We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Espada's Yard

Espada's Yard
Placencia Sidewalk | (near Serenade Guest House), Placencia, Belize
605-5143
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 52 Restaurants in Placencia
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Wilber, Nebraska, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Long wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

They were having a off night. Their ribs needed extra time, then their rice was out and addtional time was needed for that. But they were super nice and it was very relaxing just hanging out in the hammocks with some supermarket purchased beers.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N.Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Un-belize-able”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The next time I know of someone going to Belize I'm telling them to visit Placencia just for this place. Best street styled food I've ever eaten, this couple know how to cook. Incredible tastes, this simple bbq set up had us coming back again and again. The ribs were out of this world and the fried cookie dough had me dribbling wanting more. I'm actually annoyed I've experienced food like this because it's ruined any other bbq meal I'll ever have! Find this place, crack open a few beers and let your mouth visit heaven.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best deal in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Lovely couple running a great restaurant! We had bbq chicken and home made baked beans and went 2 days in a row! The prices are so reasonable and the food is great! It is like dining at a friends house, very comfortable. They make and awesome rum punch and the fried cookie dough dessert is amazing!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

A just-off-the sidewalk, and yes, in his yard ... this "restaurant" boasts the finest BBQ chicken on the peninsula! Get there early if you want grilled shrimp or snapper!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilber, Nebraska, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were told the ribs just ran out and a new batch of chicken was getting put on the smoker. To wait and it would be another 30 minutes. We grabbed a hammock and enjoyed the wait. We grabbed some beers at the store and returned. We enjoyed the hammock. We waited over two hours for that chicken and shrimp kabab and then for the rice to finish in the rice cooker. It was good. The portions were smaller then I was expecting. The atmosphere was great!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espada's Yard also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Espada's Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Espada's Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.