We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brenda's is the BOMB!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brenda's BBQ

Brenda's BBQ
Main Road, Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 52 Restaurants in Placencia
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brenda's is the BOMB!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The jerk chicken is the best I've had! The gumbo was filled with lobster, sausage, shrimp and more. I love her personality and stories. I will come back to Placencia just to see Ms. Brenda! The ambiance is the sitting by the seaside talking with the natives!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Brenda's is a must visit when in Placencia. She is the heart an soul of the town and she makes some great home cooked food. She made us a special lunch of her gumbo, jerk chicken, rice, salad and the best macaroons you will eat. It was neat to eat by the water and talk with the locals.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food down at the pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Brenda is the sweetest lady and has some good food right down at the pier. Great for when you come in from a snorkel tour. We had her shrimp gumbo and it was very unusual but very good. She also makes a mean macaroon.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brenda's for lunch is a must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had a great meal of stewed chicken and beans and rice from a funky little shack right at the town pier. Brenda and her helper we fun to talk to, and they cut open coconuts for us to have the flesh and water. It just was a great, local experience with very good local food.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington,Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just had Drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stopped her and were pleased to try her rum drink, which had a fresh banana and pineapple but as far as the rum goes it seemed to be somewhat lacking. But she does have the gift of gab and supposed to be in the know about all things in and around town.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brenda's BBQ also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Brenda's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brenda's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.