We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maya Beach Hotel - Best Beach Vacation Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maya Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Maya Beach Hotel - Best Beach Vacation Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I and friends recently stayed at Maya Beach, and were blown away by the incredible service, accommodations, excellent cuisine and friendly staff. We’ve had our share of great Caribbean vacations, but this one was by far the most memorable.
From early morning coffee on the pier, to pina coladas on the beach, to perfect dinners in the bistro, to stargazing with a nightcap on the pier, everything just added up to a perfect vacation. Marlon at the front desk went out of his way to make sure that the trips that we took were above expectations. We had great fishing trips, snorkel trips, diving trips, and a wonderful monkey river tour. Each trip went well beyond our expectations. It’s evident that John and Ellen have gone out of their way to get to know the local tour operators because they were eager to please us –as guests of Maya Beach. We also took advantage of the hotel kayaks and bikes for a few excursions.
The rooms were very comfortable, clean and well kept, especially when we were constantly dragging in sand from the beach every day. Our room (The Coconut Room) had a large deck that overlooked the water—beautiful sunrises and nice cool breezes. We had A/C but never needed it. And we loved that we were just a few steps from the beach.
Our room had a mini-fridge, but once we had a meal at the bistro we never even thought about buying any food or liquor. The bar began to feel like “Cheers” after a few days. Got to know some of the local characters—and even the staff knew our names.
I’ve never felt so welcome at a hotel, or as comfortable. John and Ellen make everyone feel like a part of the Maya Beach family and have done a great job putting together a great staff to assure that happens. We will miss our new friends Oscar, Becky, Shamir, Marlon, Leon, and Avi. And we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    59
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
65
193
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osoyoos, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great rooms, courteous, helpful staff, awesome location and a great beach. What more do you want from a hotel? How about a seven star restaurant. We would just finish one meal and started to plan our choice for the next. We would return in a minute. The only limitation was the cab ride to town at $20 each way.

Room Tip: Get something with a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had planned to stay at the Maya Beach Hotel for just one week but, within a day of arriving, because we liked it so much, we changed our plans and stayed for two. We had booked our first week at the Hibiscus Room and benefited from a 10% discount because it was for seven nights. Because we hadn't booked a room ahead of time for the second week, we stayed in five other rooms during that time. A benefit of the last-minute booking (within 14 days of arrival) was a deep discount on the room rates. Of course, we had risked not getting a room at all because we hadn't booked ahead of time.

This is not a luxury hotel. The rooms are comfortable, pretty, clean and safe. All bathrooms have a shower with plenty of hot and cold water; some have been renovated recently. All rooms except the Joya Junior had their own safe. Some face the beach (which is beautiful and was pretty-much deserted the whole time we were there) and some have their own outdoor decks. All have a mini-fridge, a ceiling fan and air conditioning. For more details about each of the rooms, see my comments in the section below.

The owners (Ellen and John) and staff are friendly and give excellent service, and the food at the Maya Beach Bistro is delicious. You can borrow their free bicycles and kayaks and they provide chairs on the beach for lounging. They are happy to book your domestic flights and tours. In fact, if they book your flight out of Placencia, they pay the taxi to bring you to the airport. Nice touch.

Thank you, again, to Ellen, John, Marlon, Tracey and everyone else at the Maya Hotel who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our trip to Belize was a resounding success! My husband and I have stayed in all kinds of beach locations - from very high-end all-inclusives to smaller, more quaint locations like Maya Beach. We whole heartedly prefer this hotel to so many we have stayed at. You just can't beat the personalized service and responsiveness of the owners and staff. From the front desk to housekeeping, from the bar to the restaurant - every request we made was met with a smile and managed in a very timely manner. We would definitely return for another week in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I understood that it was a no frills but comfortable beach hotel. I booked the largest room on the property which looked so attractive on the website. The room was tired. It did not feel, fresh, airy and beachy. Instead, I felt really closed in as the window on one side of the room which could have given a nice beach view was coated with a white glass and over that lifeless heavy curtains. The bathroom was adequate in size but it, too, needs updating.
The friends we were traveling with stayed in the Toucan Room. They had a better sea view. The website does mention that the room has a small bath. It is a very small bath for normal size people. The water in the sink was brown. Like our room theirs had a comfortor on the bed which was more suitable for a hotel in North America in the winter than in Belize.
Yes, the restaurant has delicious food. I would give it high marks. I feel the hotel was lacking in attention to detail.

