We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Cultural Food in a open atmosphere on the edge of the Sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shak

The Shak
Bishop Walk (The Sidewalk), Placencia, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 56 Restaurants in Placencia
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Lunenburg, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fresh Cultural Food in a open atmosphere on the edge of the Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It was a pure delight to dine at The Shak. Watch the fishermen bring in just caught fish while enjoying the view of the sea under a covered outside casual dining area. Fresh ceviche, fresh made juices and smoothies. Gotta try the stuffed jacks served with pineapple coleslaw! Awesome good! All day breakfast. Everything local and fresh made! Kudod to thr chef and staff. This place is made with love and you will love the prices too! As the saying goes.."U gotta eat here!"

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    42
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice place with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Nice little place at the ocean. Relax, have a drink and share some nachos or quesadillas :)
Friendly and charming staff and owner. For sure worth a visit or two .....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I loved the smoothies here and the view of the ocean. This was the best place for me to relax and get a treat. Don't calorie count, just enjoy and experience. I don't eat dairy, they made it dairy free for me. You can then walk on the beach. Very relaxing and colorful. I only had the smoothies and made that a daily ritual while I was there.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

On our first bike trip into town, we had lunch at The Shak. Simple, inexpensive and delicious food with a good bar. The owner was charming, and gave us a tour of the property and filled us in on town lore. Worth a repeat visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummmy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

What can you say about a place that serves you a icey smoothy at the hottest time of the day! They are so good and just so smooth. The owner Magna is very very nice and so are the staff. With 24 different flavors for smoothies made with fresh fruit I say this is a must.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shak also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to The Shak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.