We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and comfortable home for a month!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Placencia Belize

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Placencia Belize
Save
You added Casa Placencia Belize to your Saves list
Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Placencia B&B and Inns
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great and comfortable home for a month!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed for a month at Casa Placencia while looking for a long-term home in the area. Jacki was so wonderful helping us every step of the way. Our one bedroom unit was very comfortable and the mattress was brand new and awesome. Anything we needed, a soup ladle, and extra pan, advice on where to buy things, Jacki was the one to ask. She was so helpful with nice beach bikes for all the guests to use around town, she made us feel like family. We even had a potluck dinner on the balcony one evening and visited with others from all over the world! Since we were relocating to Placencia, it was perfect having a knowledgeable resident to help make our transition go smoothly.
It was so cute to have a mockingbird every morning right outside our sliding glass door, talking to his reflection, so we didn't even need an alarm clock!
I also appreciated that during our stay, Jacki was having the whole place freshly painted and landscaped, adding little pergolas and benches to be nestled into the abundant flora and fruit trees. When we arrived, she gave us a perfectly ripe papaya from the backyard to have a welcome snack! I loved taking pictures of the flowers and birds that are everywhere! Fun and whimsical mosaic tile adds to the Caribbean feel of this great little escape, away from the noisier parts of Placencia Village. I highly recommend a stay at Casa Placencia!

Room Tip: Our bedroom faced South, which got quite warm during the day but cooled off well at night with the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
34
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed here mid Nov, 11 for about 3 nights. The place is super clean and lush with palm trees and plants. Nice and cozy little rooms with nice showers, AC, little fridge & TV w/ plenty of stations. The beds were pretty comfy. And there is a beautiful little house cat that loves to play. The hotel is located at the very beginning of the strip, which was nice and quite, and less than 10 mins walk to barefoot outdoor bar. Jackie, owner, is a sweetheart. She bakes deliciousness, and is happy to share them. Super close to the beach, safe & pleasant environment. The bus can drop you off right outside the hotel as it's located on the main road. This was fun!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed in the studio apartment for 3 weeks. It is well designed with a comfortable bed, full kitchen, tv, wifi, a/c and good bathroom - very easy to feel at home. The entire property is very clean and safe. We looked at several other apartments/houses to rent in Placencia and nothing matched the apartments at Casa Placencia.

Room Tip: There are only a couple of apartments, it is worth booking in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Jacki is a great host. She was away at the beginning of my stay. She is always willing to give you information. The place comes with a bike to get around as we are not exactly in the center of Placencia village. 20 minutes on foot and 5 min by bike.
The place is great, functional, clean, well designed. I was alone but the one bedroom studio could have accomodated a couple with a child. It had a full kitchen. I was not really planning to cook, but it is good if you have a family or you don't want to go out for breakfast. The place was also very affordable.
Jacki has a bakery and gives you baked goods in the morning. The place has lots of flowers and birds. The beach is a 3 minute walk away from the place. I really enjoyed being there.

Room Tip: Small operation.One studio apartmnent, a 2 bedroom apartment and 3 rooms. It depends on your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I went by myself for about 5 days. I spoke to the owner, Jacki, who was incredibly helpful with tips regarding where to go for the specific interests I had in addition to her own suggestions that were very helpful. I also felt quite safe traveling alone as a female.

Room Tip: I stayed in the studio apartment, which is brand new and beautiful. It has an air conditioner, TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed here seven nights by myself after a dive trip with friends. The garden rooms downstairs are very affordable and clean, clean, clean. Its a nice place just north of the main town, but it comes with a cool beach bike so you can pedal without hassle the five minutes to the center of Placencia. I only saw the downstairs rooms and they are pretty small, but a good value. The bathroom and shower is all tile and quite spacious. My room included a TV with cable, wifi access, A/C, a very comfortable mattress, coffee maker and a small dorm style fridge. Jackie is out of the country, so the bakery part isn't happening. But Marsha is running the place with Jackie's two happy dogs and Marsha is great. Easy-going, laid back, helpful, handy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radium Hot Springs, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

The owner Jackie is a very warm and personal hostess who goes out of her way to make the stay as wonderful as possible. Every morning started off with an awesome treat from her bakery (muffins or cake). The use of bikes to get around town and area is another bonus. The location is only 5min walk from the beach and 10 minute walk into town.In short Jackie goes out of her way to make your stay a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Phone ahead of time for a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Placencia Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Placencia Belize

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Placencia is a small, casually elegant, reasonably priced establishment located in a quiet & safe neighborhood at the north end of Placencia; a short walk to a great beach, local restaurants, bars & shops; surrounded by lush tropical gardens, edible fruit trees & vines-pick bananas, papayas, coconuts and more year round..... Offering economical Garden Rooms with tiled showers & handicap access, as well as three furnished Apartments, filled with custom fabrics, original paintings & handcrafts from Central America & Hawaii; private verandahs or screened rooms to fully enjoy living outdoors which is how we prefer it, here in Placencia paradise.... First floor-Garden Views. Garden Rooms-Queen or Twin Beds, adjacent Kitchen avail for guest use. Studio Apt-Queen Bed-Bathroom w/soaker tub; HUGE outside Living Room w/custom vine furnishings. Two Bedroom Apt-Queen and Twin Beds-spacious Bathroom with Tiled Shower for two; HUGE outside Dining Room w/custom iron/tile furnishings. Second Floor-One Bedroom Apt, sunrise & sunset views-Queen and Twin Beds-Tiled Shower Bathroom. Owner/Manager Apt, distant lagoon & Maya Mountain views. All accommodations provide Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, fully equipped Kitchens, 24/7-WIFI, Cable TV w/HBO, Showtime, Cinemax, and more....Books, DVDs & Games, as well as Beach Cruiser Bikes for guest use. Shared area in backyard w/expansive mosaic tile BBQ, Palapa w/custom table, adjacent to fruit & veg garden & compost area; Parking available. Designer/Manager, Jacki Tipton, who built this property with beauty, budget, comfort & ecological living in mind, has been in Belize for many, many years & enjoys sharing her love & knowledge of the entire country, as well as her favs on the Placencia peninsula, (she may bake one of her yummy treats, if you ask her). Everyone speaks English and our safe to drink water originates from across the lagoon in Maya mountain streams; the tastiest in the entire country! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Placencia Belize

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Placencia Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.