We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Coffee in Town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Above Grounds Coffee

Above Grounds Coffee
Main Road South end of Village | past football, (soccer),field, Placencia, Belize
+501 634-3212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 60 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Above Grounds Coffee has established a direct connection with small independent farmers in Antigua, Guatemala. Hand-picked, processed & roasted by small family operations. Their 100% mountain grown and 100% Arabica coffee beans are shade grown, hand-picked and then processed to organic standards. All fields meet elevation requirements for Strictly Hard Bean (SHB) grade and some meet the Fancy (F) grade. These two top grades (Fancy and SHB) total less than 2.5% off all coffee produced globally!
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Cute little place and if you're on the front porch there's a little ocean breeze blowing through. By far the best coffee in town and the owner (Keith) and staff are always helpful and friendly. I was in town for a week and I had coffee and a banana muffin probably 3 of the mornings... Usually a nice group of locals or ex-pats willing to talk. Check it out...and you can even buy the beans if you want to bring some of the coffee home with you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    44
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Decent coffee drinks. Baked goods (i.e. bagel) not that great. Out of their juices when we were there.

Internet access, fine.

I like the design of it, kind of has a tree house feel, but there is nothing about it that makes me want to rush back there.

If I'm dying for some caffeine and I see it, I'll stop. Otherwise I'll head to Brewed Awakenings up the street.

Also, service was not overly friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Wife and I had coffee there while in Placencia, the made a great cafe latte and the price was very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

great place to sit and enjoy wonderful iced coffee! with Internet access, we bought some coffee beans to bring home they are delicious!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

So refreshing to have a hot, great cup of coffee! The view was really nice from our perch, and the fresh orange juice was a plus. A bit pricey but overall worth it. I say try it out!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Above Grounds Coffee also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Above Grounds Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Above Grounds Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.