We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miller's Landing Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miller's Landing Resort
Save
You added Miller's Landing Resort to your Saves list
3 miles north of the Placencia point, Placencia, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Easter Special
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Rainbow, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just happened upon this gem of a place. The owners are lovely, down-to-earth people. Anne is a fantastic cook, and Gary sings and plays a mean guitar! We wanted to stay one night and ended up staying three nights; loved waking up to the birds singing, swam in the best pool ever when the ocean was rough, and feel we found a home away from home. We booked tours through them and all of the guides were top rate and reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    14
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for about one week and had a very relaxing time. This is not a busy resort, but rather a family run "bed-and-breakfast" type resort which is exactly what we were looking for. The beach is quiet and secluded and the fresh-water pool was refreshing after a hot day. Annie will help arrange any activities such as snorkeling, jungle hiking, etc. Additionally, the complementary breakfast was delicious. I would recommend Miller's Landing to anyone who wants a quiet, laid-back place to relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a great time at Miller's Landing for about a week in May. The place is set up almost like a Bed and Breakfast as the owners are there to greet you, extremely friendly, and can help you out with whatever you need. The difference is that there are individual cabanas and a fantastic pool. The place is small and quiet and located just far enough away from the main town to be reached by bike but without the noise/lights that closer places might have.

The owners can make pizza or a daily special for you at dinner which was delicious but going into town or walking to the nearby restaurants was more our taste.

It is perfect if you're looking for a low key-relaxed place without crowds. The rooms are simple and plenty big, no A/C but you don't need it, there is a constant breeze and fans which keeps them nice and cool. Very clean, neat and tidy. After having seen most of the other resorts while down here we can say we were very happy we chose this place based on the fantastic owners, charm and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at Miller's Landing in late January with my father, and was very happy with the decision to stay there after checking out nearby resorts. Annie put us in a bigger room that was perfect for the two of us. Keep in mind that this is not a 5-star hotel but a rather rustic, simplistic, comfortable and quiet place to stay. The room was clean and nicely furnished. Best part about it was that it did not have air conditioning, and thus, did not have that heavy, humid, moldy smell that I encountered everywhere else. The open windows (just netting with some shutters) allowed for a cool breeze during the night and the birds in the morning served as the perfect alarm clock. The environment at Miller's definitely get's you closer with nature. Overall, a lovely place to stay if you're not high maintenance. The owners, Annie and Gary are fantastic, friendly and very easy-going. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Grab the room closest to the bar/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here during the last of our visit to Placencia. We were only going to stay one night, but we loved it so much, we stayed two more nights. Annie and Gary treated us so well, we really enjoyed visiting with them. They made us feel at home, and we especially enjoyed the home cooked meals. Yum!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Millers Landing for 8 days. My wife an I were sad to leave, but my 2 y/o twins and 4y/o daughter, cried for an hour when we parted. Anne & Gary are super relaxed and their unique way will make you feel at home. Providing that you want to get away from mainstream resorts, a/c, room service, and fulltime attention, this is the place to stay. Gary and Anne take care of you without being intrusive.
The pool (is fresh and pristine) is meters away from the sea (beautiful but could be cleaner), so we played in the sand and went back to the pool in no time. My favourite part is that Millers Landing is secluded, yet close to town. Pizza is great, breakfast light and fresh, and Anne's dinners abundant and tasty.
We met wonderful like minded friends, which would have been hard at a big hotel where everybody minds their own business.
Looking forward to staying in ML again.
Ruly C.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at Miller's Landing was absolutely wonderful!! Our room was so close to the beach, we could see the ocean from our windows and walk out to the water within 1 minute. The location was so perfect with it being just 3 short miles from the town of Placencia - it was quick to drive back and forth and fun to bike! We couldn't have asked for better hosts! Annie and Gary provided cruiser bikes and kayaks for guests, which we enjoyed using. We also enjoyed their beautiful fresh water pool everyday after swimming in the ocean. Annie arranged all of our excursions (snorkeling at the Silk Caye and Monkey River tour) for us! She knows all the companies and local tour guides, so we appreciated her guidance and help scheduling them! Her homemade bread and granola with fresh tropical fruit was such a treat each morning! We honestly felt like family while we were there and were sad to say goodbye. We'll DEFINITELY be back to Miller's Landing! Thanks for making our trip to Belize such a wonderful and memorable experience!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miller's Landing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller's Landing Resort

Address: 3 miles north of the Placencia point, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Placencia
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside eco-resort set in lush tropical gardens, private luxury cabanas with refrigerators & coffee makers, also standard rooms. Restaurant, bar, swimming pool, hotel specializes in groups, excellent fly fishing, sailing, snorkeling, diving, jungle trips, Mayan ruins, caving. Complimentary bicycles & kayaks.. Can book entire resort for groups, can sleep up to 14 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millers Landing Hotel
Millers Landing Placencia
Miller's Landing Resort Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miller's Landing Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.