We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful island and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hatchet Caye Resort

Save Saved
You added Hatchet Caye Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hatchet Caye Resort
17 miles offshore, Placencia, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 6 nights pay for 5!
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Placencia
montreal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A beautiful island and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We purchased the living social deal and had a lovely time. This remote island is a paradise and is very well staffed.

Getting to the island was a but of a headache- we had to wait 6 hours (no Pre notification) for our boat as there was a wedding out there as well as other guests arriving in placencia later than us. It was quite frustrating after a long 24 hours of travelling. This was better though once we finally got there and started to relax.

Highlights:
- stunning snorkeling off the dock
- the snorkeling trip
- fried jacks and jam in the morning
- the fish on the menu
- cleanliness of resort
- flexibility of Dasha when we were leaving to make up for arrival!!!
- sunsets and sunrises

Lowerlights:
- menu if you don't eat fish. Not really much veggies- too much fried food
- cabanas are not individual- they are attached to another and you can hear through the walls
- only water & coffee are included- no beverages like juice/soda/etc. bring your own with if ever

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    16
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
96
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

First off, let me start by saying that Hatchet Caye is one of the most beautiful places I've ever been. The open water, the beautiful weather, the reefs, the nearby islands... I really felt like I was on some luxurious private island. It clearly is a bit of a "work in progress" (one part of the island is basically a construction site) but that to me is only a sign of investment and good things to come.

As many other reviews have mentioned, it really is a place where you are on your own. Only 8 cabanas (very new, very nice, and all right on the water), one restaurant (good, but any restaurant you eat at 4 days in a row can get old), and just a few staff (all super friendly) so if you're claustrophobic, be warned. The "fun" gear (Hobie Cats, kayaks, snorkel gear) are in good shape and the area around the island is great for exploration. Note that if you do anything motorized or with a guide, it will cost extra, but the snorkeling trip we took to the Silk Cayes to see giant sea turtles, rays, sharks, tropical fish, etc. was well worth it. Another fun thing was to take the Hobie Cat over to "Fisherman's Island", an island local fisherman use that just happens to be COVERED in conch shells. We grabbed a few big ones to take home... just remember to put them in your checked bags!

We had an excellent time just taking in the sites, lounging at the beach with a book, taking naps, going out in the water, and not being bound by time hardly at all (except when we had a boat to catch for the snorkeling trip). A real highlight was going out on one of the docks at night and seeing all of the sealife attracted to the blue light they have lit up, then going back to our room to fall asleep to the sounds of the waves and the wind. Or, if it's rainy, they even have Wiis in each room with a few games (although we never played it ourselves).

The only downsides to me (besides one big one, which I'll get to):
-The food, while very tasty, does get a bit redundant after a while. It's understandable that they don't have a big menu on an island that caters to about 30 guests at the most, but I did get a bit tired of the food. Be sure to bring supplies (or, if you have time, stop at one of the supermarkets in Placencia between your flight and the boat ride)
-The wifi, when it worked, was great, but it was only off and on. Not really a very big "downside" since you're in the middle of nowhere on vacation, but if you want to stay connected, be warned that it can be spotty
-A few people have already mentioned this, but not quite sure what to tip and if what we tipped was appropriate
-I got a bit chewed up by a lone mosquito in our room. Bum luck for me!

Now the big huge downside: We had a nearly flawless trip to Placencia... our international flight arrived in Belize City early, we got standby on a Maya Air flight to Placencia (although our bags didn't make it, meaning we had to wait for the flight we were originally booked on), and we had time to walk around Placencia and buy supplies. The trouble started when we went to get on the boat, which was a small speedboat with very little room to stay covered. We were warned that the trip, which normally takes 45-50 minutes, would be more like an hour since the seas were choppy. In fact, it turned out to be a 2.5 hour trip in a boat much too small to be transporting people comfortably and at any speed. When we finally arrived we were sore, miserable, and soaked (in clothes that we didn't expect to get wet), and one of our bags had been filled with water. Needless to say we were not in a great mood, and while I believe the staff that they did not expect the waters to be like that and would have sent a different, much bigger boat had they known,, it was still a bad call to send that small boat. I would definitely recommend dressing in clothes that can get wet just in case.

