We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shak

The Shak
Bishop Walk (The Sidewalk), Placencia, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 56 Restaurants in Placencia
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Norwalk CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

On our first bike trip into town, we had lunch at The Shak. Simple, inexpensive and delicious food with a good bar. The owner was charming, and gave us a tour of the property and filled us in on town lore. Worth a repeat visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    42
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummmy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

What can you say about a place that serves you a icey smoothy at the hottest time of the day! They are so good and just so smooth. The owner Magna is very very nice and so are the staff. With 24 different flavors for smoothies made with fresh fruit I say this is a must.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I really enjoyed this little place. I tried various items on the menu and really enjoyed the coleslaw with a pineapple vinaigrette. The service was also good and I found the place clean too. And good prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Smoothie and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I saw the reviews for The Shak and thought I'd try it out. It's not in the main area with everything else but it was only about a 4 minute walk from my room. The grilled chicken sandwhich was delicious and the pineapple coleslaw though I can't say why, was quite yummy as well. The Classico smoothie was in a class by itself! I have a favorite smoothie place at home and this was a lot better. I will be going back for more during my stay! YUM!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

great food with great service and beautiful location. the people that work here are fantastic, and very helpful!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shak also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to The Shak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.