We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and classy small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Singing Sands Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Singing Sands Inn to your Saves list
Singing Sands Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing and classy small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

When you enter the Singing Sands Inn, you see several signs where they promote their motto of "Casual Elegance." That phrase really is a good way to describe the atmosphere at the Singing Sands. The cabins are not luxurious - for that you can pay the extra $150 per night to stay at Chabil Mar - but they are classy. The small pool is beautifully designed with a waterfall-like fountain to create the atmosphere of tranquility, and the beach is kept in good condition despite the inevitable seagrass. The tiling in the bathroom sink and shower is a nice touch, and the bed is comfortable. We only stayed for a night this time, but we'll be back for another visit!
On a side note: You'll want your own car to travel back and forth to the village of Placencia, where most of the restaurants and shops are. If you won't have a car, Singing Sands is still great if you will mostly be doing tours during the day. But if you want to be closer to most of the activity, you may want to find a place closer to Placencia village.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms are still a 30-second walk to the beach, so you can't go wrong with any ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    57
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
187
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

i stayed at the singing sands for 5 days and had a wonderful experience. all the photos reflect the beauty of the inn. if you want a.c and a tv then you should stay somewhere else. if you're looking for quite and relaxing, a place where the staff knows you by name, a place where you feel invited then this is the place for you. be mindful of the fact that the property foliage is very well maintained, but nonetheless it is nature. i came back several evenings to my casita to find a gecko, lizard and random bugs. remember, you're in placencia a lush town where the homes are set in nature. stay here to enjoy the beach, the hammocks, the staff, the other visitors and to enjoy your life away from the rush of wherever you're from!

Room Tip: all the casitas face the same direction and lead to the beach. i stayed at #6 which is closest to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

On May 7th my nephew and his beautiful bride celebrated their day with dinner at Singing Sands. I arrived early to see that everything was in place. I was so impressed with their attention to detail. There was not one thing out of place. But aside from doing their own job, when the florist didn't bring much in the way of flowers, Hyon had her staff go out and pick flowers where ever they could. They then made at least a dozen gorgeous wall arrangements that would put any florist to shame. The food was amazing and the attention the staff paid to the guests was truly outstanding. I see they recently won an award for small hotel of the year. It is well deserved and earned. Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Singing Sands Inn. It is truly a beautiful property and fabulous location. Our trip was marred by a car wreck on the first evening of our stay and I ended up spending most of of time dealing with this instead of relaxing and enjoying this wonderful and tranquil setting. The owners and staff are AMAZING!!! They went far above and beyond the call of duty to help me out dealing with the local authorities, insurance and many of the other hassles I had to deal with. Normally, I like to think I am low maintenance, but I am sure I pushed tthe boundaries and we were among their most challenging guests of all times. They did all they could to help and calm me down and they are fantastic people!

The resort is located right on the beach. Every morning the staff rakes the beach to make sure it's clean for the guests. The hammocks located on the beach is a great place to kick back, relax and be lulled to sleep by the breeze gently rocking you in the hammock. The pool area was another place you could sit back with a drink and forget about the daily stresses of life.

The rooms were clean and fine. With the beach and pool areas, I didn't need an extravagant room. My partner however, went through tv withdrawal durning the stay...but I found no tv a really nice change. He was able to watch shows on our iPad as the Internet was quite strong in our room.

