We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Incredible. I can't wait to go again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Iguanas Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Iguanas Villa
Harbour Place, Placencia, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Oregon
1 review
“Truly Incredible. I can't wait to go again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

The villa was beautiful. We rented out all five rooms for a week in July and I couldn't believe how nice it was. The rooms were decorated with fresh flowers and the beautiful wood ceilings were really incredible. Our location was perfect, just on the north side of down town and really close to everything from the local market to the beach and every shop in between. Stephano, the property manager, is possibly the nicest man you will ever meet and was so helpful to all of us. For each adventure we wanted to take part in he knew exactly where to send us. We ended up renting a car and going cave tubing, jungle zip lining and he sent us to a great place for scuba diving where we got a discount because of his referral. I have never had a nicer beach getaway and I have traveled quite a bit. Three Iguanas is my favorite vacation spot so far.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
28
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lunenburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

on my way back to Canada after wonderful vacation in Belize and Guatemala - in Placentia, Belize, I stayed at the 3 iguanas villa, which was luxurious, close to everything in the village and wonderful staff and amenities. Everyday started with a swim in the roof top pool. You can cook for yourself or Sophia will prepare a great meal and the world's best flan! really great place - thanks Stephano and Sophia - I will be back 4 sure Nancy

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

The place was fantastic, spotless upon arrival. Stefano was there to greet us, and was very helpful in explaining the town and the places to go to get what we needed. Made great suggestions for places to eat, and touring outfits to check out. It's a wonderful location, and the bikes at the villa make it especially easy to get around town. Short walk to the beach, and a canal right outside the door. Truly breathtaking. Top floor bedroom doesn't have a/c, so we couldn't use it in the dead of july.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

The owners of Three Iguanas Villa who are keenly interested and involved with manatee conservation, gratiously provided the use of the Villa as a base for our manatee tagging expedition in the Placencia area. What luxury! Our international crew used both the downstairs and upstairs. The service and accommodations were absolutely fantastic. We were able to keep our manatee research boat directly behind the house and all our gear in the storeroom adjacent to the water which made logistics extremely easy. Our crew, mostly university students, thoroughly enjoyed the upstairs pool after 10 hours on the boat and working nets.

I strongly recommend the Three Iguanas Villas, not only is it an absolutely wonderful place to stay with fabulous help, but also because your visit will support the conservation of manatees in Placencia through the conscientious and supportive owners. Without hesitation you book the Three Iguanas Villa! Feel free to contact me to know more about our stay at the Villa or the manatee project in Placencia (www.sea2shore.org). Dr. James "Buddy" Powell.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Our stay at the 3 Iguanas Villa was fabulous. The villa's location, cleanliness and hospitality of the staff were top notch. The view from the pool on the roof was spectacular. It was just a few minute walk to a beautiful beach, the food/drink and the shopping. When in Palencia, Balize, I would hghly recommend the 3 Iguanas Villa, hosted by Stefano and Sophia.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

just returned for a week long stay at the 3 iguanas and it was a great place. we stayed in both the bottom apartment and main house. we fished every day and it was great being right on the lagoon for our guides to come pick us up. the pool on the roof was great, although it was just abt as hot as the ocean was at this time of year! villa is close enough to walk to downtown placencia, yet far enough away so that the nights were quiet. there were bikes provided for free, but we ended up renting an (expensive - $70/day golf cart). stefano (the property manager) was absolutely wonderful and very helpful, as was sofia (the housekeeper - who lives on-site). very laid back place and highly recommended for a group or family.

negatives - no a/c in the upper unit, no internet, small ant problem in the kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltkristian
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We rented the entire villa lower level (2bdrm), main level (2bdrm), and upper level suite. All were great. In particular the main level is the best. The lower level would begin to feel a little cramped if you were staying in that unit alone for a week with four people. The upper level suite is very nice but unbearably hot during the summer months, without a/c. I bet that unit would be fine October-April. Sofia and Sergio were the best, always stopping by to see if we needed anything. Sofia lives in a studio attached to the villa in case you need anything right away. The pool on the third level was a nice plus, great views and clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Three Iguanas Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Iguanas Villa

Address: Harbour Place, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty lodging in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Iguanas Villa has 5000 sq ft of upscale design. From the unique upscale bathrooms, marvelous mattresses and kitchens in each suite to the roof top plunge pool. The Villa has five bedrooms, four bathrooms, three kitchens and five patios on three distinct floors - all on the waters edge. Also: AC, ceiling fans, cable TV, on-site parking, combination safes and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Iguanas Villa Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Iguanas Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Three Iguanas Villa to your Saves list