We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodie Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Danube - CLOSED

Danube
Main Road (South of Seine Bight) | South End of Seine Bight, Placencia 99999, Belize
+501 6100132
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: DANUBE Restaurant, EAT – DRINK – RELAX in a romantic atmosphere. A/C indoor, lounge area outdoor. Austrian and International Specialties, fish and vegetarian dishes, great desserts, large wine menu & cigars. Open TUE - SAT from 4.30pm.
Lebanon, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Foodie Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Authentic - yes, Delicious - YES, Well Priced - yes What could be more soul warming for Christmas than enjoying a bt of Austria plunked down in Belize... We were amazed to find traditional foods but also enjoyed the local seafood specials. The couple operating Danube are warm and welcoming and do everything to make sure your food is exceptional and your evening enjoyable. We liked Danube so much we returned the next night to savor more of the great food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    9
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authentic Austrian Cusine in Placencia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family has driven by the Danube Restaurant so many times in our travels to Belize and I am so glad we finally decided to try it out! Herbert & Simone are fantastic people and have created an incredible authentic Austrian dining experience in the Seine Bight area. The outdoor patio & indoor dining area are both so inviting, relaxing, & clean, you just feel right at home. The food is outstanding. From the goulash (my favorite) to the local fish specials and desert, we enjoyed every course. They also have a wonderful wine selection! The Danube is now officially on our "Go To" list of top restaurants to visit when we are in Placencia.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A surprise in Seine Bight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

While in Placencia over Christmas we had dinner at Danube one evening. It is on the edge of the village of Seine Bight which is not the most attractive place. But the Danube is a gem - very clean and excellent food. I had the mushrooms with bread dumpling, which was fantastic. We met a local couple there, originally from Canada, and had a friendly chat while waiting for our orders. The owners were eager to please, and have obviously worked hard to build their business in, what seemed to us, an odd location. It is within walking distance to Roberts Grove, where we were staying, yet could easily be overlooked if you didn't know it was there. I heartily recommend it for anyone feeling the need for some Austrian food while in Belize!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must visit when in Placencia.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

For us, the Danube restaurant is a must visit when we vacation in Placencia. Whether it's for a romantic evening, or just the need for something different, Danube is our number one choice. Between the food, service and atmophere, there really isn't anything missing. I've been able to try most of their menu items over the years and all have been fabulous. Don't be deterred by it being a little out of town. It's worth the cab ride!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Restaurant in an unexpected location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed dining in this great Austrian Restaurant. The Wiener Schnitzel was one of the best meals I have had in a long time, and it was served with a real German style potato salad. The ambiance was delightful, and the husband and wife team were graceful hosts.
We highly recommend this restaurant, you won’t be sorry you made the trip!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danube also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.