We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Habeneros” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Robert's Grove Beach Resort to your Saves list
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Placencia Rd, Robert's Grove, Placencia, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Fontana, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Habeneros”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 14 days in Belize recently and had dinner or lunch at Habeneros at least 3 times. The food and service was outstanding each time, and I only wish we could have eaten there more often. We have been home for a month now and I really miss this restaurant. If you are in this area of Belize, you don't want to miss this restaurant. Guaranteed good food and fun!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    147
    44
    24
    6
See reviews for
122
206
22
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Roberts Grove is awesome! the staff, rooms, service, food, atmosphere is top notch. The rooms were large and clean, quiet.
tons of stuff to do. the buffet and music on Saturdays cannot be beat, along with the banana crepe desert!
See Alex and Erdulfo in the bar, great service and helpful, tell em that Tonya said to come by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here in early June. As a travel book we read stated, the resort was "pure class all the way." Our room was stylish, clean, and very cool. We enjoyed our balcony facing the beach every night. The staff was friendly, remembering our names and faces everywhere we went. I couldn't have asked for better people there to make our stay hospitable, from the front desk, to housekeeping, to Clifton who assisted us with the Hobiecat for the first time. We had dinner at two of the restaurants, and enjoyed the continental breakfast in the morning. The beachside seating for meals off of the main lobby was top-notch. We will DEFINITELY return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Mi
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here from May 19, 2013 to May 30, 2012. We were upgraded upon check-in to a one bedroom villa. It was the farthest room on the property in Building I. It was very comfortable, quiet and clean. We had a big porch just 6 feet from the sand and 30 feet from the ocean. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. It was not extremely busy when we were there so I can't say if at busier times if the staff would be as good. The front desk Ladies were all awesome and helped us many times with our questions and booking our excursions.

We had the free breakfast included in our room. It was more than enough for us as divers to eat before heading out for a full day on the boat and in the water. It included fruit (2 kinds), toast, baked goods made by Mathieu’s (the deli by Habaneros), yogurt, coffee, tea, juice. If you want to add eggs or something at a cost you can. We ate at The Robert's Grove restaurant for dinner once, the food was good but very over priced for the quality and the quantity. We preferred Sweet Mama's (low Belize price) and Habaneros (moderate price lower than Robert's Grove) when we stayed around the resort.

We ate in town at Wendys (really good for lunch and lighter dinner), Secret Garden (really good- great dinners), Rumfish y vino (really great dinner), then top it off with something from Tutti-Frutti (awesome homemade ice cream). The Above grounds coffee house is a great place to stop in and get an iced coffee on a hot afternoon.

The 3 pools were kept clean every day. If they cleaned them in the morning the breeze would blow stuff in and by afternoon they looked bad but they did clean them every day. They did rake the beach every morning however being on the windward side the beach surf was pretty high everyday we were there and the seaweed just kept coming in.

Security was very visible and I felt comfortable enough to leave my Ipad out charging in the room when we were gone. They do have in room safes.

We did go there to reef dive and whale shark dive. We did not use the onsite dive shop, they had a lot of bad reviews for safety and attention, but we did not hear any real complaints from the other guests while we were there. We did our diving with Seahorse in Placencia, it was awesome we saw 5 whale sharks in 4 dives.

The taxi ride into town (one way) was $10 US from Robert's Grove $20 US if you stay even 2 miles further up the road like Maya beach.

They keep lotion, shampoo, conditioner and a hair dryer in the bathroom. I like to know this for suitcase weight due to the fact we are divers and bring a lot of gear so every ounce can make a difference for us.

We like to walk the beach to town in other places so my biggest disappointment was the fact that when we walked to Seine Bight less than a mile down the beach it was like a garbage dump right on the ocean. Apparently the local people don't feel compelled to keep the beautiful ocean front beautiful. Seine Bight is just a small town with a few stores and would benefit more if the tourist had a nice beach to walk up to town. I know we would have went into Seine Bight everyday.

We did go on the Monkey River tour - if you have all ready seen howler monkeys and have taken a boat through the mangroves I would not recommend this tour. I heard other guests saying the tube caving was fun, we wished we would have done that.

I did like staying at Robert's Grove and I would recommend it for most anyone.

I would definitely go back to Placencia but I might try staying in town the next time.

Room Tip: If you like quiet the one bedroom villa in bldg. I was very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for three nights,the resort is very beautiful,lots of trees and flowers. Only problem for us,was the fact that it was about 5-6miles from town,so a taxi or golf cart was necessary to get to town.Other downside was the room,we had a one bedroom,which was so small,you could hardly turn around in it,not only that,but was very dated and badly in need of remodeling.One thing was great,that was the ocean view from our back porch.One staff member was very nice to us. Thanks miss Floret Valerio for showing us some true Belizean manners.Hope to see you again on my next trip.People at the dive shop was also very nice,and the snorkeling was fantastic.

Room Tip: Read all the reviews,and ask a lot of questions ,especially about the size of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent the first week of June a Robert's Grove. My husband and I both fell in love with this place! It is right on the beach. We stayed in a one-bedroom villa and I can't even explain the view from our private patio. There were coconut trees, white sand, the color of the water changed every single time I looked at it, depending on how the sun/clouds were at the moment. We had a hammock, a table & chairs, and two nice big comfy sitting chairs perfect for morning coffee and reading!

There are lots of beach toys to play with and ride in the water. There's plenty of lounge chairs, so no need to worry about racing down in the morning to save a spot for the day. We also borrowed bikes to ride into town each day. You just swing by the check-in desk and tell them you want a bike and by the time you get to the storage shed someone is greeting you to give you a bike.

