We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic vacation spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Turtle Inn to your Saves list
Turtle Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Romantic vacation spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed at TI for 3 nights which IMO wasn't enough time to enjoy the property and town. We had booked 3 nights @ TI and 4 nights @ Blancaneaux and wished we booked more time at TI instead. The staff was very friendly & attentive. The thatched cottages are very roomy and yes, as previous posts mentioned there is really no ultimate privacy since the only thing separating you from the outside are screened in windows w/ plantation type shutters. But hey, isn't that the beauty of being in another country! At least at turndown the staff ensures all the shutters are closed and you don't have to do it yourself. Let's put it this way, if you're shy and have privacy issues, TI is not the place for you. However, if you love complimentary chocolate chip cookies, TI is the place for you since they ensure your room is never w/out it. Also, I highly suggest you don't book a garden view room near the road. It is very noisy and is bothersome. Due to the high season, in order for us to stay the days planned, we had to unfortunately move from a seaview cottage to a garden view on our last night.

The food is great but expensive so I would recommend eating in town -- a big price difference. Although we never had a bad meal. In fact, the best lobster I had was @ Gauguin. The lobster was huge and flavorful and the ambiance very romantic. I don't suggest purchasing a meal plan since there are so many inexpensive places to eat in town and since continental breakfast is complimentary, all you really need to buy is lunch and dinner unless of course a continental breakfast is not your type of breakfast.

I also suggest going through an outside tour company since it's pricey to book tours directly thru TI. As far as property activities, the pool is nice but can become overcrowded and I'm not sure about swimming in the beach since there were jellyfish present. There are complimentary kayaks although they don't have many so at times we had to wait. TI offers a complimentary shuttle to town, a 5 min drive, in the evening starting at 6P until about 9 or 10P. And is not really that far of a walking distance but we wanted to make sure we knew where we were going our first day there.

Definitely bring bug repellant since I was eaten alive by bugs which I didn't even notice existed until after a few days when I started scratching like crazy.

All-in-all, I would definitely return w/out question!!!!

Room Tip: Don't book a garden view room near the road. It is very noisy and is bothersome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    70
    26
    19
    8
See reviews for
52
200
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Went for a lovely dinner. Service was excellent, food was good but the chairs in the dining room are so uncomfortable. As far as I was concerned, it ruined a good evening. Instead of staying longer and drinking some more wine, we couldn't wait to get out. Too bad.. Otherwise a great place.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Gentle breezes, kind and efficient service, lovely archetecture and lush grounds, great swimmingin the sea early in the morning. I loved the quiet of the triangular tranquility pool in the afternoon when the sea breezes and the music from the beach bar got too active. Autie Luba's authentic Belizean food was our favorite, plus it is next to the lagoon where you can sit on the dock quietly reveling is amazing sunsets. Loved the setting and the peascefulness and graciousness of it all.

Room Tip: We had a beachfront villa which was lovely and very convenient to beach, restaurant, pool, etc. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Turtle Inn operates under Francis Ford Coppola’s philosophy: I like simplicity; I don’t need luxury. Of course, achieving the beautiful simplicity of the Turtle Inn is anything but simple. It takes a staff that outnumbers the guests and the expert guidance of general manager Martin Krediet. What they create is a wonderful place to unwind. We recently stayed for a week and came back fully relaxed, although with a touch of sadness about having to leave. Some of the things that made our stay particularly enjoyable were the beautiful oceanfront location, our lovely villa, which included a delightful garden and outdoor shower, dining on the beach and at the Oceanside bar, well prepared food, attentive staff who anticipated our wishes, the chance to catch up on a lot of reading, and the availability of interesting activities such as snorkeling, swimming, and various nature trips. We also enjoyed the fact that this area is very quiet. There are no motor sports off the beach; only the sound of the waves, breezes, and birds. The hotel will help make the quick trip into town where there are other places to dine, interesting galleries, and even a couple of clubs (although we did not explore them). This is not a flashy place with posh rooms, fancy restaurants, and a disco. Instead, it is the perfect place to go when you want to be with family and friends, be outdoors, swim, read, relax, and get away from the bustle of everyday life. This was our second stay here and we look forward to a third.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The Turtle Inn is a beautifully designed resort with an Asian flair. I loved the woodwork and the garden settings throughout. The service was very attentive, the beach was wide and clean and the food was great. It is very refreshing to see that they embraced the history of the property and the staff were able to share the very interesting history (ask about it). The food service staff was very attentive and the restaurant is worth trying even if you are not staying there. Top notch from me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The overall rating of accommodation here depends on location .We had a fantastic villa facing the sea. I would not have been happy in one of the villas at the back of the property near the road.
Meals were of varying quality from very good to poor We ate very well a la carte but came unstuck with an Indonesian Special which was very uninteresting and served lukewarm.
Staff were both courteous and fun.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra for a sea front villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was our first trip to Belize and we traveled throughout the country. This was at the top of the list and we loved everything about the place! It has a very Baliesque feel to it which we love. The property is beautiful and the service was excellent. They really made every attempt to make us comfortable and taken care of. The food at the hotel was excellent and we enjoyed all of it..., the bar had amazing drinks and food, Auntie Luba's was delicious, and the Grill on the beach was amazing. The manager Martin seemed to always be available and really made us feel like special guests. The only downside we experienced were some bug bites from the sand fly...this is not a hotel issue but is just a forewarning if you plan to visit Placencia. We visited the local pharmacy for a local remedy that helped tremendously!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Inn

Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#4 Family Hotel in Placencia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and unspoiled beauty on a pristine white-sand beach.Turtle Inn is a true labor of love. Less than a year after Francis and Eleanor Coppola acquired this beachside refuge in 2001, it was swept out to sea by the forces of Hurricane Iris. Turning disaster into triumph, the Coppolas led a two-year reclamation project, creating a magnificent resort that is consistently ranked among the best in Central and South America.This 25-room seafront hideaway combines natural wonders with luxury style. Accommodations are in individual thatched cottages, decorated with handcrafted Balinese furnishings and naturally cooled by the ever-present sea breezes. Just steps beyond your private deck, the white-sand beach dissolves into the clear Caribbean ocean. In addition, the resort has two infinity swimming pools for enjoying the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Turtle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Hotel Placencia
Turtle Inn Belize/Placencia
Belize Turtle Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.