We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Robert's Grove Beach Resort to your Saves list
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Placencia Rd, Robert's Grove, Placencia, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon in January and had a great time. We were greeted by Tracy at the front desk who was very couteous and told us everything we need to know. Everytime we passed the front desk, Tracy and JenniLee were always smiling, asking us if we were enjoying our stay and were just being wondeful hosts.
The resort was good value and we had a room with a partial sea view.. only the palm trees blocked some of the view, so in our mind that wasn't a negative. The room was spacious, the bed was huge! We did a tour of cave swimming and a Mayan ruin, we loved it, especially the cave swimming.
We ate in the three restaurants on the resort, and also enjoyed the BBQ on Saturday. The breakfast buffet was ok, we probably would have prefered more fresh fruits. The mexican all you can eat buffet was very good value and very tasty, Sweet Mama's did not really do it for us, we enjoyed the Belizean night but found it odd that when we bought a small drum from one person one of the others got annoyed that we wouldnt buy one from him. The main restaurant was good food, we had lunch here every day and then generally went into Placencia town for dinner.
Overall we had a great stay here, The free wifi did have coverage issues whilst we were there but it just meant moving around the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    169
    55
    29
    8
See reviews for
139
237
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a great experience staying at Roberts Grove. The property is beautiful and the staff goes above and beyond the call of service. When we arrived, we were told that Expedia cancelled our reservation, which we knew nothing about. Upon seeing our disappointment, the staff immediately picked up on this and not only eased our tension but put us up in a villa facing the ocean...the front desk said "we don't want your trip to start off on the wrong foot." What a gesture to offer! And indeed our stay was fantastic. The resort has great amenities and offers tour options too. Great views, food options, atmosphere, drinks, cuban cigars, the ocean, STAFF, and the list goes on. It's a short taxi into town and the hotel has complementary bikes for daytime use. We're so happy we stayed here and cannot wait to return! Thank you all at Roberts Grove for making our trip amazing! PS: Expedia is awful, too many bad experiences, you're better off booking straight through with the hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We travel a lot but have never enjoyed being a tourist...we are not your backpack, rough it kind of travelers. We love a great resort but that usually is follwed by a pushy, rude staff. Roberts Grove had us smiling from the second we got there, it is perfect!! The staff is helpful, and friendly with great suggestions...very attentitive yet still allowing you the "space" to enjoy being on vacation. They understand completely that sometimes it was nice to have the taxi waiting to take you to dinner, but sometimes it is just as exciting to just explore the local resturants for the perfect drink, or great meal. They were smiling, and friendly with a SINCERE personality...when they say "Good Morning" or "Have a Great Day"...it feels like they truly honestly mean it!!! we hit the ball out of the park with this pick and we have already booked our return trip!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Robert's Grove is a beautiful resort full of excitement in the waters they also catores for childre. The resort have three wsiming poolis and the rooms are very comfortable. The food is very excellent, it was a wounderfull experience i will surly return back for another vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms to the south side is quieter, rooms with kitchen and dining area if y want to relax. rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had an amazing stay here!. Our Room was better than what I had anticipated. We had a lovely view over the ocean with a deck. First time I have napped in a hammock in years! The staff are amazing and really attentive to make sure you are enjoying your stay. Enjoyed the trip up the Monkey River, felt it was a bit pricey, but would recommend it. We enjoyed the Mexican Restaurant across the way and tried a few of the restos in town, we would go back in a minute!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Loved the location and service here. Our room was on the second floor, facing the ocean. We kept the windows open the entire time. The staff went out of their way to book us a sail and snorkel trip. Eating in town was easy with the taxi service the hotel arranged, the piña coladas were perfect, and my massage topped off a great vacation.

My only warning is that the continental breakfast that was included in the room rate was very lite. Very little protein and the selection was limited. We ended up ordering our breakfasts off the menu.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms facing the ocean in the main lobby building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had a great time in Placencia. The hotel was fine but not as luxurious as we expected. Food in the hotel was not great so we went to Placecia or Maya beach hotel most nights for dinner. There are three pools but no umbrellas so it gets really hot when the sun is out. The beach is ok, lots of seaweed though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
2.2 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
1.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#6 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Belize Ocean Club
Belize Ocean Club
#5 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#2 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
24.4 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 12 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert's Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Address: Placencia Rd, Robert's Grove, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robert's Grove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the Caribbean coast of the Placencia Peninsula in southern Belize, the award-winning Robert's Grove Beach Resort, is a comfortable, beautifully appointed property set amidst 22 acres of tropical, art-filled gardens and sandy beach that offers easy access to all of Belize's top attractions: The largest Barrier Reef in the Western Hemisphere, lush Rainforest and Maya Ruins. Robert's Grove Beach Resort features 52 air-conditioned beachfront Classic Vista one bedroom rooms, one, two and three bedroom villas, with all the conveniences one would expect from a finer Beach Resort. There are three private beachfront pools and a host of complimentary activities and amenities that include free wireless internet, tennis court, fitness room, bicycles, pedal boats, kayaks, windsurfers and Hobie Cats. The resort offers three distinct and delicious dining venues: The Seaside Restaurant, with its accompanying bar and lounge, overlooking the beach and sea and serves an international menu along with local specialties. Room Service is available from the Seaside Restaurant. Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar, offering a full range of Mexican dishes, overlooking the Placencia Lagoon at the Robert's Grove Marina and Sweet Mama's Restaurant a delight in Belizean home cooking and a unique outdoor setting. The food and beverage team at Robert's Grove Beach Resort also arranges special evenings and cultural programs on a weekly basis, including its famous Saturday Night Poolside BBQ Buffet with local music and dancing as well as Habanero's Tuesday night Mexican Buffet and Sunday Paella special. Romantic dinners atop the resort's thatched rooftop gazebos, private room terraces and thatched palapa at the end of its 225 foot pier offer additional dining pleasures. The Resort's spacious grounds, professional food and beverage capability and fully equipped conference room have made it an especially popular setting for large destination weddings, celebrations and business events. The Resort's Water Activity Center features the most diverse water sport activities in southern Belize: At the Resort's 5-Star PADI Dive Center a highly skilled team of dive instructors and dive masters are on standby for instruction as well as daily trips to the many exciting dive locations in our area. Snorkeling, Fishing and island hopping are available from our luxurious charter boats. We also offer overnight stays at our two privately owned islands. The Resort also operates a wide range of tours and excursions to the rainforest and Maya ruins, including Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve and Monkey River.And after a full day exploring the wonders of Belize's magnificent barrier reef and its tropical rainforest, Robert's Grove offers its guests the opportunity to pamper themselves at the resort's well-appointed "Sea Spa" where skilled therapists provide a wide assortment of massages and spa treatments in indoor and outdoor treatment rooms, using the jungle's best natural herbs and oils. The recipient of the Belize Tourist Board's "Hotel of the Year" (2008), TripAdvisor's "Traveller's Choice Award" (2010) and TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence for 2011, Robert's Grove Beach Resort has long proven its commitment to high standards - both in guest services and its regard for nature and the environment. Known for its natural beauty and quiet luxury, it is the perfect destination from which to enjoy the best of Belize and the beautiful Belizean people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Robert's Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert`s Grove Beach Hotel Placencia
Hotel At Roberts Grove
At Roberts Grove Placencia
Robert's Grove Beach Resort Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robert's Grove Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.