We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Restaurant in an unexpected location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Danube - CLOSED

Danube
Main Road (South of Seine Bight) | South End of Seine Bight, Placencia 99999, Belize
+501 6100132
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: DANUBE Restaurant, EAT – DRINK – RELAX in a romantic atmosphere. A/C indoor, lounge area outdoor. Austrian and International Specialties, fish and vegetarian dishes, great desserts, large wine menu & cigars. Open TUE - SAT from 4.30pm.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Restaurant in an unexpected location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed dining in this great Austrian Restaurant. The Wiener Schnitzel was one of the best meals I have had in a long time, and it was served with a real German style potato salad. The ambiance was delightful, and the husband and wife team were graceful hosts.
We highly recommend this restaurant, you won’t be sorry you made the trip!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    9
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modling, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Austrian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

During my vacation visiting Placencia and Seine Bight I found this Austrian restaurant.
Actually at this place you would expect least to find Ausrians.
After eating there twice I can tell you that the food is real Austrian, exactly as it would be in Austria.
The couple running the place do a perfect job regarding ambiente, hospitallity and as mentioned food.
If you are fed up with chicken and beans during your stay, I really would recommend this place if you want to try something different.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
1 review
“Fabulous authentic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere & truly authentic Austrian food in Belize! Austrian owners are actively involved in the community and their restaurant and are passionate about both. A true treat and variety to the local landscape. Food was fabulous and restaurant atmosphere and ambiance was ideal for any occassion. Will definitely visit again

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Austrian food in Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Shnitzel = so awesome.
Goulash = gorgeous.
Potato Salad = proper.
Service and cooking = One server and one cook, its their lively hood. Both professional diving instructors, this husband and wife actually worked in high volume hotels and restaurant bars all over the world. Make a reservation and book the fondue ahead of time.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Oeynhausen, Germany
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Danube Blues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

During a recent visit to Placencia the Danube was highly recommended and therefore my sons and a friend took the opportunity to enjoy what is an excellent venue. Considering that we only dined on steak tartar (which isn't cooked) and meat fondue (which we cooked ourselves) we thought the price expensive. The big surprise was the cost of the schnapps (I live in Germany and therfore am very familiar with this drink and it's cost) at what amounted to €7 a shot I suggest it is best avoided. If money is no object and you desire a slice of the unusual this may be the place for you, but it is a considerable way out of Placencia and better value abounds within the village.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simbert, Owner at Danube, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
First Thank you for your review. However we feel that we need to respond concerning your statement:

1) prices of all menu items including schnapps are clearly stated in our menu!
2) Of course schnapps is less expensive (not necessarily depending on quality) in Austria or Germany. However we import schnapps and we are the only restaurant in Belize offering quality Austrian schnapps.
3) Fondue is of course cooked by yourself as this part of the experience. The preparation work which is involved as well as high quality meat (beef and pork tenderloin) reflects the price of the fondue. Again we must mention that the price is clearly stated in the menu as well as the way of preparation.
4) Beef Tartare: is never cooked and world wide eaten raw. The price of a dish never reflects if its cooked or raw but only the quality of ingredients and amount of work involved in preparation.

Last but not least we want to mention that we had a great evening together and you even invited us to 2 shots.

Kind Regards
The owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danube also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.