We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Robert's Grove Beach Resort to your Saves list
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Placencia Rd, Robert's Grove, Placencia, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A very nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Robert's Grove has some big plusses: a super friendly staff, a beautiful setting, gorgeous room, good food. But it also has a couple of minuses: a trash-strewn, shallow beach and a shabby looking entry. Be sure to say hi to Jenny Lee at the front desk - a real DOLL!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    170
    55
    30
    8
See reviews for
142
237
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I went to Belize in March 2014 and had a great experience! I stayed for a week with my friend and we enjoyed the Belize Adventure Package. The entire experience and the stay at Roberts Grove was wonderful. The staff were also extremely nice and one in particular, Nikkita, was just awesome! She was with us on a couple of our tours and made the experience 20x more fun! She gave us history about Belize and talked about the different things to see and do while in Belize. She was very knowledgable and I want to thank her for giving my friend and I an amazing experience while on our trip. Roberts Grove is certainly a little piece of heaven and it isn't over run with a tourist vibe. The food is good and the rooms are beautfiul. The staff are so wonderful and friendly and they help set up all of your tours allowing you the freedom to pick when you want to go and what days. Thank you all for a great time! Hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent 4 nights at RG in a second floor 1BR unit with a huge balcony. The room was wonderful-roomy , clean, and included a nice bathroom and large living room. It did not have a refrigerator, though I think most rooms do. Be sure to ask if you want one. The view from the balcony was fabulous. It was windy while we were there and the beach was full of garbage and plant debris. I don't know if it is always like this or just because of the large waves/wind. The staff raked it every morning, but this really didn't help much as the "stuff" just kept coming in, so except for one afternoon, we could not swim at the beach. The pools, however, were great, but there seemed to be no wait service at the pools so we had to go up to the bar. The restaurant is quite expensive for a family place. Get a car and eat in town, cab fair adds up quickly. We did the snorkel and fishing trip out to the private island and that was wonderful-beautiful reef, picture perfect private beach, great guides. The front desk staff booked our flights back to Belize City for us and we used the hotel shuttle. While we had a nice time, I would probably pick a different part of Belize to visit if you are looking for a beach resort, because of the dirty beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGMarketing, Owner at Robert's Grove Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
While Placencia does have a no littering policy, Most debris come from the surrounding countries like Guatemala, Honduras that don’t have proper garbage disposal policy and when the raining season start all rivers flush these to the ocean and some end in the Belize coast... this is a worldwide issue not only to Belize.. We make a continuous effort to keep it clean and certain times of the month the current does bring it in more than others. However, the beaches are clean and swimmable the majority of the time. We keep our prices competitive with other beach resorts in the area and offer three restaurants with varied price ranges to meet any guests budget and taste. We are happy you enjoyed our unique access to the private Cayes and snorkeling along the Belize Barrier Reef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Fabulous Fabulous Fabulous. My room was beautiful, the food was great, the diving obviously wonderful as I saw my whale sharks! The hammock swing on my deck watching the sunset sipping my rum punch is the life.

Room Tip: I stayed in 38B and its lovely...top floor king bed...wonderful ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vina del Mar, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed at RG for 2 nights and everything was excellent. The room, the staff, the property..everything was great. I would specially like to thank the staff since they were very helpful and where always ready to assist, they picked me up from the airport and arranged my tours. Tour prices were better than booking them from outside of the hotel, I recommend you book tours through the hotel. I had a relaxing time and would definitely return. The only thing they should improve is the breakfast, I think it was a bit poor (in contrast with everything else in the hotel)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We just returned from 4 nights at RG and overall we had a nice time but we would struggle to recommend it to others.

Our experience was, that whilst there is an army of staff here, the service is very haphazard. Our check-in experience - after a 4-hour drive, we were fairly zapped and advised our room was not available. We could understand this as we were early, and were told we could seat ourselves until it was ready. We were fine with this and thought about ordering some lunch in the meantime. Then along with a welcome drink, a lady leaped on us about tours and proceeded to take about half an hour showing us pictures on an ipad, which we were not interested in doing straight away. I understand the value in having a tour specialist and would expect to have this info, but not so in-your-face. I did indicate to the lady that we were a bit tired from our journey, and also we had already had 4 days of doing ATM and other jungle activities so we wanted to settle in first. She didn't listen to us at all, just proceeded to take us through pictures of tours we'd already done. It was not a good first impression at all - we had little information on the hotel itself, but hundreds of images on tours we didn't want to hear about right now. It totally defeated the point of giving us a welcome drink, there was no attention to the guest experience.

When our room was ready, for some reason she was designated to show us there although she is there for tours. She couldn't find our room and we walked around until she took us to a room and sort of tried to work out what it included. Our luggage wasn't there and eventually she took us through to an adjoining room where our cases were. But she had no idea whether this was ours and whether other people would be staying in the room we'd just walked through. She was about to walk back to Reception when we suggested using the phone instead to call and ask, which she did. She then assured us we were in the right room - we were very grateful to be in such a lovely room but weren't sure about the adjoining door and it took us some time to persuade them to have it locked by housekeeping. By this time, we felt we had not had a relaxing experience at all. They had pointed out the pools, but no other useful information. Luckily there is a lot in the room folder, so I would recommend looking through this.
Another morning, we were called at 8.15am by staff asking if this was the storeroom. (??!!)