The room was cleaned every day and housekeeping came by every single night to check on us to see if we needed fresh towels or shampoo and delivered little chocolates.

We ate in the Seaside dining area every morning for breakfast. The continental breakfast they put out each day is lovely. There was always tons of pineapple and melon. You can make your own toast. The coffee is pretty good. We usually ordered a couple of scrambled eggs also.

Sweet Mama's is delicious and VERY reasonably priced. We ate there several times and the meal I'm remembering was the BBQ chicken, rice & beans with coleslaw for 5 bucks!!!! The staff moves at what I call "island pace" but the food is amazing, inexpensive and it is really a fun place to sit and hang out. Oh, here is the best part, they actually peel and cut REAL potatoes to make their French fries. Nothing can compare to real French fries!

We only booked one excursion through the hotel. We took the snorkeling trip. It was a wonderful experience and I'm glad I did it. Beware though, the thing I didn't totally understand was that the boat drops you off and goes off to take the divers to deeper water. I was under the impression that we would be closer to the island... and it made me anxious to know that we were a considerable distance from the island and the boat! Please know I'm not trying to discourage anyone from taking the dive/snorkel trip, just know the deal :) and WEAR THE LIFE float! This is an option as your jumping off the back of the boat and it shouldn't be! You are out there with two instructors and several people, be smart and wear the float!

We only had a few minor issues come up while we were there, the first one being I had requested a 2nd floor room and they assigned us to a 1st floor room, they moved us immediately. The other issue is our refrigerator didn't work, and finally the 2nd day when they hadn't come to check it, I moved it around and discovered it was unplugged, so I plugged it in, but it wasn't until the end of the 2nd day that anyone came to fix it. Lastly, on the "con" side is the fact that security allowed the locals to come onto the grounds and sell jewelry and souvenir type stuff. I also had this happen at a restaurant in town and it is a big turn off for me. I'm paying a lot of money to be a guest at this wonderful resort and I don't want the intrusion of being bothered to buy something. I wouldn't mind if they "set up" somewhere on the beach, but they should not be allowed to approach the guests.

Overall, I highly recommend this resort if you are heading to Placencia! We hope to return for another visit one day!

Room Tip: I prefer staying on the 2nd floor, I feel the rooms are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Roberts Grove is such a beautiful place in a great location. At night the beachfront restaurant has a very romantic feel and they even prepare some of your dishes at the table for that added touch. The staff are all very friendly and I was sad to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Robert's Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Address: Placencia Rd, Robert's Grove, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#8 Family Hotel in Placencia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robert's Grove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the Caribbean coast of the Placencia Peninsula in southern Belize, the award-winning Robert's Grove Beach Resort, is a comfortable, beautifully appointed property set amidst 22 acres of tropical, art-filled gardens and sandy beach that offers easy access to all of Belize's top attractions: The largest Barrier Reef in the Western Hemisphere, lush Rainforest and Maya Ruins. Robert's Grove Beach Resort features 52 air-conditioned beachfront Classic Vista one bedroom rooms, one, two and three bedroom villas, with all the conveniences one would expect from a finer Beach Resort. There are three private beachfront pools and a host of complimentary activities and amenities that include free wireless internet, tennis court, fitness room, bicycles, pedal boats, kayaks, windsurfers and Hobie Cats. The resort offers three distinct and delicious dining venues: The Seaside Restaurant, with its accompanying bar and lounge, overlooking the beach and sea and serves an international menu along with local specialties. Room Service is available from the Seaside Restaurant. Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar, offering a full range of Mexican dishes, overlooking the Placencia Lagoon at the Robert's Grove Marina and Sweet Mama's Restaurant a delight in Belizean home cooking and a unique outdoor setting. The food and beverage team at Robert's Grove Beach Resort also arranges special evenings and cultural programs on a weekly basis, including its famous Saturday Night Poolside BBQ Buffet with local music and dancing as well as Habanero's Tuesday night Mexican Buffet and Sunday Paella special. Romantic dinners atop the resort's thatched rooftop gazebos, private room terraces and thatched palapa at the end of its 225 foot pier offer additional dining pleasures. The Resort's spacious grounds, professional food and beverage capability and fully equipped conference room have made it an especially popular setting for large destination weddings, celebrations and business events. The Resort's Water Activity Center features the most diverse water sport activities in southern Belize: At the Resort's 5-Star PADI Dive Center a highly skilled team of dive instructors and dive masters are on standby for instruction as well as daily trips to the many exciting dive locations in our area. Snorkeling, Fishing and island hopping are available from our luxurious charter boats. We also offer overnight stays at our two privately owned islands. The Resort also operates a wide range of tours and excursions to the rainforest and Maya ruins, including Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve and Monkey River.And after a full day exploring the wonders of Belize's magnificent barrier reef and its tropical rainforest, Robert's Grove offers its guests the opportunity to pamper themselves at the resort's well-appointed "Sea Spa" where skilled therapists provide a wide assortment of massages and spa treatments in indoor and outdoor treatment rooms, using the jungle's best natural herbs and oils. The recipient of the Belize Tourist Board's "Hotel of the Year" (2008), TripAdvisor's "Traveller's Choice Award" (2010) and TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence for 2011, Robert's Grove Beach Resort has long proven its commitment to high standards - both in guest services and its regard for nature and the environment. Known for its natural beauty and quiet luxury, it is the perfect destination from which to enjoy the best of Belize and the beautiful Belizean people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Robert's Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert`s Grove Beach Hotel Placencia
Hotel At Roberts Grove
At Roberts Grove Placencia
Robert's Grove Beach Resort Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robert's Grove Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.