We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Above Grounds Coffee

Above Grounds Coffee
Main Road South end of Village | past football, (soccer),field, Placencia, Belize
+501 634-3212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 60 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe, Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Above Grounds Coffee has established a direct connection with small independent farmers in Antigua, Guatemala. Hand-picked, processed & roasted by small family operations. Their 100% mountain grown and 100% Arabica coffee beans are shade grown, hand-picked and then processed to organic standards. All fields meet elevation requirements for Strictly Hard Bean (SHB) grade and some meet the Fancy (F) grade. These two top grades (Fancy and SHB) total less than 2.5% off all coffee produced globally!
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delicious coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Above Grounds Coffee seems to have the best coffee in Placencia. Only complaint i have is they don't have half-half cream and use 2% milk instead. Healthier I suppose but not the same. Still awesome coffee... :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    44
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

On a recent trip to Placencia, we discovered this gem and boy were we glad. It was a mandatory stop every single morning for a Coco Cafe, which uses coconut cream as opposed to regular cream in the iced latte. AMAZING! A must try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best coffee in Belize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I feel this is the best coffee I have had while In Belize . Starbucks dont have anything on these guys.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to have a cup of Joe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you find yourself in the village of Placencia and you need to get your daily cup of Joe, this is the place to be. It a set in an authentic little village house covered by great shade trees. They also offer pastries like bagles, banana cakes etc. The coffee is also very good and the prices are reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"A Stroppy Scotsman is Better than Starbucks Anyday"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I went on holiday in Placencia recently with my son, my daughter and her boyfriend.

The boyfriend had been searching out the best places to go on the internet, and one particular thing he said he had searched for was for Starbucks - as he needs his coffee in the morning to get going.

So each morning during our 3 days in Placencia we went to the nearby Above Grounds coffee shop. Normally we were the first people in and sometimes the owner, Keith, hadn't even managed to get his first cup of coffee in before we got there. It didn't matter he made us very welcome and served us then carried on to make his own.

This coffee shop has a good choice of reasonably priced hot and cold coffees, a few bites to eat along with your coffee - if that is all the breakfast you are having and free Wi-Fi.

When I asked my daughter's boyfriend if he was still searching for Starbucks, he said "No..A Stroppy Scotsman is Better than Starbucks Anyday". Please note that I am a Scotsman too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Above Grounds Coffee also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Above Grounds Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Above Grounds Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.