We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Singing Sands, a good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Singing Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Singing Sands Inn to your Saves list
Singing Sands Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Birchwood, WI
Level Contributor
192 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Singing Sands, a good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The grounds are gorgeous, the pool area and restaurant are lovely. The rooms are fine, some don't like the bathroom setup (open, no door) . The restaurant was fine for us. Prices were same as eleswhere and we had meals from breakfast through dinner. The best thing on the menu was the fresh fish (snapper) . It seems to rate above places based mostly on the fact they they are cheaper than most others. They offer free (but not very good) bicycles and kayaks for a price ($10). The staff was very nice and helpful. You can walk to some nearby restaurants or get a taxi into town ($25 - one way), or bike it - 7 miles one way.

Room Tip: One is furthest from the road, six is close to it - yes, some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    58
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
38
196
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm amazed that nobody has mentioned that the toilet facilities are open to the rest of the room. There is no way to get any privacy when using the toilet or shower in the cabanas- in fact the toilet is literally about 12 inches from the headboard of the bed. I've been married for 23 years and sorry, I'm not that enthusiastic about witnessing my husband's bodily functions in action. We would have to take turns leaving the room when each other was showering- this is pretty inconvienent.

Other than that, the hotel grounds are beautiful and the restaurant was very good. The staff is friendly. The hotel is a bit far from town, and I would not recommend riding bikes to town. A taxi ride ($20) is the only option.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
140 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The grounds are gorgeous, the pool area and restaurant are lovely. The rooms are ok, not very comfortable. The restaurant is over priced and we found the food to be very underwhelming; from breakfast through dinner. The best thing on the menu were the pizza and burger. Other restaurants were a very expensive taxi ride away so you really had no choice but to eat here. We felt that when the staff found that we weren't interested in booking tours through them (bc of price) that the level of service dropped dramatically and the weren't too hospitable. With a change of staff and food this place could not be beat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Thank you so much to the wonderful amazing staff and owners at Singing Sands Inn. I was there over Christmas and had a vacation of a lifetime. From the moment I landed at the tiny airstrip to the time we left everyone was so polite and respectful. We cannot wait to come back and enjoy ourselves and relax. We stayed in Cabana 5 and have no complaints. The food was amazing and drinks at the bar superb. Everyone there was very friendly and it just felt like home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place is amazing if you want to totally relax. Maya, her hsband all the staff are excellent and cant do enough for you. The bar and restaurant are really good and the food itself excellent - not cheap- but great value and also certainly healtheir than some of the other places we went to!
Rooms are small cabanas eactly as described and steps away from the beach, even the furthest one would have been about 30 steps! We had cabana 2 right at the front. On the days we spent on the beach, we normally had it to ourselves. Very clean and great to snorkel around the pier. The pier is also a lovely place to sit as the sun goes down. However, as were were just coming up to the start of high season, the pier bar was not open. I can imagine this would be a very nice place to end the day.All in all, a wonderful week and the only way we would not stay again whislt in Belize is if we bought our own place!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, and as described very near to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I went for our honeymoon in last May. We stayed at the Singing Sands for almost a week in Cabana 2. The cabana's cozy and comfortable. We didn't have air conditioning, but if you open the window slats and have the ceiling fan on, the ocean breeze keeps it pretty comfortable. The staff there are very helpful and friendly. The restaurant there, The Bonefish Grill was great. We were so happy with it we ended up eating most of our meals there. Between the pool, restaurant, bar and beach. We ended up spending many days not leaving much at all. One of our favorite things to do at night was walk out to the end of the pier and watch the thunder and lightning storms roll over the mountains. I wish I could give more details, I should have written this review right after we got back. All I can say is I'd recommend the Singing Sands to anyone traveling to Belize. We hope to make it back someday.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Singing Sands Inn. We stayed in Cain #3 - with a great ocean view, clean and comfortable. We were there during the Thanksgiving holiday and had the place, virtually, to ourselves. The bartenders (Eddy especially) were friendly and made you feel like you were at your neighborhood bar. Make sure to try the fritters during happy hour, we had them a few times! We had dinner at the restaurant twice, both fantastic meals! The hotel is in Maya Beach (about 6 miles from Placenia proper), accessible by bus, bikes and golf cart. The hotel has bikes to use, make sure to pick one with a proper fit. There are a few restaurants (Maya Beach Hotel was amazing), bars and market within walking distance - worth a walk to check them out. The pool is refreshing in the afternoon after some time on the beach in the sand. The hotel offers tours, we took advantage of the Monkey River tour during our stay, a great half-day trip. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it as an alternative to staying in Placencia (make sure to visit Tutti Frutti in Placencia for some of the best gelato outside of Italy). Make sure to bring baby oil - the noseums can be a pain (mosquito repellent doesn't work, but you will need it too).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
0.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
3.5 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
#13 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
5.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#6 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
6.7 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#11 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belize Ocean Club
Belize Ocean Club
#5 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singing Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Sands Inn

Address: 30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#6 Family Hotel in Placencia
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Singing Sands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA private secluded seafront resort on Maya Beach...with beautiful Placencia Lagoon nearby! "...Singing Sands is an oasis for the traveler...whether couples seeking a romantic space, groups in search of a base location...or birding enthusiasts and water lovers needing a place from which to begin...their Belizean adventure." Our Inn is tucked within a beautifully landscaped tropical garden, providing a restful environment for our guests. We take pleasure in providing a relaxed, at home atmosphere. We’ve been working hard in recent months to completely renovate and remodel our entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Singing Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singing Sands Hotel Placencia
Singing Sands Resort
Singing Sands Inn Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singing Sands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.