I've seen other reviews commending the staff, but we were very often ignored by staff in the restaurant, despite there being so many waiters... sometimes they would see us sitting there, but still go on to wipe another table or stand chatting. Sometimes, we had a lovely smile to greet us and were looked after, but this just wasn't the case generally. Communication here was much more difficult than any other hotel, driver or tour guide we spoke with in Belize. When we asked questions at reception, we were made to feel that it was odd we asked anything. When we checked out, there was an overcharge, but no apology or anything when we pointed it out. It was reprinted immediately which was good, then we did not get a goodbye or anything when we left.

Positives: It's a very well-maintained property and the beachfront aspect is lovely. Near the reception area is raked of seaweed so swimming there is easier, otherwise use the pools. Other plus-sides. Sweet Mama's was delicious and relaxing for a meal in the evening. Rooms were well air-conditioned and housekeeping was excellent. (cleanliness in the rooms far outweighed the restaurant, which has these yukky sticky placemats, very weird)

We are laid-back and don't expect a lot, so we were surprised we felt the experience was poor. It seemed to us there was no management around or consistency in the service. We didn't expect the intimacy of a smaller family-run place of course, but also this hotel didn't seem to operate like a larger chain that has trained staff in customer service or communication. Everything was just a bit odd, so we have ended up feeling like we personally couldn't recommend it to others. It makes us sad to leave a review like this, as with some nice, organised service, we felt Roberts Grove could be a great property!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGMarketing, Owner at Robert's Grove Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Robert’s Grove would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacation in Belize. As with many establishments here, our staff is always learning and growing. We will take your recommendations under advisement and continue to improve our guests experience. We hope in the future you will return to us and see how far we’ve come. We will also look into the placemats you mentioned. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Robert's Grove dive center is outstanding! Everyone working there was completely professional and friendly! The shop itself, the equipment, the boats and of course the people that work there are really superior. Doren was an incredible divemaster and Francisco (the owner) was so nice, he did not charge me for Nitrox. I would definitely dive there again and I recommend the dive center highly!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
2.2 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
1.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#6 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Belize Ocean Club
Belize Ocean Club
#5 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#2 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
24.4 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 12 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert's Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Address: Placencia Rd, Robert's Grove, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#9 Family Hotel in Placencia
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robert's Grove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the Caribbean coast of the Placencia Peninsula in southern Belize, the award-winning Robert's Grove Beach Resort, is a comfortable, beautifully appointed property set amidst 22 acres of tropical, art-filled gardens and sandy beach that offers easy access to all of Belize's top attractions: The largest Barrier Reef in the Western Hemisphere, lush Rainforest and Maya Ruins. Robert's Grove Beach Resort features 52 air-conditioned beachfront Classic Vista one bedroom rooms, one, two and three bedroom villas, with all the conveniences one would expect from a finer Beach Resort. There are three private beachfront pools and a host of complimentary activities and amenities that include free wireless internet, tennis court, fitness room, bicycles, pedal boats, kayaks, windsurfers and Hobie Cats. The resort offers three distinct and delicious dining venues: The Seaside Restaurant, with its accompanying bar and lounge, overlooking the beach and sea and serves an international menu along with local specialties. Room Service is available from the Seaside Restaurant. Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar, offering a full range of Mexican dishes, overlooking the Placencia Lagoon at the Robert's Grove Marina and Sweet Mama's Restaurant a delight in Belizean home cooking and a unique outdoor setting. The food and beverage team at Robert's Grove Beach Resort also arranges special evenings and cultural programs on a weekly basis, including its famous Saturday Night Poolside BBQ Buffet with local music and dancing as well as Habanero's Tuesday night Mexican Buffet and Sunday Paella special. Romantic dinners atop the resort's thatched rooftop gazebos, private room terraces and thatched palapa at the end of its 225 foot pier offer additional dining pleasures. The Resort's spacious grounds, professional food and beverage capability and fully equipped conference room have made it an especially popular setting for large destination weddings, celebrations and business events. The Resort's Water Activity Center features the most diverse water sport activities in southern Belize: At the Resort's 5-Star PADI Dive Center a highly skilled team of dive instructors and dive masters are on standby for instruction as well as daily trips to the many exciting dive locations in our area. Snorkeling, Fishing and island hopping are available from our luxurious charter boats. We also offer overnight stays at our two privately owned islands. The Resort also operates a wide range of tours and excursions to the rainforest and Maya ruins, including Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve and Monkey River.And after a full day exploring the wonders of Belize's magnificent barrier reef and its tropical rainforest, Robert's Grove offers its guests the opportunity to pamper themselves at the resort's well-appointed "Sea Spa" where skilled therapists provide a wide assortment of massages and spa treatments in indoor and outdoor treatment rooms, using the jungle's best natural herbs and oils. The recipient of the Belize Tourist Board's "Hotel of the Year" (2008), TripAdvisor's "Traveller's Choice Award" (2010) and TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence for 2011, Robert's Grove Beach Resort has long proven its commitment to high standards - both in guest services and its regard for nature and the environment. Known for its natural beauty and quiet luxury, it is the perfect destination from which to enjoy the best of Belize and the beautiful Belizean people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Robert's Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert`s Grove Beach Hotel Placencia
Hotel At Roberts Grove
At Roberts Grove Placencia
Robert's Grove Beach Resort Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robert's Grove Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.