We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous corals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silk Cay

Silk Cay
Placencia, Belize
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boise
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous corals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Loved all the variety of corals, saw a fair number of fish that were new to me, and also saw a few nurse sharks and several turtles and rays.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    25
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“turtles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

a great place to snorkel with Loggerhead turtles. Just be careful not to get too close as they bite hard!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch for 10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A beautiful setting to snorkel. The reef is preserved very well and many laws are in place here to maintain that. An array of sea life is available including sharks, rays and fish. Fantastic spot for lunch too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Mi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved the diving!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was an excellent place to dive. We did 2 dives and a snorkel on the way back. The lemon sharks kept us entertained during lunch on the island. We saw some big turtles, rays, barracuda and the usual on the dives. The snorkel site is cool. It's a place they use to clean fish and like sting ray city in the Cayman's it has attracted it own menagerie of sea life. There is a huge lager head turtle that wants to bite you as you get back on the boat. There are all sorts of rays including eagle rays. A couple types of shark, a lot of fish of all types. It was great. About an hour boat ride from Placencia.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most beautiful caye.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were in Placencia for three wonderful nights.The highlight of our trip was absolutely our snorkeling trip to silk caye. this was the most beautiful little caye ,with crystal clear water ,and the most amazing snorkeling. Our guide was great , and we saw turtles,stingrays,and nurse sharks.This trip is a must for everyone visiting Placencia.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silk Cay also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Silk Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silk Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.