We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place in Placencia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaspray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaspray Hotel
Save
You added Seaspray Hotel to your Saves list
Pt. Placencia, Placencia, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Fresno, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Place in Placencia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We spent our first 3 nights in Belize at the Seaspray Hotel in Placencia. At first, we considered the cayes, but when we found out the locals liked vacationing in Placencia, we decided to head there instead. We never visited the cayes, but Placencia was fantastic.

We booked room #20, but would probably pick room #21 next time. These are the two upstairs rooms overlooking the beach. The room was great. Plenty of space, our own balcony, two chairs and an ottoman, a new fridge, a microwave, TV, bar sink/counter, coffee maker, etc. The bed was very comfortable.

The whole staff was great, but we found particular kinship with Christine and Gloria in the adjoining restaurant/bar, "De Tatch." They were great fun and very warm and welcoming.

The food, drinks, service and view were excellent at De Tatach. While we're sure the owners don't see it as an attraction we also loved hanging out with the few "regular" dogs that like to roam the beach.

The only downside to Seaspray is the late night music that comes from the Barefoot Bar nearby. Not a deal breaker by any means (we plan on returning), but important to know if you're a light sleeper. Also, some mini ants on the counter, but this is to be expected in a tropical environment. Leaving a lime wedge out on the counter seemed to deter them.

When we return to Placencia, we will definitely plan on staying at the Seaspray again.

Room Tip: Rooms 20 and 21 would be our first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    83
    23
    4
    6
See reviews for
15
103
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed here with one other person and we had an economy room.Our room had two single beds which worked out perfectly. The only difference that I could tell between the economy rooms and the other rooms was that we did not have a balcony with chairs and a hammock. They would have been nice to have, but it was also just as easy to walk the 20 feet to the chairs by the water. The DeTatch was a great place to eat breakfast because it was close (literally ten feet from the hotel), had good food, and was relatively cheep for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights, and moved from room to room as I continued to extend my stay in Placencia. The economy room was perfect for me staying alone. DeTatch was so convenient to go for breakfast every morning, and it was an easy walk home from Barefoot every night! The hotel is literally on the beach and relatively quiet. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you're backpacking solo, the economy room is perfect for one person and only cost me $29 over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel is simple (no air which can be a deal breaker, but standing fan) and clean. GREAT LOCATION: two nightlife hot spots just down the beach, Detatch next door is great restaurant for food or drinks, grocery store close w/ all your necessities, beach is great. Complimentary chairs with shade and sun. We LOVED the location, clean simple rooms, helpful staff, and did I mention the location? We didn't love trying to fall asleep in the heat coming from a cold climate (why it's a "4"). Would any of our family trade air conditioning for hearing the surf at night? No. If you are the gated community type, you'll be disappointed. If not, you'll be bragging to your friends about how little it cost to stay beachfront.

Room Tip: We stayed in the seaside cabana for $85/night during Christmas. It was great having your own beachf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Perfect location, sits at the strip (sidewalk), doesn't offer 5 star high end accommodation . This hotel offers just what you need:
Clean rooms, friendly staff and at the beach (complimentary chairs at the beach).
Fridge at the room is a pre as well as the beach towels.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, Missouri
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

You can find fancy costly places in Placencia (Roberts Grove, Turtle Inn for example) but it is impossible to find anything more comfortable, scenic and accommodating. The beach is terrific, the rooms comfortable and clean and local owners only add to the ambiance. Stay there! We find the seaside cabana our favorite and it's only a dozen steps in the sand from the De Tatch restaurant.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked Seaspray Hotel ahead of time after reading other TripAdvisor reviews! It was such a great deal, we were uncertain if it would be a nice room. But we were in a Seaview II Room, which had it's own private deck with chairs and hammock overlooking the ocean through the swaying palm trees, a comfortable queen bed, a little living room area with TV and chairs (although we were too busy looking at the ocean to ever watch the TV!), and kitchenette. The shower and bathroom were also nice and had plenty of little soaps/shampoos and a hairdryer for convenience. It was more like a tiny little studio apartment, and all for $69 per night--pretty good. The staff was friendly, and professional. The location was also nice, on the famous Placencia sidewalk close to lots of shops and restaurants. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Seaview II rooms are very nice. We did not have AC but we didn't need it--the sea breezes come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaspray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaspray Hotel

Address: Pt. Placencia, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Placencia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaspray Hotel is centrally located in the village of Placencia, close to most local restaurants, gift shops, markets, banks, and local gathering places, our location is a great starting off point for your exploration, amazing adventures and experiencing the unique ambiance that is southern Belize & Placencia. We are located on the white sandy beaches of the magical Caribbean sea, stretched across our spacious beachfront & floral courtyard are 4 buildings, ranging from 30ft to 70ft away from the pristine seafront & less than 75 yds away from our famous Guiness Book of Records sidewalk. Our rooms are reasonably priced, with rates starting as economical low as $25.00 US per night (immaculately clean, and very comfortable)…our staff is friendly and helpful to whatever your needs may be…so we look forward to seeing you in our little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaspray Hotel Placencia
Seaspray Hotel Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaspray Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.