That said, the staff was very accommodating in helping us get settled and helping us replace the 2 items that were destroyed, and we ended up having a wonderful vacation (and made it back to the mainland in choppy waters but in the big boat with no issues).

Overall I would definitely recommend Hatchet Caye to anyone looking for a quiet, peaceful, fun beach vacation. Just don't overstay your stay, it's a VERY small island... 4 days was perfect for us!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is my idea of the perfect vacation. Peaceful location, friendly people, not crowded, no "clock" to manage your time--just pure bliss. The rooms are artfully decorated and each have a view of the sea. You wake up to the sounds of seagulls and the lapping of the waves on the shore. I could have just stayed on the porch of my cabana and been at total peace. Hammocks are all over the island and they have the perfect combination of lounge chairs scattered across the mini private beaches. The food was delicious. Try the lionfish cakes...awesome. Service is at the pace of the island...laid back, friendly, and relaxing. The staff was welcoming and it was easy to see that each member did their utmost to ensure a wonderful vacation. The manager, Dasha, made herself available for any inquiry there was to be made about lodging, accomodations, sports, meals etc. I also want to commend one of her staff members--Rasta. If you are looking to be around upbeat, happy, and genuine people than you have to meet Rasta. I will be going back ... regularly. I finally found a place to "get off the grid".

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Like many we took a chance with the Living Social special and were glad we did. Flew thru a squall in a 12 passenger Maya Air puddle jumper down to Placencia and had to belly up at the Barefoot Bar for a couple hours to wait for the storm to pass. Were told we had to wait until the storm passed before boarding the shuttle boat out to the island and were ready for a couple One Barrel rums after a rough flight. Met some very friendly locals and visitors and the staff arranged to drop us off and pick us back up when they were ready to go.

Once at the island we were greeted by the helpful staff and taken to our room. After dropping our bags we wobbled to the Lionfish bar/restaurant and had a great meal and some Belikins before calling it a night as we arrived in the dark and couldn't see much but the amazing display of stars in the clearing sky.

Once daylight broke we were amazed by the solitude and beauty of this small island. Being a new resort we really didn't know what to expect, but it was just as described. With only 8 rooms Hatchet was a unique vacation experience for us considering you only have a small handful of people sharing this sliver of paradise with you. Watching bonefish tailing right outside our waterfront cottage on the water in the morning was awesome. The food was great and never felt the menu was limited. During the day dive trips, snorkeling with turtles and rays, sailing to the nearby Silk and Fishermans Caye was great. Spending 4 nights on the island was a perfect amount of time to explore the reef surrounding the island and immerse ourselves in the relaxing natural beauty of the Carribbean.

Although there was little orientation given upon arrival, it didn't take long for the staff to answer our questions about daily activities. Watching flocks of eagle rays swoop under the lights of the south dock at night was awesome. Several chartered sailboats would anchor off the island and stay for a night before casting off, but they never impacted the serenity of the vacation. If you have kids, I can see them getting bored after several days, but for a couple looking for some R&R with a bunch of options for exploring the natural beauty of the barrier reef just a short boat ride away, it was a great experience.

The staff helped us schedule a private guided snorkeling trip to the Silk Cays and were more than accommodating to fulfill any reasonable request. Would highly recommend this resort and the location can't be beat to visit some of the better fishing, scuba, and snorkeling sites in Belize. Our thanks to Dasha and the staff (Rasta and Faygan in particilular) for making our stay a memorable one. We hope to be able to come back in the near future!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Great place with very good facilities. Rooms are very comfortable, friendly staff, incredible snorkeling.
One thing to improve is food. Portions are too small (some of us had to ask for a second dish more than once) and when there is a large group, food takes too long to be on the table.
If you like to relax this is the place, otherwise I will suggest to have someone organizing activities for the kids and adults.
I enjoyed my stay but will try something new next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

What an amazing getaway my husband and I had for our 2 year wedding anniversary. It was a bit of a haul getting there (3 planes, and a 45 minute boat ride) but well worth the trip. Wish we had known about this place for our honeymoon.

