We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous owner with food and hotsauce that you simply can't beat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dawn's Grill N Go

Dawn's Grill N Go
Main Street | Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
501-523-4079
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 56 Restaurants in Placencia
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous owner with food and hotsauce that you simply can't beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Currently sitting in my hammock on the Belizean coast of Placencia after enjoying Dawn's for breakfast...It happens to be the third time we have eaten there in just as many days. Breakfast and lunch have been uncompareable to the food and service you find in the states, Dawn has got to be the friendliest hostess and best cook around. We bought a number of her hotsauces and sat and chit chatted with her about the locals and life on each visit...seriously hard to beat the kind of service and an owner who is enjoyable and fabulous is every way! It is a must stop when visiting!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    50
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, nice people, casual and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Dawn is a great cook but on weekends her husband Nick BBQs - BBQ chicken, jerk chicken, pork steaks, lamb ribs, sausage, etc. served with her addictive coleslaw - I've been a regular January - March, 2011

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We happily stumbled upon Dawn's on our first full day in Placencia and Belize. It was here where we first encountered the graciousness and friendliness of the Belizeans as seen through Dawn, the proprietor. She was quite busy with guests coming for a sit down meal as well as locals taking full meals to go but found the time to talk with us, in earnest, and not just because we were her customers. Her food was excellent. The fish we add, side dishes and juices were sooo good. I didn't worry about the hygiene or whether my American stomach would be impacted. And, on the weekends her husband comes down from corporate america in Belize City to man the grill out front. Equally as friendly. Dawn escaped from her accountant job in Belize City after raising three kids and carved out her own paradise in the same town where she once lived and her father also owns a restaurant.. She also added a front deck with a roof and sides all carved out of local woods. So glad we found this.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Diminutive little gem with great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

My wife and I vacationed in Placencia Village for 9 days in January. Before we left, we read reviews of the local eateries in the Village. Dawn's was not listed. We stumbled upon this little gem one afternoon as we were walking down the main (only) street. Fronting right on the street, it's a small restaurant with about 4 or 5 tables on an outside covered eating area. She is the daughter of the owner of the "Galley", further down the road. She serves great food at very reasonable prices. Dawn comes out of the kitchen and visits with the guests at every opportunity and is a real pleasure to chat with. We noticed that all of the restaurants we visited in Placencia Village are layed back and never pushy to get you out when you are done eating. In fact, they never even bring you the check until you ask them for it! So, we highly recommend Dawn's Eat N Go as a great place to eat. Don't miss her fresh lobster when in season!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawn's Grill N Go also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Dawn's Grill N Go? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dawn's Grill N Go, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.