We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch w/ A Breeze” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango

Mango
Mayabeach | Stann Creek, Placencia, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 58 Restaurants in Placencia
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lunch w/ A Breeze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Amazing whole red snapper and filet lunch specials with Placencia's (should be) trademarked ocean views. Open-air covered dining with cooling afternoon breeze. Cold beers, great food. Relaxing spot to enjoy a post-dive meal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great band - bad dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great beach bar with good drinks, a volleyball court in the back, and one of the best bar bands I've ever seen.

We then ordered key lime pie and pecan pie, not so good.

We did hear that the food is good though. It's a expat kind of place and close to green parrott if you're at maya beach.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fish Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

A local topld us that Mango's is the place to go so we tried it for dinner. I had the whole Red Snapper. I have eaten whole Snapper at a lot of restaurant's and can just state it was average.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great food right on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Mangos is a place you may miss on your visit to Placencia because it is a little far from town. Located in the Maya Beach area of the peninsula you will need a golf cart or a car in order to reach this quaint little place. We met friends here for lunch and even though we had 9 in our group the service was fast and the food was great. Eating lunch while overlooking the beautiful Caribbean Sea is definitely a plus and one I never tire of here at mangos. They have great pizza, burgers, salads and soups. The waitresses are friendly and efficient. Next time you are in Placencia, take a short drive and check this place out. You will not be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Great Local Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Situated on Maya Beach this restaurant boasts great views of the beach from the balcony if you're sitting down to lunch in the afternoon. In the evening it is just as good sitting inside. This place has a great atmosphere with live music some nights and during my stay was busy all the nights we went, in total we visited 3 times during our trip. The food is standard local food very tasty and the drinks are great, cocktails are fantastic. The service can be slow sometime as they are busy and sometimes don't have the staff to keep up with the demand but don't let that put you off, its worth the wait....and any way you're on holiday, whats the rush? They are more than willing to please too, one of the margaritas we ordered was so salty from the salt around the rim of the glass, it was undrinkable...we were willing to buy another drink as we put this down to our error of choice but they were more than willing to provide another and didn't charge us for the salty margarita, which was fab!!!
Overall, this restaurant serves great local cuisine and provides a great authentic Belizean experience!!! Would definitely go back!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.