We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Let the Name Scare You Off” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Purple Space Monkey Bar & Grill - CLOSED

The Purple Space Monkey Bar & Grill
Placencia Village, Placencia R0C 3A0, Belize (Formerly Jake's Purple Space Monkey)
5015233169
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fun and funky in the daytime, with fresh, light lunch options and a family vibe, in the evening gourmets can indulge their individual tastes with Executive Chef Rick Labonte's World menu based on local and organic ingredients and savours, often with a trademark twist. Our attentive staff will make your romantic, celebration or large group dining pleasure their priority, from presentation through to great service. Right in the centre of downtown Placencia, over from the ball-field, our airy and open-plan dining room and smaller terraces are perfect for people-watching or that intimate dinner-for-two...while the superbly-stocked bar will fix everything from beers through fine wines to exotic or Caribbean cocktails...
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't Let the Name Scare You Off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a nice small restaurant w/bar; food was good and service was great. Their shrimp ceviche is very tasty. If you're a bit tired of the traditional Belizian food, they also serve really good pizza here. Definitely recommend eating at The Purple Space Monkey.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    52
    26
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice variety and fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have been here several times and enjoy the atmosphere and food at this establishment. The food is always market fresh. Killer pizza and sushi!! The service's are courteous and attentive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not bad...room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We ate at the Purple Space Monkey last week while on vacation. We have been to Belize 3 times and each time we are in Placencia we giggle at the name and think we should try it, so this time we finally did.

It was not bad, just not outstanding. The service was decent, the drinks were good but the food was average and I didn't feel it was anything I could not have prepared myself or got somewhere else. I like to explore restaurants to get some unique and authentic experiences and this one fell a bit flat.

I would likely not go back and would try something else instead...

Cheers!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Above Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We visited a few times while on vacation in Placencia.

Sheldon the bartender was super friendly and quick with the drinks and helpful tips about the area. We were kind of a high-maintenance group of 6 and had drinks and food (nachos, quesadillas, ceviche) and it was always fast, fresh and flavorful. The drinks were also pretty fast, cold and served with a smile!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norris, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Typical tourist restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We ate lunch at this restaurant and the service was very good. The food, however, was just fair, although we did enjoy the green salad, a welcome dish after being in Belize for 10 days. Our pizza was typical run of the mill thin crust pizza with sparse, too finely chopped ingredients and minimal tomato sauce. One item that made it better was picking sprigs of basil from the branch that adorned our table.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purple Space Monkey Bar & Grill also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Purple Space Monkey Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.