We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are its biggest asset” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Robert's Grove Beach Resort to your Saves list
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Placencia Rd, Robert's Grove, Placencia, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Staff are its biggest asset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We enjoyed RG for the most part and the highlight was the staff. They are so friendly and nothing was a bother. The room was immaculately cleaned each day although there was the odd bug, ant or roach so check your shoes. It was to be expected considering where we were. We didnt find the no see ums as bad as we had expected and a little deet keeps them away. The public areas were the best we came across with three pools and a nice deck out over the water. One suggestion for RG would be to allocate one of the pools strictly adults only. The beach is not that great due to sea grass, but that is not exclusive to RG with the sea grass all along the peninsular. We "inspected" other properties (or at least their bars) and in the end were happy with choosing RG. The only thing that lets RG down is the food and beverage which was far superior every other place we went. We ate breakfast each day and although the continental breakfast buffet suited us before heading out diving, had we been looking for a big breakfast experience, RG wouldn't have suited. You can order a la carte but its only average. We had the BBQ buffet one night and while it was OK, there was nothing memorable about it. There are certainly better food options in the area although you need a car or taxi to get to them. As others have mentioned, the whale shark diving seems a bit of a scam, or at the very least false advertising. According to our dive guides, no one saw a whale shark last year, and only 2 sightings in 2011. To be honest, the other diving with RG was not as expected but will review diving separately as this is for the hotel. On a positive, if you dive with RG the dive shop is conveniently located to the hotel and you can charge it all back to the room. We used the hobby cat, and as first time users, one of the activities staff gave us lessons and kept an eye on us for nearly an hour while we were out. In summary, good rooms and pool facilities but don't go for the food.

Room Tip: I would pay extra for an ocean front room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    170
    55
    30
    8
See reviews for
142
237
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Roberts Grove was an ok experience. Rooms were highly variable, ranging from acceptable to very lovely. Prices for everything was astronomical. Better deal in town - but, because the hotel is so far away, it seems a hectic trek - so, we ended up eating in often. Not a great bargain place. I probably won't be back. I found it scenic but expensive and out of the way. Beach not nice for kids, way too rough. Great views though.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Co.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The resort was great. Our two room villa had a nice view and large deck. The living room was a great location for my sister and I to hang out and plan our upcoming activities. Our villa had a pool on each side of it. When it got too windy in the evenings we just went across the street to the restaurant at the lagoon/marina.
The Robert's Grove diving operations was another story. We went on one of their Whale Shark dives. My sister and I were snorkeling while most folks on the boat scuba dived. One of the women snorkeling had the body of an Olympic swimmer and swam like one. Instead of our guide staying with us less than average swimmers he stayed with the woman who could have easily swam across the English channel. I got left behind in the middle of the ocean. I finally swam back the long distance back and got on to the boat. A guy with a scuba tank came aboard just before me. He said they gave him a half full tank. He ran out of air down at 60-80 ft. Down at that depth he looked around and was all alone. Luckily he was able to surface without any damage. Later I decided to snorkel near the boat so if I got tired I could just get back aboard. The boat took off and left me.
When our guide was yelling at one of the deck hands (who didn't understand a word of English) to help my sister get back aboard he just stared into space. My sister fell getting aboard and gashed her knee open. They couldn't find the 1st aid kit and when they finally found it, it didn't have any disinfectant inside. She used some disinfectant one of the divers had. After the last dive the first people aboard were the guides. They went to work packing stuff up. The other divers came aboard and the boat headed back in without taking a head count. The divers complained that they spent their entire dive chasing the guides. One of the divers also said the boats props started spinning as they came up to the boat. Robert's Grove dive operation is scary.
We took another dive trip with Avadon dive and they were very professional. I saw them load their extensive 1st aid kit, they always took a roll call, and the guides stayed with the divers. It was like night and day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was a nice stay at the resort. Spent LOTS of money on the diving on their "Whale Shark dive" poor dive. . which is the main reason for our visit. No whale sharks, but listening to the dive masters on the way back, they stated "we always put that we see them to keep tourists coming". The resort actually recommended we change our trip from June to April for "prime whale shark diving" but not one was spotted. After speaking with locals we found out that there has not been a whale shark spotting THIS YEAR! Yet they still have tourists shelling out a lot of money to see them and go on the dives. Very disappointing.

