We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful island, beautiful people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hatchet Caye Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hatchet Caye Resort to your Saves list
Hatchet Caye Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   17 miles offshore, Placencia, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful island, beautiful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I was blessed enough to be able to spend a week in paradise with my partner. it took a bit of traveling to get there but it was all worth it! once we arrived, we were greeted with warm smiles and a refreshing drink. RASTA, my favorite, took us to our cabana and made sure everything was perfect. we took advantage of the island activities that were available. DANIEL hooked me up with a paddle board. RASTA took us out on the hobie cat. SEAN took us snorkeling which was amazing! probably some of the best I've ever done. after checking with the manager, she allowed us to take the boat back into placencia for a few hours while they picked up supplies. WILLIAM took us on the monkey river tour (extra cost) and manatee watching. don't worry about eating. those 3 meals a day were definitely enough and delicious! because it's such an intimate setting, you will interact with other guests which makes hatchet caye a different experience. we met some wonderful people! watching the sunrise/sunset is a must and bring a flashlight because the hermit crabs come out at night....SO DON'T STEP ON THEM!! RASTA, DANIEL, SEAN, ANDY, JUAN (have him make you a blue sky), WILLIAM, DAVE and the other staff......I love them all and so will you. one day we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    19
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
118
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I spent a week out at Hatchet Caye. Its a well run, polished resort near the Silk Cayes off Placencia. The hour long boat ride is rough in the small boat but easy in the larger one. You share the island with about 20 guests and about 10 staff.
The snorkeling off the dock is wonderful, there are lots of water boat toys and diving and day trips are offered. Staff are knowledgeable, the cabanas are very well appointed spacious. Having a massage in the crowsnest with a 360 degree ocean view and breeze is not to be missed.
Food was very good and the open air bar a lovely place to be.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caye Caulker, Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Together with my wife we run the Yoga Retreat production company "Belize Yoga" and have been partnering with Hatchet Caye Resort for the past couple years to host many of our yoga groups. The island is a perfect setting for our retreats in many ways. We love the exclusiveness of a private island plus the remote "away from it all" feeling you get when removed from the noise of the mainland. And you can't beat the proximity to Diving and Snorkel locations such as Laughing Bird Caye, Silk Cayes, and the world famous Gladden Spit.

The intimate size of Hatchet Caye is perfect for our groups which range from 10 - 18 persons. A small island yet so much to do - Snorkel, Scuba, Sail, Fish, Kayak, Paddleboard, Hammocks, Spa Treatments, and of course Yoga :-) Every detail about Hatchet Caye was carefully crafted with minimal impact to the environment. The rooms are beautiful and right on the water. The dining area is stunning and the food is even better - We highly recommend all the lobster plates and lionfish tacos!

Hatchet Caye is a excellent escape for couples and is the perfect location and size for family reunions, fishing groups, scuba retreats, and any other group getaway you can imagine!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I was lucky enough to stay here last month and loved every minute my time here. My only complaint is that I didn't have enough nights here! From there very start the service from Ramona in the Reservations Dept was outstanding, and that continued to the hotel manger (Dasha) on the island right down to the waiters and bartenders. The service was great and everyone was very welcoming. All the food was delicious and came in surprisingly large portions. They really encourage eating lionfish for conservation reasons (they are destroying the marine life on the reef), I tried it and it was really good. A soft white fish, perfect for fish tacos!

As for the hotel itself - WOW. It's located on Hatchet Caye, a 7 acre island located about 17 miles off the coast of Placencia. Despite it's location it is anything but rustic, I couldn't believe all the amenities they have out there. A fresh water pool, volleyball court, bar, great restaurant, and a ton of water toys like kayaks, paddle boats, Hobie catamarans, and snorkeling equipment - all free to use as a guest there! They've built two very sturdy docks, one on each side of the island, so no matter the wind direction you can get out to swim, snorkel, or fish right from the dock. I did all of it - it's very tough to beat a day when you are catching snapper from the dock and snorkeling on a tropical reef literally right in front of your own hotel room. You can even catch bonefish from the dock or directly in front of the restaurant!

The rooms themselves were surprisingly luxurious - AC, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs with DVD player, Nintendo Wii, private baths with hot water showers, and even wifi (it was slow, but c'mon, you are on an island 17 miles out to sea!). In the beach front rooms I never even used my AC, just left the windows open and enjoyed the Caribbean breezes. I can't wait to come back here and would recommend this place to anyone who loves being on the water and wants a unique setting.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blair, Nebraska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Hatchet Caye was without a doubt the absolute best vacation I’ve ever been on. As everyone before me has mentioned this island itself is fantastic, the service and staff are terrific, the views are amazing, the food was awesome, and the snorkeling is incredible.

