooms and full kitchens. Also available are penthouse rooms and villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Laru Beya Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laru Beya Resort And Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Hotel Placencia
Laru Beya Hotel
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laru Beya Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.