If you are looking for a vacation to really sit back, relax and to get away fom it all, I would recommend the singing sands inn!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Singing Sands Inn in May 2013 for a week. Due to a work conflict for her we had to reschedule for three weeks after our initial dates. Despite being told that there probably would not be a problem re-booking our room for the original week because it was prime whale shark viewing season, there was a hefty cancellation fee - 50 % of the room cost for the week. So if you think you might have to change your reservation, buy traveler's insurance or change before the 30 day prior to stay deadline. Overall, our experience was relaxing and just what we were looking for in a get-away. The food and drinks were delicious and reasonably priced - service was outstanding. The snorkel trip which was advertised as including lunch and drinks was excellent; however, we were expecting adult beverages and not bottled water. One thing that was very annoying with screened rooms was that they burned something every morning very early which woke me up. It was also VERY windy in the evenings at this time of year. We had Villa #1 and enjoyed the privacy of its location - definitely the best room. I enjoyed snorkeling right off the end of the dock with lots of small reefs in the immediate area. I was disappointed that the water was not the aqua color and as clear as I have seen other places in the Caribbean. The hammock over the water provided many relaxing hours reading. We rented a car and ventured out into Placencia several times and enjoyed our trips into town. In Placencia, the "Above Grounds Coffee House" is a must for good coffee we enjoyed several breakfasts at "The Shack". Overall, I would say we enjoyed our trip but will probably try another country for our next trip.

Room Tip: Villa # 1 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We truly enjoyed our recent five night stay at the Singing Sands. One thing that they really do well, and I think it's rare to find, is combining a casual atmosphere with a touch of sophistication and at a reasonable price. We loved so many things about it:
- the tranquil setting (especially beautiful in the morning when the water was as calm as a lake)
- the variety of perfect places to chill out (the pool, the pier, hammocks) which allowed for plenty of peace and privacy
- the food...it was always delicious and the portions were just right, we ate there every night
- the service...they were helpful and polite, personable yet respectful
- the relaxed feel and lack of typical hotel rules...no literature in the rooms, self-serve coffee and water at the bar, honor bar with self-serve beer on the pier
- they went out of their way to make our stay a special one...making up a beautiful table by the pool for our anniversary dinner, providing a fishing rod and bait so my husband could go fishing, making customized dishes on the last night when we grew tired of the dinner menu, doing a quick load of laundry so we had clean clothes for our trip home

We have to admit that even though we had the best room (#1) and often had major ocean breezes coming into our room, sleeping was not our favorite part. We missed our bed at home, but that's ok. And yes, room #1 is the best room. It has the most privacy, breeze, the deck is almost always shaded from the sun (a good thing), and the pool is a quick hop around the corner.

In case you are considering Robert's Grove (we were), they have the same owners and you can take a free shuttle over there. There's a more lively feel there and it was nice for spending some spa/lunch/pool time, but we were glad to be back "home" at the Singing Sands.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We chose Singing Sands restaurant as the venue for our wedding reception, on May 7. We knew serving a group of 50 people in the small community of Maya Beach would require a lot of organization, preparation, attention to detail, and commitment - and Singing Sands delivered!!

Hyon leads the team of excellent staff, she made every effort to ensure our wedding night was perfectly set. She accommodated my every request with a custom seating arrangement, decorating scheme, and timing to a tee. She even brought in extra flower arrangements, appetizers, and linens without being asked because she thought it would enhance the evening.

The food was outstanding - favorites were the Thai Fish and Chili Garlic Shrimp. The entrees were only outdone by the delicious appetizers that everyone talked about for days following the wedding. The unique Asian fusion menu was raved about by all. We had several food requests to accommodate dietary preferences and allergies, every single person had a perfect dish - no errors.

Wine and champagne flowed all night, the staff left nobody unattended. The restaurant is a truly beautiful, intimate place and we could not be happier to have chosen it for our special day. We cannot thank them enough for giving us the most memorable evening, Hyon went above and beyond in every way possible - a gracious, wonderful host. Thank you!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Singing Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Sands Inn

Address: 30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#7 Family Hotel in Placencia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Singing Sands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA private secluded seafront resort on Maya Beach...with beautiful Placencia Lagoon nearby! "...Singing Sands is an oasis for the traveler...whether couples seeking a romantic space, groups in search of a base location...or birding enthusiasts and water lovers needing a place from which to begin...their Belizean adventure." Our Inn is tucked within a beautifully landscaped tropical garden, providing a restful environment for our guests. We take pleasure in providing a relaxed, at home atmosphere. We’ve been working hard in recent months to completely renovate and remodel our entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Singing Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singing Sands Hotel Placencia
Singing Sands Resort
Singing Sands Inn Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singing Sands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.