We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Wonderful spot for great coffee and great conversation-very relaxing!”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Above Grounds Coffee

Above Grounds Coffee
Main Road South end of Village | past football, (soccer),field, Placencia, Belize
+501 634-3212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 60 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Above Grounds Coffee has established a direct connection with small independent farmers in Antigua, Guatemala. Hand-picked, processed & roasted by small family operations. Their 100% mountain grown and 100% Arabica coffee beans are shade grown, hand-picked and then processed to organic standards. All fields meet elevation requirements for Strictly Hard Bean (SHB) grade and some meet the Fancy (F) grade. These two top grades (Fancy and SHB) total less than 2.5% off all coffee produced globally!
Tehachapi
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““Wonderful spot for great coffee and great conversation-very relaxing!””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Just a few blocks from the beach you'll find a fantastic spot for coffee and a snack. A truly comfortable and relaxing spot for enjoying wonderful conversation or sitting back and reading while having a great cup of coffee! A definite coffee lover's must if you're in Placencia!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    44
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Belize....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Above grounds coffee is so yummy!! We stopped by to check it out and it is the cutest spot... It is like a treehouse and they have indoor and outdoor seating... I got a latte and I was extremely impressed with how good it was! I am a Starbucks drinker and this is just as good and maybe even more... I certainly got a boost of energy! If you are visiting placencia you have to make a point to stop by... Also a great place to sit and relax and check your emails... I highly recommend!!! I think you can also purchase a bag of coffee to take back to your room...

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Coffee and Muffins anyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We just returned from a great 9 days in Placencia and 7 of those were spent having coffee every morning at Above Grounds.Keith the owner is a Hoot Mon,and the coffee is the best .Great place to meet people while sipping coffee on his tree house type deck.For all you tourists that miss your Timmies or Starbucks this is the place to be.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

The coffee was really good, but the pastry I had was not good. It was too dense.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Keith is a wonderful guy. Not only does he serve the best coffee around in Placencia, he is also very helpful when you have questions or when you need to organize something (he went out of his way to organize a sunset sail for us, thanks again!). We loved sitting out on his deck, enjoying the coffee and just letting the day slide by while watching the little geckos run up and down the trees behind Above Grounds Coffee.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Above Grounds Coffee also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Above Grounds Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Above Grounds Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.