We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westwind Hotel on the Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westwind Hotel on the Beach
Save
You added Westwind Hotel on the Beach to your Saves list
Pt. Placencia Village, Placencia 00001, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Magog, Canada
Top Contributor
609 reviews 609 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The two things that this place has going for it are the location and friendly owner. But is not enough to salvage the place.
The place badly needs some maintenance. It appears that the walls have not been washed for a while (see photos), they certainly have not cleaned under the bed for a long time and you have power outlets just hanging out (see other photo). They have 4 adirondack chairs but one is falling apart. There are a couple of long chairs but the dogs were using them the day that we arrived. And since they never remove the cushion at night, they stay wet after rain and are not-usable. They look very dirty as well. Talking about the dogs. I love dogs. But they were attached just in front of my window and started barking at 6am, not something I need on a vacation. They sleep all day attached under the palapa. doesn't really attract you there. Doesn't exactly feel clean.
As I said at the top, on key attraction is it location, a good spot on the beach. However, the owner never clean their frontage of the beach. Unlike the hotel next door which does (see photo). It would only take a few minutes. Instead you have to step over a lot of garbage to get to the water. I don't mean the seaweeds washed to shore, that would not be too bad. I mean the garbage, the plastic, bottle and occasional dog poo (not their dog though as I saw a stray dog doing his deed there).
I should also mention the lack of privacy as you will hear everything going on next door and everyone who is talking outside in front of your place. There is also the issue of lack of hot water. The water is lukewarm at best and very little water pressure coming out of a very old shower hear ( I actually do not think that it is a shower head as such).
Did I forget anything? Oh, there is a small fridge which is a nice addition to an otherwise very small room.
At $80 per night, this is rather expensive, even for this area. It should be priced below $50. Our next place was $30 more but 5 times nicer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    37
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
54
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

If you are in need of a getaway from city life, the Westwind is the place for you. Located directly on the beach, the tropical climate is like no other. The water is warm, and there are plenty of areas to lounge. In particular, a shaded area with hammocks under (called a polapa) provided a nice break from the sun. The rooms are clean and spacious, with amenities such as a refrigerator, air conditioning, and close enough to fall asleep listening to the waves crashing on the beach. The Westwind also offers kayaks, clear blue waters, and nice and entertaining hostess in Lisa and George. Lisa and George are a cute, fun couple, full of fun stories and entertaining personalities. Moreover, the hotel is right in the small town, allowing you to walk down a path and converse with the locals. All in all, the hotel provides a relaxing vacation in paradise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orcutt, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This place is great. It is by no means a luxury resort, but that is the best part!! The owners are extremely friendly and treat you like family. Beach front and a great palapa to relax under. The rooms are basic but comfortable. Water pressure in the shower can be an issue though. Highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Point, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the Westwind, with a 2-night stay and a 1-night stay bracketing our visit to one of the outer Cayes. Lisa and George were outstanding hosts, going far out of their way to make our stay more pleasant for us. They are knowledgable about the cultural and natural history of the area, about interesting possibilities for visitors that are both on and off the beaten track, and about how to help visitors navigate cross-cultural adventures gracefully and appreciate them fully. Both Lisa and George were so friendly and sincere, we quickly came to interact with them as if we were family.

Following others’ advice, we opted for an air-conditioned room on the second floor and were glad we did. (It was their hot season.) The rooms could use some “freshening up,” but they were clean and quiet, and the bed was firm and very comfortable. The waterfront setting can’t be beat, and everything we wanted in town was within easy walking distance. And besides all that, their rates are far lower than most in town, making the Westwind a great value.

This was our first visit to Belize and we came away enchanted with the place. On a return trip we would be very happy to stay again at the Westwind.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed as a couple in a beachfront, second level room for 2 nights and absolutely loved it. The room was clean, comfortable and although a bit small, still lovely overall. The location of Westwind is perfect -- right on the beach and still very close to the main part of town. Definitely within walking distance to everything. Lisa was a wonderful host, happy to answer our questions and give suggestions about things to do in the area. Westwind offers free kayaks, beach towels, and has speedy wi-fi. Above all, we appreciated the details that go into this place -- the natural, handmade soap by the sink, the detailed book of information on the desk, the bags of green tea and coffee by the sink, and the personalized hospitality we received. Thanks for a great stay, Lisa! We hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

As all the other reviews have stated the Westwind hotel is right on the beach. What I didn't remember reading was the flower-plant garden Lisa and George have on the other side of the hotel. We found that to be very beautiful. Can't say enough about George and Lisa and their hospitality, we felt like family. If you are looking for a place to relax and I mean relax as I believe I got 10 hours a night worth of sleep that I've haven't had time to or could not get in years. We were lucky to be there as a pier was dedicated to the people of Placencia and they now have a ferry on Wednesday nights (not sure on schedule and may change) that takes you out in the bay with live music and cocktails for a very resonable price. We didn't go because we didn't want to take a ticket/s away from the native Placencians but spoke to folks that went and said it was a great time. George and Lisa know everyone and will point you out in the right direction. We wanted to rent a car for one day and most rentals were for a two day minimum, Lisa made a call and we were hooked up. I got to spend a little time with George and found him to be a funny and very knowledegable man. We really like them alot and find ourselves missing them. Want to go back as soon as possible and hang out with George and Lisa......Thanks U 2 tell Naz hi, she was very nice to us... Showing Danny the pics real soon, he asked about y'all, hope to see you soon and if you get to New Orleans you have a place to stay...!!! Mary & Matt.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and enjoyed waking up and walking outside to see the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Tradewinds Hotel is a great budget option. I stayed here for a few nights with four of my buddies after shopping around the Placencia boardwalk for a bit. The hotel is well-situated, literally right on the water. They have a great beach cabana with hammocks where you can chill out with some Belikins. We even hung out with the owners there one afternoon, where their two awesome dogs keep a constant vigil. The hotel has an overall laid-back vibe, which is passed down by the owners. They have complementary sea kayaks, which we took out to explore the nearby coral formations. Another great thing, the hotel is right across the street from the Barefoot Bar!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westwind Hotel on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwind Hotel on the Beach

Address: Pt. Placencia Village, Placencia 00001, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westwind Hotel is centrally located in the heart of the quiet fishing village of Punta (Pt.) Placencia. This locally owned and operated hotel is attractive, modern and comfortable. Within a stones throw from the Caribbean Sea, the Westwind Hotel is within access to local restaurants and tour operators. Tours can be arranged with the best guides for fishing, diving, and snorkeling as well as inland tours to the Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve and the Mayan Ruins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westwind Belize Placencia
Westwind Belize Hotel Placencia
Westwind Hotel On The Beach Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwind Hotel on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.