Pros:
Privacy - it really felt like we had our own mini island. We had our own deck literally right on the water, our own hammock, and our own mini section of the beach.
Activities - We had access to snorkeling gear, diving gear, kayaks, paddle boats, and sail boats that we could use at our leisure on our own time without needing to schedule a trip.
Service - Everyone on the island knew us by name. We dealt mostly with Andy, Carl, and Rasta who were all great and very accommodating. We were able to get a private romantic dinner right on the beach that was beautifully set-up for us
Cost - we had the 4 night living social deal which made the cost well worth it. It included the charter flights within Belize, the boat ride to the island, the cabana, 3 meals daily, all the island activities, as well as a sail boat trip to the silk cayes for some snorkeling.
Room - Was surprisingly very nice and modern. Had little sitting area and bed.

Cons:
Food: Food was decent, but there was one restaurant with one menu, so I felt very limited in my selections. Wish there was a bit more variety. Also food was only from certain hours - so if you miss lunch that ends around 2, there is no food until dinner at 6. Wish there was a snack bar menu or something for in between. We actually bought some snacks which us which was great. Drinks are always available.
Nightlife: There is none here, so if that's what you're looking for, look elsewhere. For us it was great as we were only looking for day activities and relaxation, we were so exhausted by the end of the day that we relaxed a bit on our deck with the cool breeze and went to bed.
Tipping: Difficult to determine where your tip goes or how to tip properly. Asked a few times, and did not really get a clear answer.
Charter Flight: only have certain times available, so you may be waiting at the airport for your connecting flight for quite a while.
Cost: We had the living social deal, and were never really told what wasn't included. There are trips scheduled during the day to see turtles, or go diving and these are all at an additional cost.
Beach: Beautiful, but a but rocky and difficult to actually swim in

Overall an amazing place, wish the living social deal offered a 6 or 7 night stay as 4 night just wasnt enough. Would highly recommend it and I'm very picky!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

First things first, we loved it so much we have already scheduled to go back! If we could have stayed here all 7 nights of our honeymoon we would have, but wanted to see a few other things. However, once we left we longed to be back. =) I don't think there is to much that I can add that others have not commented on. I will just hit some highlights that I noticed had not been mentioned....

The menu, 3 meals, and they are from 7-9am, 11-2pm, and 6-9pm. If you like to snack bring stuff with you. At first, we were not sure we were going to like the location as we arrived at 3pm and had missed lunch, so we had to wait until 6pm for dinner. Also, not everything is always available that is on the menu. The island relies on shipments from the mainland, so if they can't get somthing, like tomatos, they won't make the ceviche. They also don't have dessert every night. Dessert is available based on the chef's ability to get it prepared between lunch and dinner. However, of the 4 nights we were there, we had dessert 2 nights. The dessert both nights was the same thing as they only offered one option.

Bring an underwater camera if you can! The snorkeling around the island is wonderful.

Take the snorkeling trip to Turtle handout...wonderful encounter with the sea turtles, rays and we even saw a shark. Fegan and Walter at the activity center are great.

We loved the staff and would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: as everyone else has said, Cabana #1 is the most convenient to everything; however, it is right next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hatchet Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Caye Resort

Address: 17 miles offshore, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#10 Family Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private island on the edge of the Silk Marine Reserve, seventeen miles east of Placencia, Hatchet is on the longest reef in North America. Laugh, love, play, explore, relax, rejuvenate, and dine in the island lifestyle you want. with a mile of private shoreline and word class diving and fishing only minutes away. With a pirates past, a hideaway present, and an environmental future, Hatchet offers unspoiled environment for your unforgettable tropical island experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hatchet Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Caye Hotel Placencia
Hatchet Caye Resort Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatchet Caye Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.