We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leftover food at a PRIME price” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Quarterdeck Restaurant & Bar

The Quarterdeck Restaurant & Bar
Placencia Peninsula, Placencia, Belize
800-890-8010
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 58 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and drinks, our open-air restaurant and bar is the perfect place to have a big family meal, grab a beer with a friend, or enjoy a romantic date. From breakfasts of fresh tropical fruit and eggs to casual lunchtime sandwiches to decadent three-course dinners, all of our meals use the freshest local ingredients. And when you're thirsty for a drink, we offer a variety of wine, beer, and cocktails for you to enjoy.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Leftover food at a PRIME price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ok so after having wonderful food at every restaurant we had already eaten at we decided to refer to trip advisor for our final meal in Placencia...seemed this was going to be a great choice...well...it is a beautiful place with severs that seemed bothered we were there...( we were one group of 5 people out of maybe 12 in the whole place) The Chef had to make a special dinner for 2 of us as we are vegetarians and they did not have much of anything on the menu...it was ok. But the problems came from everyone else's food being "leftovers that seemed to be reheated not freshly cooked..rubbery food. My husband could not even eat his meat in the tacos because it was too tough. When the waiter asked if it was ok my husband said it was not good...The waiter took his plate. The other two meals were chicken dishes that had to be sawed with a knife just to eat it. This was only the beginning...when we got our check they had not even discounted the taco dinner ( $32.00) that was uneddible. Then they tried to short me $10.00 on my change...the waiter did not apologize just got me the additional change. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND this place unless you want to pay over $180.00 for 5 people to get ignored, cheated and horrible leftovers.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaruBeya, Manager at The Quarterdeck Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We at Quarterdeck regret that you did not enjoy a pleasurable dining experience at our restaurant. We are however greatly surprised by your post.

Firstly, our staff are well known for their friendliness and willingness to assist all guests, This is the first incident of staff indifference that I have ever encountered.

Secondly, we do not have a vegetarian menu, but upon being informed that vegetarian dishes were ordered, our executive chef came to your table to discuss various options with you. The vegetarian dishes were prepared and served exactly to your specifications.

Thirdly, we do not serve “leftovers that seem to be reheated”. All of our dishes are prepared from scratch, and only by using the finest quality ingredients. Upon being informed that your husband found the meat on his tacos tough, the waiter offered to replace his dish with any other off our menu. Your husband declined. We did not offer any discount on this item as more than two thirds of the dish had been consumed. Nobody else complained about their meal whatsoever. In fact, all the plates were empty when the waiter cleared your table.

Please note that all of our meat, poultry, seafood, vegetables and all other consumables are sourced from only the best suppliers in Belize.

Fourthly, the $10 short change was simple human error.

Finally, we are of the opinion that you were not “ignored, cheated and served horrible leftovers”. We are still upset that you did not enjoy our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    21
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic meals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Oh man, this food! It was all so delicious! We ate here at least once very every meal and enjoyed it all. The smoothies are fantastic and available any time during the day, even though they are listed on the breakfast menu. The service was wonderful and the prices amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Almost missed out on this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I visited Placencia last week and after reading the reviews we couldn't wait to try Quarterdeck. Sadly, we discovered the night we walked over for dinner they were closed for remodeling. Luckily, they re-opened at 7:00 a.m. the morning we left so we ate breakfast. The breakfast burrito was HUGE and the tortilla was homemade! We bought one to take on the plane with us. The view is beautiful and just like everywhere else we visited in Placencia the people are friendly and the service is top-notch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“We love the Quarterdeck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I have now stayed at Laru Beya for a week each of the last three years, and we always have most of our meals at the Quarterdeck -- because it's just consistently great food. I can say with certainty that we have never had a disappointing meal here. The breakfasts, lunches, and dinners are all good, the service is great, the bar and drinks are wonderful. This year, a shout out to Alicia, Luigi, Ana, and Trenel, but everyone who assists in any way contributes to a fine experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We ate here 3 or 4 times and I really enjoyed the food and great service. We were staying at Robert Groves resort and the restaurant was right next door. I was happy to see the restaurant had salads. We found it to be reasonable in pricing also

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quarterdeck Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to The Quarterdeck Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quarterdeck Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.