Food is terrible, service is so slow, we ended up going into Placencia to dine despite the ridiculous $20 USD round trip taxi fare (for approx 3 mile drive). They have a nice spot and a lot of potential, I hope they get organized and are honest with tourists so that they know what to expect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Perhaps I was spoiled by my stay at Ramon's in San Pedro just before going to Placencia. I found the attention to detail we enjoyed at Ramon's sadly lacking at Robert's Grove. As they say the devil is in the details. On the plus side, they provided timely transportation from the airport and put our luggage in the rooms while we were checked in by very friendly and personable staff. Check in was fast and easy. The rooms were nicely finished and we liked the huge bed even though it was a little high. It gave a new meaning to the term "jump out of bed". I'm six feet tall and my feet were 6 inches from the floor:-) Another plus was the excellent selection on the free continental breakfast. I chose a custom prepared omelette (extra cost) one day but the choices for the continental were enough for everyone else. The staff in the restaurant and bar were attentive and friendly. In your room you get one bottle of water and then have to pay for any additional. In their defense the tap water is supposed to be safe. I drank it and had no problems but if you are a purist be prepared to pay. The huge shower had an interesting feature. I noticed the tub spigot was turned 90 degrees. I didn't think anything of it because we intended to shower. Imagine the surprise when the water was turned on and the spigot flew off, hit the far side of the shower stall and the now bare pipe proceeded to run a stream of SCALDING hot water on your feet. Hmmmm. No adjustment of the controls would stop the scalding water from shooting out a solid stream even when the shower was going at a normal temperature. A wet washrag draped over the pipe diverted the very hot water to run onto the floor. Standing feet apart it was possible to shower without skin peeling:-) Details, details. Since the spigot had been just stuck on at an angle it seems likely that housekeeping was aware of the problem and chose to ignore it. On Saturday night they closed the restaurant to have their "famous" poolside buffet. Of course the live band needed to crank up the volume and the base to cover up their marginal talent and the walls of our room actually vibrated in sympathy. We chose to go across the street to their other restaurant to avoid the cacophony. I found it interesting that I could not charge meals or drinks to my room. They said I had no credit on file at Robert's. A minor annoyance but really? It seems the front desk at Robert's had keyed in my account wrong. Not a big problem but after being assured it was fixed the very same thing happened the next day. Details, details, details. Sadly the $28 round trip to the town 4.5 miles away will not get you much in the way of shopping or dinning so you might as well eat at one of Robert's places.

The real trouble surfaced at the dive center. Two of our group had booked a whale shark dive trip. This was the main reason for our side trip to Placencia following our time in San Pedro. A lack of professionalism, organization and planning permeated the entire dive operation. They were still trying to sort out equipment almost an hour after they were supposed to leave. Why wasn't it sorted out the day before when divers checked in ordered their lunches? They arrived at the dive site late and lost their place in line. For the second dive they managed to get into the site 20 seconds before the park closed for the day. After taking lunch orders the day before they instead just provided chicken and water and told people to hurry up and eat. Naturally they were late getting back but when my wife asked the guy at dive center when the boat was expected back the guy just looked out at the dock and said, "They're not back yet". No kidding Sherlock! The absence of a 50 foot dive boat must have been his first clue. When asked if they had heard from the boat he said they "don't have any communication with the boat". Great, I guess if the boats not back by morning she could assume the boat sank? The boat captain and dive masters did NOT get a tip. Next time we'll try Avadon! My advice, look for another diver operation.

And now for some mostly positive comments if you're not diving. We booked a manatee watching tour and the very knowledgeable guide was ready on time and provided us with a nice trip and we spent a lot of time hanging with a manatee and her calf. Our group of 4 people booked a Monkey River tour for the next day and I highly recommend it. We had the same guide but this time we had a delay while we waited for anther couple to join our group. We left without them after waiting a half hour. The guide got a call in his cell phone about 15 minutes into the boat ride. It turned out the front desk at Robert's had booked a couple that were actually staying at anther resort. oops. details, details. Their place was on the way so we stopped off and picked them up after all. The guide again gave us a great tour and we got to see crocs, a wide variety of birds, lizards and of course howler monkeys. We stopped in the lagoon on the way back for another round of manatee watching. A lunch of fish, red beans and rice at the town of Monkey river was pretty darn good! This guide got a BIG tip for a great trip!

