We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, we had to do it twice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumfish y Vino

Rumfish y Vino
Main Street, Placencia, Belize
501-523-3293
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 56 Restaurants in Placencia
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Rumfish y vino is centrally located in the Placencia Village Square. Overlooking the ballfield has a festive and breezy atmosphere, and a cool ecclectic soundtrack. A GASTRO-BAR Central American style. From tapas & wine...to frosty draft beers & fish tacos, there is something for everyone to enjoy! AMAZING handcrafted cocktails made from fresh fruit infusions and housemade extracts. Ginger, Cocomut, Pineapple, Watermelon Mojitos and more. Small plates style dining plus great entrees and fresh and inspired specials daily. A place for locals and tourists alike. Rumfish y vino proudly imports all of their own wines too. Outdoor and indoor dining, and a big central bar with comfortable seating for dining or just enjoying a few Watermelon Mojitos!
Belize City, Belize
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Food, we had to do it twice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We found the restaurant when driving around, decided to give it a try and we were not disappointed.

Service was excellent. The staff were attentive but not to the point that you felt disturbed.

Food was also great. The menu may be considered to be a bit limited by some, but I have found that there were adequate options and all options to be quite appealing.

The location was excellent. It can get a bit crowded, and if you wish to sit on the verandah over the street, you should make a reservation.

I would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    176
    54
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston,ma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is an excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is an excellent restaurant. Probabaly the most nouvelle-cuisine in Placencia Village. The cocktails are very interesting-made with infusions of different fruits and spices. The menu was very appealing. We had the lion fish crudo (the owners are doing what they can to fight the lionfish infestation of Belizean waters) and a remarkably good pasta dish. There is a large upstairs porch overlooking Placencia and the fans keep it cool and bug-free. We had some lovely conversation with the owner who was gracious and explained to us the derivation of the name (there is, in fact, no such thing as a rumfish on the menu). A special night out!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best place in town - head and shoulders above all others.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Best food and best atmosphere in the village. The owners run the place and have a great taste. It shows in the food quality and the way the restaurant is designed. The only thing missing is a decent espresso maker. A restaurant with that quality should offer an Espresso, too. Nonetheless, this is our favorite place in Placencia and also recommended by everyone we asked. It should be ranked up on the top with Tutti Frutti.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis,IN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely 5 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Mmmmmmmm is the best I can say. We ate an evening dinner there and it was amazing! Had thinly sliced raw lion fish drenched in citrus juices, pepper and herbs, and my husband had brochette for our appetizers - amazing! Had a specialty cocktail that had fresh kiwi and juices with vodka -amazing! For our entree we had the special called Seafood Cassourlette which had lion fish seared with wonderful flavors, shrimps, and very tender squid over white beans with a saffron flavored sauce - so amazing! Then for desert a first time ever as well, a Chocolate Habenero Canolli and my husband who rarely eats anything hot finished it off. Loved it! A truly pleasurable memorable taste of new flavors. The service was wonderful and the restaurant had a completely local feel. We will definitely be back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite porch in Belize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Been here 3 times over the years. Great casual dining food, cold Belikins, perfect ceviche. Looking forward to my next trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumfish y Vino also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Rumfish y Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumfish y Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.