We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced drinks, decent food + volleyball” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mango

Mango
Mayabeach | Stann Creek, Placencia, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 60 Restaurants in Placencia
Cuisines: Caribbean, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced drinks, decent food + volleyball”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Aside from the Sunday night Lasagna, which is quite delicious, I think the food here is average to above average. The good news for Mango's is there is not a lot of competition in Maya Beach at this price point.

Sand volleyball court is a nice perk.

Sunday nights go off as all the locals that go to BOC for Sunday Funday at the pool end up at Mangos.

Good fun vibe.

I have to agree with other reviews that the staff is not overly friendly and seem annoyed with the customers. Apathetic at best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    26
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool spot with the best bar on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Make a point to stop at Mango's! Beers are cold, drinks are delicious, and the food is great! Frank (owner and chef) mixes it up behind the bar a bit. All the locals congregate there, and for good reason. The place is always hopping!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, OR
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good fish tacos, however...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We dined here in February & it was casual, decent food & a good location to Coco Plum Villas where we were staying. However, when my daughter & I went to the store across the street for supplies, waitresses/staff gave their phone numbers to my husband who stayed behind to watch the Superbowl. That surprised him & negated our desire to return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good fish tacos bored staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The personell acted kind of bored , apathetic but they served good fish tacos and its really nice location .

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good spot for drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This place is located just steps from the Green Parrot. It is a local bar. Has some good food and is a place to meet some of the local people.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.