We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, quite good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joyce & Frank's Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joyce & Frank's Bed & Breakfast
Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Placencia B&B and Inns
Waltham MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overall, quite good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for four nights. We didn't want to go to the heavily touristed parts of Belize. We were mainly there to relax and explore a new country. With that in mind, Joyce & Frank's was a good choice.

Strong points: right on the beach; great pool overlooking the Caribbean; private dock with roof and hammocks; rooftop deck perfect for having a glass of wine while watching the stars and chatting with other guests, or for watching the sun rise or set; super breakfast; friendly owners and staff.

Not-so-Strong points: very odd rooms - not so much uncomfortable as just odd. We had a room with a bedroom, sitting room, private bath, looking out on the water. The bed filled the room leaving almost no room to even walk around it. The sitting room was moderately comfortable, although the TV was mounted so high on the wall that it almost touched the ceiling, and we actually got stiff necks from looking up at it. The bathroom was oddly laid out and the vanity had zero room to put anything on. These aren't complaints, just frank observations. We don't mind such things (they can add to the stories of the trip), but I point them out incase others aren't so interested in such anomalies.

There isn't much to do, so if you want anything more than relaxation and an occasional trip down the road to Placentia, this might not be the place for you. There is a small store across the street where you can get this-and-that. There are some very good restaurants in the area. One I don't really recommend - for the environment rather than the food: immediately next door to the right is Captain Jack's (if I remember the name correctly). The building is totally open-air. The food was really excellent. It couldn't be more convenient to Joyce & Franks. But, there is a bar smack in the middle of the dining area - and the heavily drunken ex-pats are crude and offensive. We're far from prudes, and are not put off by colorful places, but, by way of example, one man was talking about how sexy his teen daughter was - and it seemed to be standard conversation. We didn't return. Too bad - the food was excellent.

Again, we're hardly prudish, and this didn't really bother us so much as it might be worth pointing out. Joyce and Frank are both physically present on site. They live on the entire second floor of the building. There are exceedingly friendly. But, although physically present, they didn't seem to be very involved or present to the guests. Every hour of the day seemed to be happy hour. No judgment - just reporting a noticeable factor of staying at this B&B.

All in all, it was a fine enough stay. Not worth a second trip, however.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Just a lovely bed and breakfast. Such friendly people and food was outstanding. It was very affordable. I already booked for next year. We has such a great time. it was so tropical and peaceful. The beaches were picturesque. We had a morning swim then saw the sites. Im so glad we came here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Wonderful location in Maya Beach. Wonderful sandy beach. Great palapa over the water. Quiet, quaint B&B. Virgilio and Josephine were very friendly, attentive and helpful. Nice pool with waterfall. Belizean breakfasts were excellent. A very relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a great Bed and Breakfast! The breakfast was awesome...Josephine, the cook makes a Belizean breakfast to kill for...we had it 3 times and I am wishing I was back. Room was great, view out of this world and bed had new mattress. So fine...Price is perfect too. A must on your trip to Placencia...Amenities are WOW! No hidden extra charges!!

Room Tip: Awesome breakfast!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is our second stay at Joyce & Frank's B & B. The superb location, friendly staff, great beach & pool and a well-maintained property is why we will be back for a third stay. Josephine can cook up a delicious Belizan breakfast and lunch. There is also a grocery store and several restaurants conveniently located within walking distance. Virgilio, the groundskeeper, is very helpful and can assist you with questions and directions, and Joyce is friendly and informative. One of the outstanding features of Joyce & Frank's is the free use of kayaks. Thirty minutes of paddling gets you to a nearby island and wonderful snorkeling area. With a rental car, this property is a great base for exploring the tropical rainforest in the Jaguar Preserve, Mayan ruins at Nim Li Punit, a Mayan village in Indian Creek, and other sites in the Toledo District. Room 102, the room we stayed in, faces the ocean and gives an excellent view of beautiful sunrises. Several other rooms also face the beach. The rooms are equipped with a small television, refrigerator, coffee maker & blender. Our room was clean and spacious, and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Joyce and Franks is very basic. The beach is very nice. I could be a great property with some TLC and service. The info on the web site is misleading. The little beach house # 1 is NOT the place to stay. It is no better than a very tiny, rough camp house. Very rustic. All the room holds a bed that is up high so you can store luggage under it. The bed need to be replaced. There is an over loaded power strip for the fridge, coffee pot, TV, microwave, etc. We had to unplug the TV to turn it off. That was the only way turn it off. It was like being in a starter college apt! We had to move the coffee pot to get enough energy to make coffee. It is also not a B&B. No breakfast. No coffee, no coffee filters...nada! It is was also hot. There is an old window unit that cannot keep up to cool the tiny space. There is a mini bed between the bath and bedroom. No air in the area and it is basically in the bath. No kid should sleep there. There is no air in the bath and no place to put toiletries. The pool is nice and clean. The beach is fantastic. Be sure to ask WHAT IS OPEN not if there are restaurants in the area. They were very mislead on this too. Many of the businesses; hotels, stores and restaurants close in rainy season for months at a time. We did not have a lot of choice on where to eat in the area. It is $20 US RT to take a cab into Placincia Village. There are some great places to eat in the Village. We walked to Green Parrots one night for dinner. It was 2 properties over. (There is no pool at Green Parrot and no A/C in rooms. ) It was tasty but crazy expensive for what we ate. We felt ripped off. The best restaurant in the area is the Maya Bistro. It is in walking distance. It is AMAZING and a beautiful property with rooms, a great beach and a nice pool. If you want the Maya Beach area stay there! There is a good little store across the street from Joyce and Franks. It is owned by a lovely family. Some of the rooms at J&F seemed better than #1. Look before you pay! The one listed as Beach House is NOT on the Beach. it is on the parking lot. It looked like all of the other rooms had descent A/C units. There is a great Belizean gentleman that takes care of the property. Singing Sands is also in the Maya Beach area and a sister property to Roberts Grove. Roberts Grove is in a much better area, close to the village with great rooms and service! We stayed there too and it was well worth the money!
We loved the area but found much better properties! Have fun!

Room Tip: Look at Singing Sands or Maya Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the beach house and bungalow 2. It was clean and spacious especially for the price and just steps to the beach. Our two younger kids stayed in the house and our two older boys stayed in the bungalow. We have stayed in lots of hotels internationally and consider this place to be one of our favorites for it's value location and amenities. We had fun fishing from the dock, kayaking and paddleboating in the ocean, relaxing in the pool, and I loved the little tiki huts right on the beach. I read the previous reviews and I was shocked to see a bad review on this place! We checked out some of the other local hotels and found that it had a lot extras that other ones did not. Even a very famous hotel that charges 5 times as much per day has the same exact beach with less amenities included.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Joyce & Frank's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joyce & Frank's Bed & Breakfast

Address: Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a wonderful beach front B & B, with various room styles and suites, free wifi, pool, private pier and dock, on beach palapas and lounge chairs, bird watching tower, home made breakfast, lunch for purchase, free use of kayaks, fishing gear, snorkeling gear, and day trip planning. We hope you come and stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joyce And Frank`s Bed & Breakfast
Joyce & Frank`s Hotel Placencia
Joyce & Frank's Bed & Breakfast Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joyce & Frank's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Joyce & Frank's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list