I traveled with a friend and we stayed in cabana #6 which has 2 double beds. We loved the location of the cabana (very little foot traffic). I strongly suggest this cabana over #4 which has 2 double beds as well. The room was spacious and had it’s own little porch that faced the west. We sat out there watching the sun set beyond the palm trees a couple of different nights. We also sat out on the two beach chairs that were directly in front of the cabana and watched the ocean or read. The only complaint about the room is that you can hear the people in the adjoining room and sometimes they can be loud. Suggestion for visitors to the island: be respectful of the other vacationers and be a little more quiet (do a little less stomping, aka turtle dancing) than you would in a hotel.

I really wanted to relax and do little else but read and enjoy the views and I was fortunate enough to be able to do just that. We also talked to Daniel about a snorkeling how-to session since we really wanted to go but had never been snorkeling. He was a terrific instructor and was extremely patient with both of us during our lesson. If you’ve never been snorkeling and want to try it out, this is the place to do it. We went on the snorkeling tour to the Silk Cayes that was included with our vacation package and did another one to Laughing Bird Cayes that was terrific as well.

We enjoyed the restaurant and the staff there was so accommodating! I loved all of the food we ate and we tested most of the drinks available. David, José, and Juan were so nice and fun! We really enjoyed sitting at the bar and having drinks with the other vacationers and staff.

If you get a chance make sure you get a massage from the crow’s nest. The senses are overloaded and yet it’s extremely relaxing!

Again without a doubt this was the best vacation I’ve ever had. We will definitely be returning (staff - you’ve been warned)!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Our honeymoon was just fabulous. 5/5. The staff was incredibly helpful and pleasant. The food was great. We will tell all our friends about the good time we had. We would not hesitate to stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Gordon and I visited Hatchet Caye at the end of January, 2014 to celebrate our 36th anniversary. We stayed for 3 nights, then continued our vacation at Chabil Mar on the mainland. This was a package provided by both resorts, providing both experiences - land and sea. After an "exhilarating" boat ride from Placentia to the island, we were met with cooling drinks and a pleasant welcome. What a lovely spot...a piece of paradise in the middle of the ocean. We were shown to our bungalow (we had #1, the "Honeymoon Cabana") right next to the snorkelling pier) which was clean, airy and had its own little private beach, hammock and verandah looking out over the sea. There are only 8 or 9 villas on the island, and they are spread around so that each is relatively private and well separated from neighbours. We didn't see anyone else until meal time.

Meals were served in an open-air dining area just a few steps away from our bungalow. The food was amazing! Who knew this little island could serve up such excellent cuisine! Seafood was standard fare, but the menu was varied and carried many other items. There was a distinct Mexican flair to the food (but I love Mexican food!). And the lionfish was superb...waiters Dave and Juan were attentive and pleasant.

We went to Hatchet Caye primarily for the snorkeling, and spent one afternoon on a snorkeling trip to swim with sea turtles and explore some of the barrier reef. It was a wonderful day, the tour guides (Daniel and William) were very knowledgeable and the other guests were fun. The launch even had a bathroom (or "head")! But the snorkeling right off the island was superb as well - such healthy, pristine reefs with a multitude of life. At night, the lights under the pier attract spotted rays, a really cool sight! We have snorkeled the Bahamas, Turks & Caicos, and many other islands, but this was easily better than anywhere else we have been. Kudos to Hatchet Caye on their excellent environmental management.

Room Tip: While we liked the access to the pier from cabana #1, most of our time there was interrupted by gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
0.3 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
2.5 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
#13 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
6.8 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#7 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
22.8 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
7.2 mi away
Belize Ocean Club
Belize Ocean Club
#5 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatchet Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Caye Resort

Address: 17 miles offshore, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#7 Family Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hatchet Caye Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private island on the edge of the Silk Marine Reserve, seventeen miles east of Placencia, Hatchet is on the longest reef in North America. Laugh, love, play, explore, relax, rejuvenate, and dine in the island lifestyle you want. with a mile of private shoreline and word class diving and fishing only minutes away. With a pirates past, a hideaway present, and an environmental future, Hatchet offers unspoiled environment for your unforgettable tropical island experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hatchet Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Caye Hotel Placencia
Hatchet Caye Resort Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatchet Caye Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.