We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vacation !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Inn

Save Saved
You added Turtle Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Turtle Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night FREE !
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Placencia
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Vacation !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a blissful 4 day vacation at the Turtle Inn, it was our second visit this year. This trip we brought our adult children with us and they were blown away, the beach was lovely, the service impeccable everyone from the GM Martin to our server Victor were outstanding. We stayed in the beachside 2 bedroom Pavilion and savored breakfast on our porch overlooking the pool, it was heaven. The food is absolutely delicious fresh eggs and vegetables from the organic garden, local fish on the grill and the best pizza's using Mr. Coppola's family recipe. It was the best trip we have ever had, I highly suggest this fabulous resort for a vacation to remember.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean have amazing views and beautiful cooling sea breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    68
    25
    18
    8
See reviews for
49
195
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greeley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Turtle Inn for 8 days to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We were looking for relaxation, a bit of excitement and luxury. We found ALL at the Turtle Inn. Every detail is carefully considered and perfectly executed. I cannot speak highly enough about the staff, from the General Manager Martin, to house and groundskeepers, everyone their was happy to be there and all had the same goal, to make our stay the best they possibly could. Very well run resort, we are already planning to return! Don't hesitate to committing a trip to Turtle Inn, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We spent 1 week at the Turtle Inn with our 2 college aged children so that we could unplug and relax. We found Turtle Inn to be just what we were looking for. The 2 bedroom villa on the beach was comfortable, with a wonderful view of the beach, great breezes and the sound of the waves lulling us to sleep each night. We loved the thatched roof, Balinese decor and large screened in porch. With no TV and essentially no internet access from the villa, we unplugged, read and chatted. There was internet access from the main restaurant/ building if need be. The beach is well kept, we kayaked and paddled boarded and enjoyed the pool. The staff was attentive and pleasant.
The 2 tours we did through the hotel were interesting and well done. With the Monkey River excursion, the sounds of the howler monkeys in the rain forest were in itself an experience. Terri our guide was well informed and he seemed to know just where to go to give us the best glimpses of the monkeys, birds, and crocodiles. Our full day snorkeling trip was also a hit. The waters were clear, warm and we saw sea turtles, multiple colorful fish, sharks, and a sting ray. Our guide Doran was quite good. The lunch on the very small island surrounded by white beach and the Carribean was great.

I would recommend this resort if you are looikng for something a little less cookie cutter in Carribean resorts, and rustic in all the best ways, There is no air conditioning but between the fans and the breezes and of course the water in the day we were quite comfortable. It is not a hot spot - by 10 pm the main lounge is pretty much vacant. It is quiet and private in a lovely setting. The staff is attentive, there are several dining options and we would especially recommend trying the Rice Table at Mares, Aunt Lubie's one night, and for a fantastic seafood grilled dinner on the beach at the Gaugain. It is also hard to beat having your breakfast delivered to you in the morning while sitting out on your porch watching the wind blow through the palms and the waves hitting the beach.
Finally. the town of Placencia is a very small fishing village. We tried the Rumfish y Vino one night and had great meals of snapper: both the red curry and the plantain encrusted were on the spot. Highly recommend that and the Tutti Fruttii next door- the gelato was as good as we have had anywhere. The Tipsy Tuna was a fun, brightly colored bar/ grill on the beach in town where we enjoyed a cocktail. If you decide to go, do bring bug spray - they are everywhere, but did not deter our fun in any way.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

When you're travelling and depending on your hotel, restaurant, etc. to provide a positive experience, one thing that can't be understated is the value of trust and honesty. You think it would be a given for proprietors and establishments to to be trustworthy and honest, but unfortunately it's not always the case. However, Turtle Inn exceeds in this category. It's not just the management, but the staff as well.

I didn't stay at Turtle Inn, but my encounter with them was so positive I am compelled to right a positive review. My wife and I were robbed at a guesthouse in Placencia, with all of our valuables taken. Money, passports, credit cards, etc. We were left cleaned out and in a real bind as without a passport, we could not return home. After cobbling together the funds to take a bus to Belmopan where we could work with the embassy to get emergency passports, I received an email from Martin Krediet, General Manager, letting me know that one of his staff had found my passport and credit cards on the beach. I planned to hop on the next bus down to Placencia to recover my passport, but instead he put it on a courier plane up to me at no charge the very next morning. His only concern was for our safety and well-being and he hoped to provide at least one positive among an otherwise negative experience.

