We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trustworthy and Honest Management and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Inn

Save Saved
You added Turtle Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Turtle Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night FREE !
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Placencia
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Trustworthy and Honest Management and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

When you're travelling and depending on your hotel, restaurant, etc. to provide a positive experience, one thing that can't be understated is the value of trust and honesty. You think it would be a given for proprietors and establishments to to be trustworthy and honest, but unfortunately it's not always the case. However, Turtle Inn exceeds in this category. It's not just the management, but the staff as well.

I didn't stay at Turtle Inn, but my encounter with them was so positive I am compelled to right a positive review. My wife and I were robbed at a guesthouse in Placencia, with all of our valuables taken. Money, passports, credit cards, etc. We were left cleaned out and in a real bind as without a passport, we could not return home. After cobbling together the funds to take a bus to Belmopan where we could work with the embassy to get emergency passports, I received an email from Martin Krediet, General Manager, letting me know that one of his staff had found my passport and credit cards on the beach. I planned to hop on the next bus down to Placencia to recover my passport, but instead he put it on a courier plane up to me at no charge the very next morning. His only concern was for our safety and well-being and he hoped to provide at least one positive among an otherwise negative experience.

Some things proprietors can't control - weather, heat, humidity, biting insects outdoors, etc. (it's the tropics after all). However, being around good, honest, trustworthy people can make a challenging situation a little more pleasant. Turtle Inn excelled in making use, non-guests, feel comfortable and taken care of while away from home during a bad situation.

Thank you to Martin and the Turtle Inn crew for helping others in a time of need. Trust and honesty go a long way. I look forward to staying with you next time I am in Placencia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    67
    24
    17
    8
See reviews for
48
191
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We travel quite a bit, and were very pleased with this property. The location is very private, the staff wonderful and attentive to needs and detail, and the accommodations comfortable with a flair for romance. I was surprised that I had no trouble sleeping without AC, but the breeze and sounds of the ocean were perfect. Every morning, we had a beautiful beach to walk on, and couldn't help but smile about the surroundings,

Food was great every time we ate, whether at the resort, on the dive boat or in the village. We loved our dives - Zane, Bertrand and the rest of the crew were great, and the sites were beautiful.

We definitely intend to return, and could see ourselves doing this on a regular basis.

Room Tip: The seafront cottages are wonderful, with delightful sounds and breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We came here to unwind for four days on the beach after our Mayan adventures through the jungles of Mexico, Guatemala and Belize, and it was not hard to do so. It is a lovely hotel in a lovely spot, staffed by a very friendly and attentive team, who serve lovely food (and, of course, Coppola's wines). Our favourite was the Gaugin Grill, a no-frills set-up on the beach where they grill fresh fish and seafood simply but spectacularly well. We also came here to dive and there too it did not disappoint. We dived and snorkelled on and outside the reef with the hotel's dive crew, run by Bertrand and Zane who after us excellently: we are novice divers and felt safe in their hands. Their shop could not be more convenient - it is based on the lagoon on the other side of the road from the hotel - they have a lovely dive boat, and take you to some lovely places. Be sure to go with them, even if only for a snorkel. The whale shark eluded us - we have a reason to go back, and will - but the dives were sensational: memorable moments included bring accompanied for ten minutes by a pod of dolphins and on another diving with a 150 year old loggerhead turtle.

Room Tip: We were a family of four with two teenagers and took a villa with two rooms. The villa was lovely wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Turtle Inn was our last stop on our journey through Guatemala and Belize and we were ready for the beach! It didn't disappoint. Although the biggest of the three Francis Ford Coppola lodges (25 rooms) it feels very laid-back which belies all the hard work that goes on behind the scenes and almost makes you forget this is definitely a 'luxury' resort. The rooms here are really big and airy with original craft work and a Balinese theme. Each has a large terrace and a big semi-open bathroom leading to a small walled oriental garden with an additional outdoor shower. The whole living area and terrace is screened with fine netting which means there are few insect problems. We slept with the carved wooden doors open so we saw the sun rise and got the breeze from the sea.
It is scarily easy to do not much! Two swimming pools - we often had the adults only one to ourselves; the Laughing Fish beach bar; free bikes; a dive shop and spa over the road; and a beach with hammocks, canoes, and body boards. The service was very good and you felt people cared about doing things well - and with an eco ethos. There's a big main restaurant with the standard Coppola Italian menu and wine list; Aunty Luba's Belizean diner over the road; and (our favourite) the Gauguin beach restaurant, which served simple grilled local fish.
Don't go expecting a string of sandy rural villages, that changed some years ago. Some scary modern developments are springing up along the 26 mile Placencia peninsula and sadly the beach beyond the hotel has way too much rubbish washed up on it. However, Placencia and Seine Bight have retained their character. They are worth the bike ride and give you a glimpse of the reality of daily life in Belize.
We really enjoyed our time at Turtle Inn and would recommend it, especially at the end of a longer holiday in Central America. Thanks to everyone for their kindness.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, airy and beautifully decorated. Maybe avoid the ones around the two swimmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

