We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pina Coladas!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Purple Space Monkey Bar & Grill - CLOSED

The Purple Space Monkey Bar & Grill
Placencia Village, Placencia R0C 3A0, Belize (Formerly Jake's Purple Space Monkey)
5015233169
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Fun and funky in the daytime, with fresh, light lunch options and a family vibe, in the evening gourmets can indulge their individual tastes with Executive Chef Rick Labonte's World menu based on local and organic ingredients and savours, often with a trademark twist. Our attentive staff will make your romantic, celebration or large group dining pleasure their priority, from presentation through to great service. Right in the centre of downtown Placencia, over from the ball-field, our airy and open-plan dining room and smaller terraces are perfect for people-watching or that intimate dinner-for-two...while the superbly-stocked bar will fix everything from beers through fine wines to exotic or Caribbean cocktails...
Escondido, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Pina Coladas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great food and restaurant! Loved the out door feeling. Grandkids bought Purple Space Monkey tee shirts!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    52
    27
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice low key, friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our kids were in the mood for sushi and this was the only place we saw in Placencia that had some sushi. our server was great. The food was good. They even had live music which added to the great atmosphere. It doesn't hurt either that they are directly across the way from Tutti Fruiti :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rude Owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The bartender was very sweet and the food wasn't so bad but my fiancé and I chose to leave with our food Togo. The owner talked about his staff (in front of his staff),with extremely racist language, loud enough for the whole place to hear. I was uncomfortable and felt horrible for everyone in his staff and refuse to return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Low key and quite good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

we went here twice (the second time because the place we had originally planned on going to closed early on sunday night) . The food was good, but what won us over was the low-key and friendly atmosphere, the open and airy feeling and the excellent service. and yes, by all means go to the gelato place next door for desert.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Average Touristy Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

To be fair, half of the peninsula are touristy bars but this one was particularly average. My wife and I stopped in to grab a drink and the place was full of either cruise ship passengers or some sort of other large, organized group. Consequently the service was slow so we decided to leave after our first Belikin and not return the rest of the trip.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purple Space Monkey Bar & Grill also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Purple Space Monkey Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.