We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dawn's Grill N Go

Dawn's Grill N Go
Main Street | Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
501-523-4079
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 56 Restaurants in Placencia
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Olathe, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simple and good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

One of the best budget diners in Placencia. Be sure to take home some of Dawn's home made hot sause

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    50
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Belize
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food Enjoyable Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Simply very good food a must visit. Been there many times and and havent had a bad meal yet. Dawn is a very pleasant person to talk to.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conroe
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“guess we are the only ones to get a bad lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

we visited placencia for a day trip from hopkins and we where standing outside looking at the menu and what they offered for lunch. a couple in a golf cart told us the food was very good and we should try it . so we went inside and saw a plauge from trip advisor for a excellent rating in 2011. so how could we go wrong. they where about to close from lunch and maybe that was the problem. we both ordered the pork sandwich that the couple said where very good what we got was a two small very dry pork sandwichs on some very stale hamburger buns. we only ate their once and everybody else says the food is great but just because it is close to closing we should not get what was left in the kitchen it would have been better to say we are closed for lunch than to try and make a few extra bucks and serve bad food

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAWNP44, Owner at Dawn's Grill N Go, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
I am very sorry that someone thought of our food in that way. It almost made me feel as if they were pushed by someone who wanted to spoil our very good reputation. Well, it shows, we would have never gotten all these good reviews if we were serving bad food. Wish there were a way to erase that bad review. Dawn"s grillngo will keep on providing great food and service to all our faithful customers and new visitors. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Got to Love this little Main st. Eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Love the place, Dawn is a great cook and very friendly !!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Authentic Belizean Food and Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

For a real taste of Belizean food Dawns Grill and Go is the place to stop. The food is fresh with a taste for healthy options including rice and beans instead of fried; a fresh garden salad; and grilled rather than deep fried.

While the food is fantastic, it is the experience of feeling like you have been invited to Dawn's home for a home cooked meal (which it is as she cooks all meals with her home recipes). Dawn took the opportunity to check in with each guest to see how your meal is and then for a few lucky folks she sits down and shares some of her family stories. Be sure to ask her about her dads displeasure of keeping guests in line at his own restaurant (feet on the table).

You leave not only after a good meal but feeling like you made a friend. Thanks Dawn for opening up your home and sharing with us.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawn's Grill N Go also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Dawn's Grill N Go? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dawn's Grill N Go, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.