We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shak

The Shak
Bishop Walk (The Sidewalk), Placencia, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 60 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks
NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband ordered a seaweed shake with a jerk chicken fry jack & I had a curried veggie burger. Both meals were flavorful & served with a delightful pineapple slaw. His fry jack was filled with jerk chicken, rice & beans & cheese. Delicious! His seaweed shake, which is pretty much identical to a drink Jamaicans call "Irish Moss" was thick & delicious. It's a blend of sea moss, milk, nutmeg & sweetener. It's very yummy & good for you. My curry veggie burger was tasty, tho I didn't eat the bun because it was too thick for me. We'll definitely be back to try more of the items on their extensive menu!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    60
    19
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gotta have the Stuffed Fry- Jacks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Suprise meal at this lovely little place right near the water at the end of the main street. The stuffed fry-jacks (egg, black bean and sausage) were outsanding! Also- the fruit smoothies were the best I've ever had. Ingredients were fresh and flavorful. (mango especially). Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Shak is a great little restaurant with a nice view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had Shak for lunch one afternoon and ate the jerk chicken nachos and the jerk chicken wrap. The portions were huge and the food was delicious! We also had 2 smoothies which were excellent! Very reasonably priced and delicious food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, View, & Smoothies!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We ate here three times on vacation. Each time we ordered different items and they were all equally excellent!!! It is a gorgeous view of the sea as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Seaweed Shake, Average Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stopped in to The Shak for a light lunch. Nice location right by the new pier and marina. Seaweed shake was excellent, very tasty. Fritters on menu, but neither conch or lobster available. Had jerk chicken nachos, were OK, nothing special. Green salad with chicken was decent, tiny pieces of chicken, a bit on the stingy side.

Worth a return trip for the seaweed shake alone............

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shak also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to The Shak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.