We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighted we discovered the Secret!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Secret Garden Restaurant

The Secret Garden Restaurant
Placencia Village | Stann Creek District, Placencia, Belize
+501 634-9789
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 60 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Relax in our garden & enjoy our "Asia de Caribe" cuisine --- combining influences of Spanish, Caribbean and Creole Cuisine with Pan-Asian cooking and flavoring techniques. You'll want to experience our "Signature Stacked Ceviche" --Local Fresh Snapper Ceviche Over Wasabi Guacamole, Fresh Cream, Red Chili Sauce and Lime Essence..... We're located in Placencia Village, across from the basketball courts.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
“Delighted we discovered the Secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Dinner at this restaurant was the highlight of our 2 week trip to various places in Belize. And it was simply The BEST. We were sorry we didn't find it sooner so we could have gone back again. it's a bit hidden but it's well worth the effort to look for it.
The food was delicious and the presentation was superb. The waitresses were attentive but not annoying. The owner came over see what we thought and we told her how much we enjoyed it. When we paid the bill, my husband told her she had gotten 99 points out of a 100. She asked why and he said, "you didn't have fireworks." She ran back inside and came out with a lit sparkler! Now you can't beat that!
She and her restaurant were absolutely delightful! If we ever go back to Placencia, we'll go definitely go back there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    103
    30
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Suffering Sockatash!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Yes they really do serve 'Sockatash' (not sure if I've spelt that correctly) and it was amazing!! Great food, great service and great value, very highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis,IN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Surprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

When my husband and I travel, the eating and the food is as important as anything else on our trip - we are foodies all the way! We research, ask others, critique everywhere we eat and discuss whether it's worth a second visit - if it's exceptional, we always go back! We had pretty much tried all the top restaurants listed on TripAdvisor in Placencia, and had loved Rumfish and had been there a second evening so for our very last evening in Belize, The Secret Garden ended up being our last new "try" on our heavenly vacation. We were so pleased and amazed!! The Secret Garden ended up being our Number 1 dinner of the WHOLE vacation! We then wished we had been there so much earlier!! We ordered the Shrimp Cocktail that was more different than we have ever had - was in tall stemmed glasses with the shrimp marinating in a hot tomato and vegetable sauce- amazing! Our Entres were gorgeous! the presentation as creative as any upscale restaurant we have visited and every part of it was not only so wonderfully flavorful but "clean" on the palate. Refreshingly delicious! - every bite. The cocktails were incredible too. We always try a desert and we had already been told by someone else that their Chocolate Cake was the best ever, so we ordered that and the Lime desert. Unbelievable!! Honestly again, every bite was clean, refreshing and so flavorful! Rich yet balanced in every way. The owner, Sabrina, was there and she has the most beautiful smile and countenance - her spirit was uplifting and peaceful at the same time. We talked about her restaurant with her and how it did seem to be a "secret" in that we saw it on the list but for some reason we didn't choose it to try on top. I don't know why. It sits mostly outside as a wonderfully peaceful, kind of hidden garden setting with banana trees throughout and beautiful greenery, right between the Italian Restaurant La Dolce Vida and the Rumfish - kind of back in the corner. Once entering where the tables are (cloth napkins and table cloths- beautiful settings btw) the ambiance makes you feel ready for a comfortable fine-dining experience. In that way, The Secret Garden wins over Rumfish as well. They only serve dinner so that the quality can be all that it is - which is incredible! Thank you Sabrina for the best ending to our time in Belize. It made it a great celebration of our experience in Placencia! Blessings to you and may you prosper beyond your every expectation. You so much deserve it!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant in placencia!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

If you are ever in Placencia, you absolutely MUST eat at the Secret Garden!!! The food was incredibly sophosicated and delicatable. The fish was the freshest and tastiest both in town, and also in all of Belize. We were incredibly impressed with both the service and presentation. Each entree was made entirely fresh to order which added to the amazing flavors. I am still salivating thinking about the fresh catch of the day. This will definitely be our first stop the next time we go back to Placencia.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Food - Second Best Place in Placencia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very good food and a very nice garden setting. This place - together with Rumfish - plays in a different league than all the rest.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Secret Garden Restaurant also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to The Secret Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Secret Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.