We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best smoothies EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shak

The Shak
Bishop Walk (The Sidewalk), Placencia, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 56 Restaurants in Placencia
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best smoothies EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Top choice in town for breakfast and a smoothie. Really enjoyed the French toast and have to say the Co Co Colada smoothie was my favourite. Not to say the others aren't great because they are.....all that great fresh fruit combined in the ultimate refreshing frozen drink! Sit and watch the fishermen coming in with the catch of the day or enjoy the antics of the pelicans on the pier. It's all good!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    42
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklin, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Heart Healthy on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The Shak is more than a shak located on the beach, it is a delightful place to enjoy all natural FRUIT smoothies or a nice heart healthy sandwich. The fruit smoothies are out of this world. I think this is due to the fact that Belize has some of the best soil and everything from Mangoes to papaya's not to mention banana's and oranges taste incredible!!!! This is what The Shak uses in it fruit smoothies....pure goodness!!!
The shak is a wonderful place to have breakfast or lunch. I enjoy the Huevos Rancheros for breakfast.......
Give the shak a try if you are health conscious .....or just want some pure goodness!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful location... huge menu of healthy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Right on the bay, this little open air restaurant serves breakfast all day, smoothies and a fun, casual menu. My son had a pineapple mikshake, I had one of their delicious smoothies and a jerk fish sandwich, my husband had breakfast. Just delightful.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Smoothies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We visited the Shak multiple times for smoothies. Many options of smoothies to choose from. We ate breakfast there one day. The food was good but the service was less than impressive. Prices are very reasonable and the fry jacks are tasty.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful local food for lunch and beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stopped in for lunch with our kids. We had seaweed shakes and some other tropical smoothies. This is a local place - right on the beach. We ordered wraps and some mexican fare. The food was amazing and big portions. If you are in Placencia, you should definitely stop here for lunch to get a local flare. I recommend it highly. The food takes a bit of time but it is fresh and worth the wait. You can enjoy the view while you are sipping your drinks and waiting on the food!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shak also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to The Shak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.