We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laru Beya Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Laru Beya Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Placencia Road, Placencia 00501, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We only stayed here for a weekend, after coming off a Moorings charter across the street.

The place is as recommended and deserves it's high rating.
The restaurant and bar are nice and the pricing reasonable.
The rooms were clean, large, and nicely appointed and decorated.

Our only issue was no working A/C in one of the bedrooms, even after they fixed it.

The resort is about 30' from the water, and has a miniature golf course along with a catamaran and some kayaks.

They arranged our Monkey River tour with Jason, who I highly recommend.
He pointed out everything that NO other guide even knew about; bats manatees, crocodiles, monkeys, birds, birds, nests, termite mounds, jungle fruits, etc.
The tour ends with a traditional Belize dinner which is similar to a Cajun rice gumbo, one of the best meals of the trip.
I strongly recommend him, and I am usually not into these types of trips.

It is a short cab ride into town about 4-5 miles away.

Room Tip: Had the top floor with a private balconey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    76
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
95
234
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsdall, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our vacation was perfect and our stay at Laru Beya was, too! The villa was clean and comfortable and just 10 steps from the water!
The staff went above and beyond for us, setting up a romantic dinner on the beach for my fiance' to propose - surrounded by candles in the shape of a heart on the beach - just the two of us - it was beyond perfect!
We snorkled, kayaked, took a jungle tour and loved every meal we ate at the Quarterdeck!

We will definately return to Laru Beya!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Had a great time. We came to the beach after 5 days in the jungle and Laru Beya was lovely! We stayed in a suite on the first floor with an ocean view. Loved stepping out of the room and about 10 steps to the pool and maybe 30 to the ocean. Warmest ocean water I have ever experienced to include southern west coast of Mexico, Hawaii, Guam, Saipan!

Food was wonderful; we tried several other venues over our 6 day stay but kept coming back to the Quarterdeck!

Rooms were very clean. We never lost power even though several storms blew through. Staff was delightful.

If you have never had a Basil Mojito I strongly suggest requesting one @ the Quarterdeck!

Room Tip: 1st floor ocean view was very convenient to the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, Ca
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I had always wanted to vacation and possibly buy a place in Placencia, Belize. This trip took place Thu 26 April 2012 - Sun 29 April 2012, and was a trial run for both. We absolutely loved this place. It was quiet, which was likely due to our arriving at the end of the high season, had friendly staff and the BEST restaurant. You have to have the tacos! I know they are tacos, but let me tell you, they are not just tacos, trust me.

The room was very nice, had a large bathroom and the maid service was wonderful. The view from our room was partial garden and ocean. This was nice since you could go out on the balcony and see different wildlife like birds, etc. that you don't see in the states.

The pool was clean and always had beach towels for our use. The beach had sea canoes and a catamaran that was free. The staff was very helpful to those, like my husband, that wanted to take one of these for a spin. They brought you the paddles and life vests.

I would highly recommend this place. Just be prepared when having the office call a cab for you, it will be a much longer wait then you may anticipate. However, we found the cab drivers to be pleasant.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second level with a partial ocean and garden view as well as a terrace and found it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our family enjoyed the pool immensely and we enjoyed the restaurant food. The putt putt golf and bikes were welcome diversions. La Rubeya is very family friendly!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We choose to stay at Laru Beya because we were chartering a boat from The Moorings which is directly across the street. We spent one night here before our charter and one night after. We loved this little hotel. They have a shuttle which picked us up and dropped us back to the airstrip. The beach isn't huge but our children wanted to swim in the pool anyway. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Our room (J103 - ground floor beside the pool) was perfect, but what really made our stay here so memorable was the awesome little restaurant (The Quarter Deck). We wish we were back there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was the second half of our recent trip to Belize. We wanted to swim and relax. This place was perfect. From our verandah it was ten steps to the Caribbean Ocean. We could swim right off of the beach. The water temperature was 89F! We spent plenty of time at the very well maintained pool after swimming in the ocean or going out walking.

The Quarterdeck Restaurant at the resort was my favorite place to eat. We never had a meal there that was not excellent. I’m glad I didn’t know how many calories are in coconut rice when I was eating there though!

We had come from a resort in the Cayo that did not have AC so hanging up our clothing so that it could all dry out was welcome. We were in a junior suite so there was plenty of room for two of us. There was also a full kitchen.

We only had one issue and that was that the weather was not cooperating with our plan to go out snorkeling. Oh well we will just have to go again. We walked in to the town once (four and a half miles). There are also bicycles to borrow right there at the resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
4.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
#13 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#6 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
3.2 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#11 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
4.8 mi away
Belize Ocean Club
Belize Ocean Club
#5 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laru Beya Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laru Beya Resort & Villas

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia 00501, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#3 Family Hotel in Placencia
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laru Beya Resort & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laru Beya is an exclusive, midsize resort located on seven acres of lush gardens and beachfront property in southern Belize. We have the amenities of a large resort with the service and attention to detail of an exclusive villa. We offer a wide variety of rooms including ocean and garden view, and two and three bedroom villas that include living and dining rooms and full kitchens. Also available are penthouse rooms and villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Laru Beya Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Hotel Placencia
Laru Beya Resort And Villas
Laru Beya Hotel
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laru Beya Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.