We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off-Season at Maya Lodge in Placencia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maya Lodge
Save
You added Maya Lodge to your Saves list
29 Harbour Place, Placencia 501, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ocean Park, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Off-Season at Maya Lodge in Placencia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I spent three weeks at Maya Lodge for the second time this year, this time alone as my wife was travelling in Indochina. Placencia is even more laid back in the October off-season than during high season. But, Maya Lodge with its TV, Internet, full kitchen, spacious luxury and location in the village will keep you from being bored if you tire of exploring or run out of books. The shops, restaurants, cafes, and bars are still open in the off season but prices are even more affordable (including the Maya Lodge rent). Locally grown fruit and vegetables are plentiful. Finally, few folk will be interested, but Maya Lodge is an ideal spot to set up a portable amateur radio station. I made almost 8,000 contacts with other stations in those three weeks, including those in exotic locations such as India, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Moldova, Cook Islands, Guam, Australia, Greenland, et al.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Remate, Peten, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This house has anything you need to feel comfortable, spacious common areas, rooms with good ventilation, great location, it´s clean and it has nice views and a great price.
I stayed there with my boyfriend and another couple of friends and we had a great time, enjoying the hamacas on the deck, cooking breakfast in the spacious kitchen, eating in the beautiful and huge dinner tables, and just having fun at this beautiful house that gives you a cozy welcoming when you go in.
The manager Stefano is really nice and he´ll tell you anything you need to know about the area. And the owner Lou is also very helpful and nice.
You´ll have a great time in this small village and this house will definitely be a good choice for you to chill after a good day in the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Maya Lodge was spectacular. I went with my daughter and we had such a great time. It's practically across the street from the beach, but that part of the ocean had seaweed which my daughter is afraid of so we went to the bay at the end of the island. It had great service and the owners, Stefano and Nicoletta, were so nice. When the water heater broke down, Nicoletta did everything possible to get the repair guy there. And, when we got there Stefano waited for us until 7 pm (Belizean time) when we missed the bus and got there very late. The only complaint was that the house is located about 30-40 feet down the street from the main road and when you are walking down that street there is no lightning so it's a little scary at night as my daughter almost stepped on a snake. After that we never saw another snake. Otherwise it is such a great place and I recommend it for everyone. I'd go again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Maya Lodge is spacious, well appointed, and very well maintained. We rented the house for a family vacation with our adult children and their spouses. The kitchen was big enough for us all to cook together and the dining table was a great gathering spot as was the crow's nest/mirador. We could enjoy time together and there was also plenty of space to let everyone have some alone time. The house is in a neighborhood that is safe and close to shops for supplies and it is an easy walk into the center of the village and to the beach. This is the second time we rent a house from Stephano, he made sure we had what we needed (a fan to replace one that would not turn on), he answered all our questions, made sure the WiFi was working and checked on us to be sure we were comfortable. We highly recommend Maya Lodge and renting from Stephano.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

A traditional Belize hard wood home with two big bedrooms on the ground floor. The rooms were airy and the kitchen is huge. There were all the necessary amenities like fans, fridge, coffee maker, blender, pots & stove if you want to cook. (But no AIR CON)

The living room has a big satellite TV. The deck is amazing but the dock even more. You can take a cooling dip in the canal or get picked up by your snorkel / tour boat. This is a real treat!

The manager Stephano was very helpful in many numerous arrangements. He is also very helpful in local tips for tours, stores & snorkeling.

Everything is …..walking distance. I doubt that you need a rental bike or car. There are lots of grocery stores for brew, munchies & etc. Check out the local stands for fresh fruits & veggies. LOTS of great restaurants and very reasonable !

The shortfalls are that the housekeeping is not that “crisp”. The dogs will get early some days & bark. We also had a few mosquito bites in spite of bug dope.

Some tips:

 Take walks & explore everywhere
 Buy the local veggies & fruits
 Pick up your local beers at the local grocery stores
 Have coffee and cinnamon rolls at Miss Goodies
 Get a great Monkey River Tour at Nite Wind
 Enjoy the BBQ at Miss Brenda
 Walk or take a taxi to Turtle Inn for the specials ( owned by Francis Ford Coppalo)

All in all a great experience in Placentia. Maya Lodge was also a big part so enjoy
Enjoy Belize

Safe Travels MikeN
Was this helpful?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Maya Lodge for almost a month and could not have been happier! From its striking architecture to its beautiful hardwood interior, the Maya Lodge offers an authentic Belizean experience. Its huge, open common area lets your family congregate, while the bedrooms and sleeping lofts give everyone their own space. A fully equipped kitchen and built-in laundry room mean you don't have to leave if you don't want to! All the comforts of home are right there, in a beautiful, natural setting convenient to all the amenities yet set off the main drag for privacy. I would recommend Maya Lodge to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, MO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Good location. Right on the canal right where the water taxis travel for tours. Located close to two big grocery stores and close to several restaurants, all within walking distance. House very big and spacious, plenty of room for 2 couples to coincide in comfort. Each bedroom has a queen-size bed and its own separate bathroom. No need for air conditioning because the house has great cross-breezes and ceiling fans. Balconies have beautiful views of the western skyline. Priced reasonably. Stephano was a great host.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Lodge

Address: 29 Harbour Place, Placencia 501, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Placencia
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maya Lodge was built by an English ocean lover and displays much of the native wood and architecture of Belize. Both bedrooms are large and furnished with a double/queen bed. Each bedroom has a private full bath with hot shower. There is also a loft with 2 twin beds and several ceiling fans throughout the house. Food can be purchased locally and prepared in the full kitchen. Two hammocks are provided and can be set on the covered deck or on the upper crow's nest where the Maya Mountains and gorgeous sunsets are viewed. Swimmers can use the canal at the back of the house or walk to the beach in a few minutes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maya Lodge Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.