Room Tip: Avoid staying there on Saturday unless you get a room far away from the pool. After blasting away wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This resort is very beautiful and property is well kept and clean. The staff are friendly and work hard to make sure your vacation is amazing. Didn't care for Sweet Mamas restaurant, run out of food on more than one occasion. Hotel restaurant has a wonderful atmosphere and is right on the beach but food is onlyonly so,so. Only drawback is the resort is a good distance from Placencia and it is very expensive to rent the golf cart which is really too bad as this is a great way to travel. Tour prices are comparable to town but spa prices much cheaper in town which is too bad cause it would be great to use spa at resort. I would recommend this resort to anyone traveling to Belize, the area I$ wonderful and it is very quiet and relaxing. Habenaros restaurant at the Marina is very good as well and make excellent fresh sandwiches.

Room Tip: Deluxe room facing beach is the best. We were in room 20 which I think is the best room in the reso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We only booked 3 days here not knowing if we would like it or just want to move on. After several days we decided it was the best place to stay and were fortunate that it was a quiet week and booked another 6 nights. Placencia is very remote and this place has 3 restaurants and a dive/tour shop. They said over Easter, you couldn't find a room anywhere and other places were icky and without A/C. Our room was great, a Mexican decor with local art thru out. A balcony with cozy adirondack chairs, a table and a hammock. The staff was amazing. The warmest and friendliest people we have ever met. Most the people on Placencia are friendly. They have a decent continental breakfast. The owners are hands on and I could go on and on about this place.

Room Tip: We paid for the budget room but asked to be moved to a room with the balcony facing the ocean for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
2.2 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
1.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#6 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Belize Ocean Club
Belize Ocean Club
#5 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#2 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
24.4 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 12 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert's Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Address: Placencia Rd, Robert's Grove, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#9 Family Hotel in Placencia
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robert's Grove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the Caribbean coast of the Placencia Peninsula in southern Belize, the award-winning Robert's Grove Beach Resort, is a comfortable, beautifully appointed property set amidst 22 acres of tropical, art-filled gardens and sandy beach that offers easy access to all of Belize's top attractions: The largest Barrier Reef in the Western Hemisphere, lush Rainforest and Maya Ruins. Robert's Grove Beach Resort features 52 air-conditioned beachfront Classic Vista one bedroom rooms, one, two and three bedroom villas, with all the conveniences one would expect from a finer Beach Resort. There are three private beachfront pools and a host of complimentary activities and amenities that include free wireless internet, tennis court, fitness room, bicycles, pedal boats, kayaks, windsurfers and Hobie Cats. The resort offers three distinct and delicious dining venues: The Seaside Restaurant, with its accompanying bar and lounge, overlooking the beach and sea and serves an international menu along with local specialties. Room Service is available from the Seaside Restaurant. Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar, offering a full range of Mexican dishes, overlooking the Placencia Lagoon at the Robert's Grove Marina and Sweet Mama's Restaurant a delight in Belizean home cooking and a unique outdoor setting. The food and beverage team at Robert's Grove Beach Resort also arranges special evenings and cultural programs on a weekly basis, including its famous Saturday Night Poolside BBQ Buffet with local music and dancing as well as Habanero's Tuesday night Mexican Buffet and Sunday Paella special. Romantic dinners atop the resort's thatched rooftop gazebos, private room terraces and thatched palapa at the end of its 225 foot pier offer additional dining pleasures. The Resort's spacious grounds, professional food and beverage capability and fully equipped conference room have made it an especially popular setting for large destination weddings, celebrations and business events. The Resort's Water Activity Center features the most diverse water sport activities in southern Belize: At the Resort's 5-Star PADI Dive Center a highly skilled team of dive instructors and dive masters are on standby for instruction as well as daily trips to the many exciting dive locations in our area. Snorkeling, Fishing and island hopping are available from our luxurious charter boats. We also offer overnight stays at our two privately owned islands. The Resort also operates a wide range of tours and excursions to the rainforest and Maya ruins, including Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve and Monkey River.And after a full day exploring the wonders of Belize's magnificent barrier reef and its tropical rainforest, Robert's Grove offers its guests the opportunity to pamper themselves at the resort's well-appointed "Sea Spa" where skilled therapists provide a wide assortment of massages and spa treatments in indoor and outdoor treatment rooms, using the jungle's best natural herbs and oils. The recipient of the Belize Tourist Board's "Hotel of the Year" (2008), TripAdvisor's "Traveller's Choice Award" (2010) and TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence for 2011, Robert's Grove Beach Resort has long proven its commitment to high standards - both in guest services and its regard for nature and the environment. Known for its natural beauty and quiet luxury, it is the perfect destination from which to enjoy the best of Belize and the beautiful Belizean people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Robert's Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert`s Grove Beach Hotel Placencia
Hotel At Roberts Grove
At Roberts Grove Placencia
Robert's Grove Beach Resort Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robert's Grove Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.