We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Placencia getaway...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westwind Hotel on the Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westwind Hotel on the Beach
Save
You added Westwind Hotel on the Beach to your Saves list
Pt. Placencia Village, Placencia 00001, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States
1 review
“Placencia getaway...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I wanted a laid back, chill place to stay in Placencia for our Honeymoon and that is what we got at the Westwind Hotel. It's a no frills, no hassle place that allowed us to relax and enjoy our time. Although the room was small it was very clean and well taken care of. If you are dog lovers, as we are, Scully and Lyza are great hammock companions when lounging under the sea view pagoda!! We were very happy to have stayed with Lisa and George and wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    37
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
54
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at Westwind Hotel on the Beach during our family vacation to Belize, it was very nice.
Lisa, is friendly and welcoming, she helped us with booking a couple of tours and gave good suggestions on places to eat. It was a great location, not just because it it literally on the beach but it is also within walking distance of the restaurants, etc. at the end of the peninsula. The room was very clean and our only minor issue was that the bathroom was quite small (as others have mentioned).

The air conditioner worked well, and the palapa with hammocks on the beach was very nice for spending some time relaxing. My husband and son also took advantage of using the kayaks while we were there.

We had a lovely stay at Westwind and I would certainly return there. Thanks for your hospitality, Lisa!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying here. Close to everything, clean rooms and friendly staff. We had read that Mel was perhaps a little rude but she had obviously had the word as she was great to deal with. George was a funny guy, really enjoyed chatting with him over a whiskey. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Westwind was great! We stayed for 6 nights and hated to leave. It was very comfortable. We had access to the TV, computer and kitchen for coffee and tea in morning downstairs in the "common" area. We could actually see the sunrise every morning from our bed on the second floor. It was beautiful.
Lisa was very pleasant and I felt like we were leaving a friend when we left there.
The location was so close to everything, restaurants, shops and tour companies.
The bathroom was very small but we got used to it very quickly and it was fine.
The only thing we were upset about (and this has NOTHING to do with Westwind) was the beach was disgusting. The east wind had blown in seaweed and plastic and we couldn't go in the water. We were told that this doesn't happen often and it apparently happened all up the coast. The option was to walk the short distance to the tip of the peninsula and use the small beach there.
If we go back to Placencia we will definitely stay there again.
Thanks Lisa!

Room Tip: Second floor was the best in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the upper/second level. Lisa was so nice and helpful to us. She even let us use her phone to call our next hotel in Belize because they weren't answering their emails.
The rooms are small but quaint. Bathroom was small, but at least it had hot water and a strong flushing toilet, unlike so many other hotel bathrooms we found in Belize. It's very quite, on the beach, has plenty of hammocks, and free coffee in the commons room. It is also very centrally located in town, so easy to walk to everywhere. She also let us stay late on our check out day since the next guests weren't coming in until the evening. It was a perfect little beach front property; we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Westwind, a graceful and comfortable hotel plopped right on the beach is actually more of a "home" than hotel. The rooms are smallish,but very comfortable.There is a large commons area that is a great place to meet new friends or visit with old ones.It has a perfect location on one of the best stretches of beach in Belize. George and Lisa are great hosts and along with making you feel right at home they can help you make travel arrangements for most any sort of fishing,diving or tour you might imagine. Be sure to have a walk thru Lisa's garden...Its more of a jungle really, we spotted over 20 different birds there on our trip. Cant wait till my return.

Room Tip: The front rooms facing the sea usually have a nice breeze, but are often noisyer than the side rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at Westwinds for 3 nights and had a very pleasant experience. We had a lower level room right on the beach that was very cosy and had everything we required. George and Lisa were very friendly and welcoming offering tea, coffee, cake and all sorts of things whenever you popped up to see them. There is also a lovely little spot with hammocks in which to lay and read as well as free use of kayaks and equipment. The only downside came in not having our room cleaned for the first two nights as there had been a big turnover one day and we were forgotten the next. However this was quickly fixed and it didn't appear to be a common occurrence just unfortunate on this occasion. However all in all we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westwind Hotel on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwind Hotel on the Beach

Address: Pt. Placencia Village, Placencia 00001, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Placencia
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westwind Hotel is centrally located in the heart of the quiet fishing village of Punta (Pt.) Placencia. This locally owned and operated hotel is attractive, modern and comfortable. Within a stones throw from the Caribbean Sea, the Westwind Hotel is within access to local restaurants and tour operators. Tours can be arranged with the best guides for fishing, diving, and snorkeling as well as inland tours to the Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve and the Mayan Ruins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westwind Belize Placencia
Westwind Belize Hotel Placencia
Westwind Hotel On The Beach Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwind Hotel on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.