We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food and atsmophere on the peninsula!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mojo Lounge & Bartique

Mojo Lounge & Bartique
Placencia Village Rd, Placencia, Belize
5016287974
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 60 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best food and atsmophere on the peninsula!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The food, decor, and service are top notch at Mojo!! I only wish we had found it before our last night in Belize. The music that night was awesome. I think the singer's name was Carl. We tried a few appetizers. The coconut shrimp and the garnaches were excellent. For dinner, we have the fish and the pork chops. They were both excellent as well. The presentation and fresh flowers were a nice touch as well. The staff was extremely attentive!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    35
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not Quite our Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Probably a good drinking place but limited seating for those who dine rather than wine. Satisfactory food, not really our music but probably appreciated by many, OK but no more.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great start”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A relative newcomer to the Placencia scene, Mojo's has quickly become a popular hangout for drinks and dinner. A nice friendly atmosphere, creative dishes that use a good amount of local ingredients (more than most anyway), and some original cocktails make for a nice experience. The decor is certainly an upgrade from the Hidden Falls, which used to be in the same upstairs locale. The space is still pretty small though, which makes for cramped and uncomfortable seating in some places (get on the balcony if you can), and the indoors can definitely get too hot and stuffy. I have to say that after 40 years of eating fried chicken all over Belize, the fried breast cutlet I had on my pasta was about the best I have ever had, light, crisp and moist. I have been getting flashbacks to that dish - it is something I will remember for a long time. And the prices are moderate - certainly compared to other fancy restaurant-bar dining spots with balconies in Placencia.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING!! Food, drinks, atmosphere, owner, wait staff, chefs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Absolutely amazing dining experience! If you travel to Placencia, you MUST stop by Mojo Lounge and have a drink (or two or three) and have a meal! The owner is the most genuine soul you could meet, the drinks are FUN and have a story behind them (just ask), and the food is....so delicious I don't even know how to put it into words. The best way I can describe the food is to say that you can taste LOVE in the food. LOVE for Placencia, LOVE for the customers, LOVE for life!! This restaurant was highly recommended by the locals and there is a definite reason why. If you want to have a great time and re-charge your soul...stop by.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Belize
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Good Different from the Norm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Decor is artsy, and relaxing and soothing music playes in the background. Food was very well prepared and delicious, drinks were very good and reasonably priced. The staff is professional, and very attentive. I've been there multiple times and left each time thinking, that when Mojo becomes well known, you will not be able to just walk up and go in for drinks and food(dinner or appitizers). You will need reservations hours in advance!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mojo Lounge & Bartique also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Mojo Lounge & Bartique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mojo Lounge & Bartique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.