Room Tip: The Cocanut Room is spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My trip to the Maya Beach, and my first to Belize, was in February 2012. My wife and I traveled with friends who had stayed at the Maya Beach before. We could not have been more pleased. The rooms were, perhaps, basic but pretty and care had obviously been taken in decorating. The staff was friendly and helpful, and booked marvelous excursions for us both ahead and during our visit: snorkeling, sailing, rain forest tour, Mayan ruin tours, fishing). The bar was fun every evening, with a mix of guests and local expats. We had a marvelous time.

To address some of the negative review comments: Yes, the rooms are fairly basic. This is not a luxury resort. If that is the standard of accommodation you are accustomed to, then you might be disappointed by Maya Beach. BUT, a) this IS Belize, and, b) look at the room rates. For the price, I could not have hoped for a better (or as good) hotel. And Yes, the hotel is on a road, but to pronounce it either busy or noisy bears no relationship to our experience. Our room faced the beach, and all we ever heard was surf.

Pluses: Staff, Excursions, Value, Staff, Comfort, Fun. Minuses: Far from Placencia. A car is a must to see anything away from Maya Beach, although you can rent a gold cart at a hotel an easy bike ride away which is completely satisfactory for Placencia. And apart from Placencia (which is interesting and very Caribbean feeling, if not tourist Mecca), it is quite far from anything else. Go there is there is where you want to be. Beach is lovely, quiet, secluded. Pool is small but nice. Bar is fun.

Saving the best for last, the restaurant at the Maya Beach, while scored as the best restaurant in Belize, is better by far than that. It could hold its own anywhere. The food is inventive, delicious, fairly priced and fresh, fresh, fresh. As bread is not a staple in Belize, they bake their own every day, plus to-die-for cinnamon rolls. Don't expect beef, as cattle are not raised in Belize, but lamb and pork are terrific. But it's the seafood that stars. I'm a seafood lover, but even I never thought that I could eat seafood twice a day, 7 days/week at the same place and still want more. But I did. We went out to another restaurant exactly twice in 14 days, mostly because we thought we should spread our dollars around a little wider. But we were never tempted to go back to anyplace but the Maya Beach. Also have a nice, inexpensive New Zealand sauvignan blanc (among others on the wine list) that went very well, indeed.

My advice is to read the negative reviews carefully. If those are the sorts of problems which will make you unhappy, then go somewhere else. (Turtle Bay, in Placencia, is owned by Frances Ford Coppella and is FAB, although we only went for a drink.) But if you're not used to 4* luxury (and don't want to pay for it) give the Maya Beach a try. You just might end up as over-the-top happy as we were. (Oh, and if you are by chance a fly fisherman, have them book you a guide to go fishing for Permit. It's an experience I'll never forget.)

Room Tip: Book early, as Sold Out is their mantra. We had the Coconut Room: second floor, two bedrooms, sitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in the main house managed by Maya Beach. Beach location and staff make up for the fact the house needs updating, and the towels and linens do not match. However, all are clean and comfortable. The rooms and porch are large, and the shower is hot with great pressure.
Marlon and Shamir and the front desk staff are top notch. The restaurant is a MUST! Fabulous food!! The service at the bar and at the table is wonderful. We ate almost ALL of our meals at the hotel. Ellen is a great host, but John could smile a bit more and at least appear to recognize guests. We enjoyed cocktails and lounging at the end of the pier on the deck swing and hammocks. Take the kayaks to the nearby "island" to explore the channels and fabulous sea.
DO go into Placencia and try Rumfish and Barefoot Bay. I am still dreaming about the awesome gelato at Tuttifrutti.
YES- I would go back and stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maya Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Beach Hotel

Address: Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Placencia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a pretty stretch of natural sand beach, the Maya Beach Hotel is a small mid-range property for couples who need comfort, but not luxury. Our hotel rooms are air conditioned with king or queen beds and nice beach views, and we also offer some beach house rentals in different price ranges. Our Bistro and swimming pool are a gathering place at the end of a day filled with snorkeling, diving, fishing, kayaking, jungle hiking, spelunking, climbing Maya ruins, or just plain relaxing on the beach. The Bistro was also recently awarded (for the second time) "Restaurant of the Year" by the Belize Tourism Board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Maya Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Beach Placencia
Hotel Maya Beach
Maya Beach Hotel Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.