We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Placencia.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dawn's Grill N Go

Dawn's Grill N Go
Main Street | Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
501-523-4079
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 60 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
1 review
“Best meal in Placencia.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Looking take advantage of as much of the Belizean cuisine at hand, we came through for dinner after having passed by during lunch and getting wafts of the most alluring smell of Dawn's grilled lunch specials. And with grilled shrimp on the menu, my guy was sold on Dawn's for dinner. Having a seat on the open-air porch, we were greeted by the server as well as Dawn, the owner and chef, who was very warm and welcoming, as if she were inviting us into her home. I ordered her pork chops, he got his shrimp. The chop was incredible; with grilled onions and a mushroom sauce (a light sauce, not heavy as you might think) the pork chop was juicy alone, and with the onion/mushroom finish, was deliciously brilliant. And as for the grilled shrimp, not only were they decadent, but the first shrimp we've had that were not overcooked. We finished the shrimp off with Dawn's homemade habanero sauce, which does not only pack heat but much flavor. And she has bottles of her sauce for sale - highly suggested. When in town looking for lunch or dinner, Dawn's must be on the list.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    65
    11
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch Good - DInner Not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had lunch that Dawn's Grill N Go when we first arrived. Good lunch food. Dinner was lamb and it was lack luster.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have eaten breakfast more than once at Dawn's Grill n Go. Excellent Belizean breakfast and fry jacks! Highly recommend. Dawn, the owner, is very friendly. Patty was a very attentive waitress. Don't miss eating here when you visit Placencia Village.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go to Dawn's Grill 'n Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We ate at Dawn's Grill 'n Go several times on our first trip to Placencia in June 2009 and returned again when we were there in June/July 2013. The food the first time was amazing and even better the second trip. Dawn added a gazebo type dining area which made it even nicer to eat there. Dawn's is a place you really must visit if you like good food and a great value!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia
1 review
“Best in Placencia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Dawns is delicious! Especially great for the picky eaters, her seasoning is wonderful and lights up every dish. Fried fish sandwiches, lobster, even the chicken tenders are far above average. Dawn is very sweet and even made her very sought after 'esceviche' soup for us on a Wednesday night. Generally she serves this delicious soup on Tuesdays only and we hear she has a line out the door! Must eat at Dawns at least once while in Plancencia, you will want to do it early in your trip because you will definitely want to go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawn's Grill N Go also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Dawn's Grill N Go? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dawn's Grill N Go, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.