While the setting is gorgeous, the decor and service are a bit over-the-top for this casual resort. In fact, service was obsequiously intrusive. Unfortunately my main dish (linguine with seafood) had so much basil in it that I had to send it back and ordered a salad instead, which came with watery blue cheese dressing. Given that the prices are on the high side, this was a pretty disappointing experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place, with charming staff, and great food. Rooms are big and fashionable. 3 restaurants, 2 pools, diving center and a nice private beach. Great pizzas cooked in a firewood oven. You can try any of the Coppola wines, because he is the owner of the hotel. And maybe, if you are luckier than us, you'll can meet him. Really close to the airport. Best choice at Belize's coast.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed at TI for 3 nights which IMO wasn't enough time to enjoy the property and town. We had booked 3 nights @ TI and 4 nights @ Blancaneaux and wished we booked more time at TI instead. The staff was very friendly & attentive. The thatched cottages are very roomy and yes, as previous posts mentioned there is really no ultimate privacy since the only thing separating you from the outside are screened in windows w/ plantation type shutters. But hey, isn't that the beauty of being in another country! At least at turndown the staff ensures all the shutters are closed and you don't have to do it yourself. Let's put it this way, if you're shy and have privacy issues, TI is not the place for you. However, if you love complimentary chocolate chip cookies, TI is the place for you since they ensure your room is never w/out it. Also, I highly suggest you don't book a garden view room near the road. It is very noisy and is bothersome. Due to the high season, in order for us to stay the days planned, we had to unfortunately move from a seaview cottage to a garden view on our last night.

The food is great but expensive so I would recommend eating in town -- a big price difference. Although we never had a bad meal. In fact, the best lobster I had was @ Gauguin. The lobster was huge and flavorful and the ambiance very romantic. I don't suggest purchasing a meal plan since there are so many inexpensive places to eat in town and since continental breakfast is complimentary, all you really need to buy is lunch and dinner unless of course a continental breakfast is not your type of breakfast.

I also suggest going through an outside tour company since it's pricey to book tours directly thru TI. As far as property activities, the pool is nice but can become overcrowded and I'm not sure about swimming in the beach since there were jellyfish present. There are complimentary kayaks although they don't have many so at times we had to wait. TI offers a complimentary shuttle to town, a 5 min drive, in the evening starting at 6P until about 9 or 10P. And is not really that far of a walking distance but we wanted to make sure we knew where we were going our first day there.

Definitely bring bug repellant since I was eaten alive by bugs which I didn't even notice existed until after a few days when I started scratching like crazy.

All-in-all, I would definitely return w/out question!!!!

Room Tip: Don't book a garden view room near the road. It is very noisy and is bothersome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Inn

Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Placencia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle Inn 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and unspoiled beauty on a pristine white-sand beach.Turtle Inn is a true labor of love. Less than a year after Francis and Eleanor Coppola acquired this beachside refuge in 2001, it was swept out to sea by the forces of Hurricane Iris. Turning disaster into triumph, the Coppolas led a two-year reclamation project, creating a magnificent resort that is consistently ranked among the best in Central and South America.This 25-room seafront hideaway combines natural wonders with luxury style. Accommodations are in individual thatched cottages, decorated with handcrafted Balinese furnishings and naturally cooled by the ever-present sea breezes. Just steps beyond your private deck, the white-sand beach dissolves into the clear Caribbean ocean. In addition, the resort has two infinity swimming pools for enjoying the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Turtle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Hotel Placencia
Turtle Inn Belize/Placencia
Belize Turtle Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.