Some things proprietors can't control - weather, heat, humidity, biting insects outdoors, etc. (it's the tropics after all). However, being around good, honest, trustworthy people can make a challenging situation a little more pleasant. Turtle Inn excelled in making use, non-guests, feel comfortable and taken care of while away from home during a bad situation.

Thank you to Martin and the Turtle Inn crew for helping others in a time of need. Trust and honesty go a long way. I look forward to staying with you next time I am in Placencia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We travel quite a bit, and were very pleased with this property. The location is very private, the staff wonderful and attentive to needs and detail, and the accommodations comfortable with a flair for romance. I was surprised that I had no trouble sleeping without AC, but the breeze and sounds of the ocean were perfect. Every morning, we had a beautiful beach to walk on, and couldn't help but smile about the surroundings,

Food was great every time we ate, whether at the resort, on the dive boat or in the village. We loved our dives - Zane, Bertrand and the rest of the crew were great, and the sites were beautiful.

We definitely intend to return, and could see ourselves doing this on a regular basis.

Room Tip: The seafront cottages are wonderful, with delightful sounds and breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We came here to unwind for four days on the beach after our Mayan adventures through the jungles of Mexico, Guatemala and Belize, and it was not hard to do so. It is a lovely hotel in a lovely spot, staffed by a very friendly and attentive team, who serve lovely food (and, of course, Coppola's wines). Our favourite was the Gaugin Grill, a no-frills set-up on the beach where they grill fresh fish and seafood simply but spectacularly well. We also came here to dive and there too it did not disappoint. We dived and snorkelled on and outside the reef with the hotel's dive crew, run by Bertrand and Zane who after us excellently: we are novice divers and felt safe in their hands. Their shop could not be more convenient - it is based on the lagoon on the other side of the road from the hotel - they have a lovely dive boat, and take you to some lovely places. Be sure to go with them, even if only for a snorkel. The whale shark eluded us - we have a reason to go back, and will - but the dives were sensational: memorable moments included bring accompanied for ten minutes by a pod of dolphins and on another diving with a 150 year old loggerhead turtle.

Room Tip: We were a family of four with two teenagers and took a villa with two rooms. The villa was lovely wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Turtle Inn was our last stop on our journey through Guatemala and Belize and we were ready for the beach! It didn't disappoint. Although the biggest of the three Francis Ford Coppola lodges (25 rooms) it feels very laid-back which belies all the hard work that goes on behind the scenes and almost makes you forget this is definitely a 'luxury' resort. The rooms here are really big and airy with original craft work and a Balinese theme. Each has a large terrace and a big semi-open bathroom leading to a small walled oriental garden with an additional outdoor shower. The whole living area and terrace is screened with fine netting which means there are few insect problems. We slept with the carved wooden doors open so we saw the sun rise and got the breeze from the sea.
It is scarily easy to do not much! Two swimming pools - we often had the adults only one to ourselves; the Laughing Fish beach bar; free bikes; a dive shop and spa over the road; and a beach with hammocks, canoes, and body boards. The service was very good and you felt people cared about doing things well - and with an eco ethos. There's a big main restaurant with the standard Coppola Italian menu and wine list; Aunty Luba's Belizean diner over the road; and (our favourite) the Gauguin beach restaurant, which served simple grilled local fish.
Don't go expecting a string of sandy rural villages, that changed some years ago. Some scary modern developments are springing up along the 26 mile Placencia peninsula and sadly the beach beyond the hotel has way too much rubbish washed up on it. However, Placencia and Seine Bight have retained their character. They are worth the bike ride and give you a glimpse of the reality of daily life in Belize.
We really enjoyed our time at Turtle Inn and would recommend it, especially at the end of a longer holiday in Central America. Thanks to everyone for their kindness.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, airy and beautifully decorated. Maybe avoid the ones around the two swimmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Inn

Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#4 Family Hotel in Placencia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and unspoiled beauty on a pristine white-sand beach.Turtle Inn is a true labor of love. Less than a year after Francis and Eleanor Coppola acquired this beachside refuge in 2001, it was swept out to sea by the forces of Hurricane Iris. Turning disaster into triumph, the Coppolas led a two-year reclamation project, creating a magnificent resort that is consistently ranked among the best in Central and South America.This 25-room seafront hideaway combines natural wonders with luxury style. Accommodations are in individual thatched cottages, decorated with handcrafted Balinese furnishings and naturally cooled by the ever-present sea breezes. Just steps beyond your private deck, the white-sand beach dissolves into the clear Caribbean ocean. In addition, the resort has two infinity swimming pools for enjoying the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Turtle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Hotel Placencia
Turtle Inn Belize/Placencia
Belize Turtle Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.